We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a typical Courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wall, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not a typical Courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

As a platinum guest, I stay at Marriott properties often and Courtyards are a popular choice for travel. This hotel was once the annex to city hall so the architecture of the building and rooms are of a similar style to city hall which is across the street. It gives the hotel a certain charm which is not present at most Courtyards which are designed to be similar and traveler efficient. Service was a step above most Courtyards which is indicative of the city location. Location is at center of Philly and it was nice to walk to Reading Terminal Market. We also walked through the historic district on way to South St which was a 30 minute slow paced but pleasant walk. Only complaint is the parking fees at 40 which appears high compared to local alternatives. There are 2 other Marriott properties nearby but this hotel has consistently lower prices. We stayed at the Marriott downtown Philadelphia a few months ago which is a higher end property that we enjoyed. It was more than $80 more a night which, IMHO, wasn't worth the price.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback. It gives us great pleasure to read and share your comments with all our staff. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    367
    465
    101
    34
    9
See reviews for
260
248
57
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cortland, New York
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is not your typical Courtyard by Marriott. It is an architectural beauty that is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The location is amazing; the only place more centrally located is the majestic Philadelphia City Hall across the street! Indeed, the building housing the Courtyard was built in 1926 as an annex to City Hall. The Masonic Grand Lodge of Pennsylvania (a must-tour) is kitty-corner from the hotel. Reading Terminal Market (a must-visit) and the Philadelphia Convention Center are two blocks away. And there is MUCH more of quintessential Philadelphia within a four-block radius. We valet-parked our car on Friday evening ($40/24 hours) and didn’t touch it again until Sunday afternoon. The rooms are classic Courtyard—clean, comfortable, nondescript but pleasant, and are well-equipped for computing needs (we especially liked the iDock for our iPhone). The room and bathroom had isolated spots of wear & tear but nothing more than what we would expect in a large city hotel located two blocks from the convention center. Now that we’ve had the comfort and convenience of staying here, any place else in Philadelphia is going to be a tough sell.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Right across the street from City Hall, adjacent to the Convention Center and walking distance to the subway, shopping, restaurants, etc.... this hotel has a great location. It is right near a Residence Inn and a Marriott also. We checked in after 7pm and there was a big crowd trying to check in as well but the staff handled it well.

Our room was not very big, but the bathroom was good-sized and the furnishings in the room were nice. Cool TV too.

My one tip would be the parking - parking in downtown Philadelphia is very expensive. If you can avoid doing the valet then do self-park and park yourself in the structure across from the Convention Center. The valet will direct you. They told me that valet was $43 or $46 per night. We parked overnight in the public structure for $30 and it was fine. Drop your bags off at the front of the hotel and park and walk back. Worth saving a few bucks since the rooms are also expensive. At $183 total (including tax) it is the most expensive Courtyard I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I reserved one night at this hotel for somewhat last minute plans. The location was great as it was in walking distance from a number of restaurants and was pretty easy to find. The hotel staff members were pleasant and the valet parking comparatively pricey to nearby hotels. The room left a lot to be desired; it served its purpose, but was surprisingly outdated and dusty (literally). In addition, the tub, faucet and handle were greasy for an unknown reason and the bathtub drain rather slow. There was also not much of a view from the room (room 1102); the room faced another building, and the walls were surprisingly thin. Every time a door was closed nearby, the walls in the room shook and I could hear the people talking and laughing in the next room quite clearly. I'm glad I only stayed one night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The building dates from the 1920s when it was an annexe to the City Hall offices. It is now a lovely modern hotel with many original features still retained.
Prior to my arrival the hotel contacted to ensure my stay would be as enjoyable as possible. I flew into Philadelphia airport and caught the local train service for $7USD to Market Street East station, then it was a 5minute walk to the hotel. You can also get a cab, and the hotel advised it was $27USD.
I had a corner suite which was large and roomy, with a good view over the city.
Bar and restaurant were very pleasant. Breakfast was not included in my booking and this was approx $20USD including tax. Although there are local diners aplenty if you prefer to eat outside.

Room Tip: Worth checking at reception if they have any deals on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Checked into the Courtyard around 10:00PM on a Friday for a quick one night in and out. Front desk had one person at it, and two other people working who didn't seem to want to check people in. Finally, about 20 minutes later got to my room . . . basic Courtyard, comfortable, a little worn. Plus is location, right on Market and 13th, close to the convention center, Chinatown . . . its a cool old building, but needs some better management.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I travel a lot for business and anytime I'm in Phili I stay here. It's a great hotel, very nice, great service, safe, secure, in walking distance to everything, very reasonably priced, rooms are clean and a decent size. Certainly several steps up from most Courtyards, in fact it's more like an upscale Marriott than a Courtyard.

Room Tip: Walk out the front doors, turn right, right again, down two blocks on the left is Maggiano's ita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Address: 21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East , City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nice property located near the city's Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Courtyard
Philadelphia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.