We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for location & City Hall view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #21 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth it for location & City Hall view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

To be honest, with 3 young kids under 6 we don't often splash out on the more expensive hotels & there were plenty $50-$100 cheaper per night to choose from. But we are so glad we went for this hotel for our overnight stay. Great base to explore the delights of Philly & the impressive architecture of city hall = view was pretty spectacular. Our 2 eldest kids couldn't get enough of the view- we've never had such an enthusiastic & positive reaction from them about a hotel room before! You need to request city hall view in advance.

As we required two beds for our family room, (& travel cot) we sacrificed room size for view (two queen beds instead of Kings). With travel cot up, room did feel a little cramped but that was our choice & view was so worth it.

We could see all the way down to Museum of Art, which was a v pleasant 25 min walk north (quicker without kids!). Also great to see Philly skyline all lit up at night- had to drag kids away from window for dinner.

Bathroom on small side too. So overall room average but view outstanding and more than made up for it.

Other things which impressed us overall was friendliness & helpfulness of staff.
Little touches like baby shampoo & lotion & little bath toy in room with travel cot, front of house staff entertaining our children, restaurant staff very pleasant.

We don't often eat in hotel but kids tired so easiest option after sight seeing. A little pricey for dinner but tasty & nice options & relaxing environment. We had comfortable family booth with individual TV (kids loved!). But it also a very nice bar area & mix of families, couples & groups of younger guests. V pleasant atmosphere & worth paying the extra for convenience of not having to leave Hotel on a cold winter's night with tired children in tow (& our youngest could eat dinner in his pjs then fall asleep in stroller!).

V pleasantly surprised with breakfast- ample & tasty choice. Though if you really want value for money- you can't beat buzzing vibe of Reading Terminal food market just over the road. Soooo many cheap & tasty eats- tho naturally not as plush an atmosphere to dine in as hotel,

As alway swimming pool smaller than looked on website, & water pretty cold...but kids loved, just too cold for our youngest. Hot tub a big hit.

Overall fantastic location, worth it for city hall view, nice hotel & pleasant staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    525
    110
    37
    9
See reviews for
293
280
66
285
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

While I appreciate the wonderful look and architectural details in the main lobby and first floor of the hotel, the rooms are less than stellar. The lobby, like with a lot of other Courtyards, has been remodeled, it's clear the rooms are in great need to updating. Our bathroom was pretty dingy and you could tell the shower had seen better days. We have stayed in a lot of Courtyards and I would have to say this is in definite need of a makeover! Also, our shower and the floor of the bathroom had hairs that seem to have been missed by the cleaning staff. We also had to track down a staff member for toiletries that were never placed in our room. We usually stay at the other Marriott and chose the Courtyard because it was a better price, next time we will spend the extra money and stay in the nicer of the two.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently returned from our second stay at this hotel. We enjoyed both of our stays. The front desk staff were extremely cordial and personable. They gave us a complimentary upgrade to a City View room on the top floor, which did have a very nice view. The rooms are somewhat small but very clean and modern and the bed was very comfortable. We did not eat at the restaurant but stopped in and had a drink at their bar. It's a nice sized bar situated in the same area as the restaurant. The drinks seemed a bit pricy, but it seemed like the going rate anywhere in the city. All the staff at the hotel that we came in contact were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a good location and close and convenient to catch the subway, which I would definitely recommend using if going to a game or concert at the Wells Fargo Center, Citizens Bank Park, and/or Lincoln Financial Field. Check out was quick and painless. Valet parking is $48 per day. I dont know if its possible but it would be much better if they had more outside where the cars pull up either to check in or retrieve their car from the valet. It is very congested and if its a busy time of day, it's a little difficult to get in and out with your car. Overall, we had another great stay and won't hesitate in returning again in the future.

Room Tip: City view rooms have nice views of historic downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This Courtyard is located right by City Hall, the Convention Center, Reading Terminal Market and to all the great restaurants located on Chestnut.

The hotel has been renovated and the rooms are quite comfortable and clean. We were fortunate to have a pretty decent view from the 6th floor. The restaurant/bar area was very nice and service was decent. They had a few specials running which was nice. There is also a Starbucks located within the hotel.

All in all, great service and comfort at a great price!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I am a Marriott Frequent Guest and was pleasantly surprised with the Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown. The historic building is across City Hall and the lobby library is impressive. The city view from the gym and pool enhance your work out experience. They even offer you cold towers at the gym. A little 5 star touch at the courtyard! Sunday brunch buffet was great and the omelet station chef very efficient and friendly.The only negative aspect of my stay was the Front Desk staff. While efficient at check in,they lacked the basics of customer service: no eye contact,no warmth,not even a enjoy your stay greeting at the end of check in. As a matter of fact,not having caught the name of the friendly chef at breakfast,when I asked for his name at the Front desk I was told that" I don't know who is working the omelet station today" and when I described him ( he is a tall big guy!) the receptionist just handed me a comment card and said she was not sure who was working that day.But overall my stay was pleasant and the hotel clean and functional. Tip to the front desk: Smile more and be a little nicer to people.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The building lobby is nicely renovated. The rooms felt like an older style hotel room, and our view was looking into the next building. Therefore, we had to keep our curtains closed the entire time. We booked the Courtyard instead of the Residence Inn because the Courtyard had an indoor pool, but the pool was full of kids the entire time that it was impossible to use, even at 10:45 at night. Perhaps an adults only hour could be scheduled from 10-11pm? The hotel just seemed too big for such a small pool area.

The location is good. You are just in front of City Hall, a 10 min. walk from Independence Hall and 10 -15 min. from the museum district. You are also near some good restaurants on 13th St.

We had a fine stay here, but I am not convinced there are not nicer spots in the area for a similar price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a great hotel. The lobby is luxurious. The rooms are new and clean. The view from my room was great. I appreciate the location as well--right in the center of the city and around the corner from the Reading Market.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your business and appreciate you posting your feedback. We look forward to your next visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Address: 21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nice property located near the city's Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Courtyard
Philadelphia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.