We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understaffed, and kind of strange” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Understaffed, and kind of strange”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Checked into the Courtyard around 10:00PM on a Friday for a quick one night in and out. Front desk had one person at it, and two other people working who didn't seem to want to check people in. Finally, about 20 minutes later got to my room . . . basic Courtyard, comfortable, a little worn. Plus is location, right on Market and 13th, close to the convention center, Chinatown . . . its a cool old building, but needs some better management.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    494
    104
    36
    9
See reviews for
280
265
62
268
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I travel a lot for business and anytime I'm in Phili I stay here. It's a great hotel, very nice, great service, safe, secure, in walking distance to everything, very reasonably priced, rooms are clean and a decent size. Certainly several steps up from most Courtyards, in fact it's more like an upscale Marriott than a Courtyard.

Room Tip: Walk out the front doors, turn right, right again, down two blocks on the left is Maggiano's ita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michaels, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

As a long-time Philadelphia journalist, I watched as the beautiful old City Hall Annex went into decline and sadly become an abandoned eyesore. We moved from the Philadelphia area to the Eastern Shore of Maryland seven years ago but kept our membership in a Center City theater company, returning four times a year to attend plays. We have staid in several downtown hotels over time but has decided the old Annex, now a wonderfully resorted modern hotel in the heart of the city, is our favorite. The rooms are comfortable, quiet and well appointed. The king begs are super as is the big TV. We found the staff to be very welcoming. The rates are competitive and you can't beat the location, right across from City Hall. The location puts all of the museums, theaters and shops within walking distance or at worst a short cab ride. It is block from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and the Reading Terminal Market. If you are there during the week, don't miss the elevator ride to the top of City Hall Tower for a fantastic view of the city. It is hard to believe that this great building once stood derelict.

Room Tip: High Rooms on the west side have a view of City Hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Another great stay. I stayed here on business for 2 nights. The service, especially in the restaurant, was great. The breakfast service was the best. Very friendly. My room was clean and very functional. The fitness center was good but is a little tight. For a Courtyard it's good. Pool area not very inviting but seemed clean. Location is great if visiting Center City or convention center.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel within the old City Hall Annex building on New Year's Eve. We had a large room overlooking City Hall and a view of the Mummers Parade the next day. The only draw back is no room service from the hotel itself, however things could be ordered from restaurants nearby.

All-in-all, a delightful stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, MD
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

For the second year in a row my wife and I stayed at this hotel in downtown Philly. The hotel is right across the street from the famous and beautiful City Hall and very close to the Reading Market and the Convention Center. Many wonderful restaurants are nearby as well as stops for all the city tour busses. Though we arrived before noon they were able to put us in a room right away (this was a Friday morning and during the very busy time when the annual flower show is going on in the convention center). This time my wife and I asked for a two bed room since we find we just sleep better in unfamiliar digs in seperate beds. We were put in a room on the 11th floor facing the City Hall and downtown sky scrapers. What a wonderful view! The room was very clean, the beds are heaven to sleep on, the decor is modern and in very good condition, and the bathroom is of decent size. The room was a bit larger than the single bed room we had the previous year. The building is beautiful. It was built in 1926 as an annex to the city hall and is an quite well restored. There are a lot of hotel ammenities but we were so busy sightseeing that we didn't spend much time in the hotel. The hotel has no on-site parking but there is valet parking. You might want to scope out nearby public parking to save a few dollars on the valet parking but the valet parking service was professional, courteous and relatively quick. Just make sure you notify them about 20 minutes in advance of when you need your car. In five minutes you're back on the interstate and I-95. Love this hotel and location and will stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a two bed room. I think most of these face the City Hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Went to the Flower Show and though the regular Marriott is 30 yards closer, the Courtyard was less expensive. Can walk to Reading Terminal Market and dozens of great restaurants. Staff friendly and helpful. Surprisingly good spinach salad at the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Address: 21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East , City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nice property located near the city's Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Courtyard
Philadelphia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;