We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent historical hotel in downtown Philadelphia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Great Summer Rates!
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent historical hotel in downtown Philadelphia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The building dates from the 1920s when it was an annexe to the City Hall offices. It is now a lovely modern hotel with many original features still retained.
Prior to my arrival the hotel contacted to ensure my stay would be as enjoyable as possible. I flew into Philadelphia airport and caught the local train service for $7USD to Market Street East station, then it was a 5minute walk to the hotel. You can also get a cab, and the hotel advised it was $27USD.
I had a corner suite which was large and roomy, with a good view over the city.
Bar and restaurant were very pleasant. Breakfast was not included in my booking and this was approx $20USD including tax. Although there are local diners aplenty if you prefer to eat outside.

Room Tip: Worth checking at reception if they have any deals on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    590
    135
    43
    10
See reviews for
341
332
70
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Checked into the Courtyard around 10:00PM on a Friday for a quick one night in and out. Front desk had one person at it, and two other people working who didn't seem to want to check people in. Finally, about 20 minutes later got to my room . . . basic Courtyard, comfortable, a little worn. Plus is location, right on Market and 13th, close to the convention center, Chinatown . . . its a cool old building, but needs some better management.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I travel a lot for business and anytime I'm in Phili I stay here. It's a great hotel, very nice, great service, safe, secure, in walking distance to everything, very reasonably priced, rooms are clean and a decent size. Certainly several steps up from most Courtyards, in fact it's more like an upscale Marriott than a Courtyard.

Room Tip: Walk out the front doors, turn right, right again, down two blocks on the left is Maggiano's ita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michaels, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

As a long-time Philadelphia journalist, I watched as the beautiful old City Hall Annex went into decline and sadly become an abandoned eyesore. We moved from the Philadelphia area to the Eastern Shore of Maryland seven years ago but kept our membership in a Center City theater company, returning four times a year to attend plays. We have staid in several downtown hotels over time but has decided the old Annex, now a wonderfully resorted modern hotel in the heart of the city, is our favorite. The rooms are comfortable, quiet and well appointed. The king begs are super as is the big TV. We found the staff to be very welcoming. The rates are competitive and you can't beat the location, right across from City Hall. The location puts all of the museums, theaters and shops within walking distance or at worst a short cab ride. It is block from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and the Reading Terminal Market. If you are there during the week, don't miss the elevator ride to the top of City Hall Tower for a fantastic view of the city. It is hard to believe that this great building once stood derelict.

Room Tip: High Rooms on the west side have a view of City Hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Another great stay. I stayed here on business for 2 nights. The service, especially in the restaurant, was great. The breakfast service was the best. Very friendly. My room was clean and very functional. The fitness center was good but is a little tight. For a Courtyard it's good. Pool area not very inviting but seemed clean. Location is great if visiting Center City or convention center.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila PA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel within the old City Hall Annex building on New Year's Eve. We had a large room overlooking City Hall and a view of the Mummers Parade the next day. The only draw back is no room service from the hotel itself, however things could be ordered from restaurants nearby.

All-in-all, a delightful stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, MD
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

For the second year in a row my wife and I stayed at this hotel in downtown Philly. The hotel is right across the street from the famous and beautiful City Hall and very close to the Reading Market and the Convention Center. Many wonderful restaurants are nearby as well as stops for all the city tour busses. Though we arrived before noon they were able to put us in a room right away (this was a Friday morning and during the very busy time when the annual flower show is going on in the convention center). This time my wife and I asked for a two bed room since we find we just sleep better in unfamiliar digs in seperate beds. We were put in a room on the 11th floor facing the City Hall and downtown sky scrapers. What a wonderful view! The room was very clean, the beds are heaven to sleep on, the decor is modern and in very good condition, and the bathroom is of decent size. The room was a bit larger than the single bed room we had the previous year. The building is beautiful. It was built in 1926 as an annex to the city hall and is an quite well restored. There are a lot of hotel ammenities but we were so busy sightseeing that we didn't spend much time in the hotel. The hotel has no on-site parking but there is valet parking. You might want to scope out nearby public parking to save a few dollars on the valet parking but the valet parking service was professional, courteous and relatively quick. Just make sure you notify them about 20 minutes in advance of when you need your car. In five minutes you're back on the interstate and I-95. Love this hotel and location and will stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a two bed room. I think most of these face the City Hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Address: 21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Courtyard Downtown Philadelphia, PA Hotel is located in the heart of the Business District across from City Hall and is one short block away from the Pennsylvania Convention Center. Our downtown Philadelphia hotel accommodations reflect the grandeur of their 1926 origins and feature 11' ceilings, i-Home radio docking stations and complimentary Wi-Fi access. Our 15-floor, 498-room hotel is listed on the "National Register of Historic Places" and stands as a charming testament to time with unique architectural details. Enjoy a variety of hotel amenities, including a fitness center, indoor pool and our on-site restaurant, NINETEEN 26. This Philadelphia downtown hotel is convenient to the Historic District, University of Pennsylvania, Independence Hall and renowned restaurants and shopping. Here at our Philadelphia Historic District hotel we offer over 10,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space which is the ideal home for group meetings, special occasions and weddings in downtown Philadelphia, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Marriott
Philadelphia Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.