We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location, very good quality, historic building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cortland, New York
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location, very good quality, historic building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is not your typical Courtyard by Marriott. It is an architectural beauty that is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The location is amazing; the only place more centrally located is the majestic Philadelphia City Hall across the street! Indeed, the building housing the Courtyard was built in 1926 as an annex to City Hall. The Masonic Grand Lodge of Pennsylvania (a must-tour) is kitty-corner from the hotel. Reading Terminal Market (a must-visit) and the Philadelphia Convention Center are two blocks away. And there is MUCH more of quintessential Philadelphia within a four-block radius. We valet-parked our car on Friday evening ($40/24 hours) and didn’t touch it again until Sunday afternoon. The rooms are classic Courtyard—clean, comfortable, nondescript but pleasant, and are well-equipped for computing needs (we especially liked the iDock for our iPhone). The room and bathroom had isolated spots of wear & tear but nothing more than what we would expect in a large city hotel located two blocks from the convention center. Now that we’ve had the comfort and convenience of staying here, any place else in Philadelphia is going to be a tough sell.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    539
    115
    37
    9
See reviews for
305
293
66
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Right across the street from City Hall, adjacent to the Convention Center and walking distance to the subway, shopping, restaurants, etc.... this hotel has a great location. It is right near a Residence Inn and a Marriott also. We checked in after 7pm and there was a big crowd trying to check in as well but the staff handled it well.

Our room was not very big, but the bathroom was good-sized and the furnishings in the room were nice. Cool TV too.

My one tip would be the parking - parking in downtown Philadelphia is very expensive. If you can avoid doing the valet then do self-park and park yourself in the structure across from the Convention Center. The valet will direct you. They told me that valet was $43 or $46 per night. We parked overnight in the public structure for $30 and it was fine. Drop your bags off at the front of the hotel and park and walk back. Worth saving a few bucks since the rooms are also expensive. At $183 total (including tax) it is the most expensive Courtyard I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I reserved one night at this hotel for somewhat last minute plans. The location was great as it was in walking distance from a number of restaurants and was pretty easy to find. The hotel staff members were pleasant and the valet parking comparatively pricey to nearby hotels. The room left a lot to be desired; it served its purpose, but was surprisingly outdated and dusty (literally). In addition, the tub, faucet and handle were greasy for an unknown reason and the bathtub drain rather slow. There was also not much of a view from the room (room 1102); the room faced another building, and the walls were surprisingly thin. Every time a door was closed nearby, the walls in the room shook and I could hear the people talking and laughing in the next room quite clearly. I'm glad I only stayed one night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The building dates from the 1920s when it was an annexe to the City Hall offices. It is now a lovely modern hotel with many original features still retained.
Prior to my arrival the hotel contacted to ensure my stay would be as enjoyable as possible. I flew into Philadelphia airport and caught the local train service for $7USD to Market Street East station, then it was a 5minute walk to the hotel. You can also get a cab, and the hotel advised it was $27USD.
I had a corner suite which was large and roomy, with a good view over the city.
Bar and restaurant were very pleasant. Breakfast was not included in my booking and this was approx $20USD including tax. Although there are local diners aplenty if you prefer to eat outside.

Room Tip: Worth checking at reception if they have any deals on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Checked into the Courtyard around 10:00PM on a Friday for a quick one night in and out. Front desk had one person at it, and two other people working who didn't seem to want to check people in. Finally, about 20 minutes later got to my room . . . basic Courtyard, comfortable, a little worn. Plus is location, right on Market and 13th, close to the convention center, Chinatown . . . its a cool old building, but needs some better management.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I travel a lot for business and anytime I'm in Phili I stay here. It's a great hotel, very nice, great service, safe, secure, in walking distance to everything, very reasonably priced, rooms are clean and a decent size. Certainly several steps up from most Courtyards, in fact it's more like an upscale Marriott than a Courtyard.

Room Tip: Walk out the front doors, turn right, right again, down two blocks on the left is Maggiano's ita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michaels, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

As a long-time Philadelphia journalist, I watched as the beautiful old City Hall Annex went into decline and sadly become an abandoned eyesore. We moved from the Philadelphia area to the Eastern Shore of Maryland seven years ago but kept our membership in a Center City theater company, returning four times a year to attend plays. We have staid in several downtown hotels over time but has decided the old Annex, now a wonderfully resorted modern hotel in the heart of the city, is our favorite. The rooms are comfortable, quiet and well appointed. The king begs are super as is the big TV. We found the staff to be very welcoming. The rates are competitive and you can't beat the location, right across from City Hall. The location puts all of the museums, theaters and shops within walking distance or at worst a short cab ride. It is block from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and the Reading Terminal Market. If you are there during the week, don't miss the elevator ride to the top of City Hall Tower for a fantastic view of the city. It is hard to believe that this great building once stood derelict.

Room Tip: High Rooms on the west side have a view of City Hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Address: 21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nice property located near the city's Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Courtyard
Philadelphia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.