We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Nice Nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #22 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stone Harbor, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Two Nice Nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I spent two lovely nights at this hotel. The staff from the valet parking attendant front desk and housekeepiing were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and quiet. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We take great pride and are very fortunate to have a team of associates who truly strive to make our guests experience memorable. Please be assured that your positive feedback will be shared with all of our associates. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    365
    463
    102
    34
    9
See reviews for
258
248
57
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I often send people to this hotel from out of town and they love it. It is located within walking distance to a lot of stuff and the quality of the hotel is excellent. The price is right and the service outstanding. Worth a stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback. It gives us great pleasure to read and share your comments with all our staff. We appreciate your business and thank you for referring people from out of town to stay with us. We truly appreciate this. Thank you again and we look forward to your return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The architecture of this building -- not only the exterior but the guest rooms as well -- are amazing, particularly for those of who have stayed in modern-day suburban-based Courtyards which are certainly functional but lack architectural details.

Despite the historic feel of the property, the interior of my room was updated and had some lovely decorative details. Futhermore, its size was surprisingly large, particularly given the hotel is situated in downtown Philadelphia. There was a separate desk area and a bathroom well apart from the bedroom.

As I find frequently with the Marriott chain, the best part is the warmth and graciousness of the staff: a handyman who came up to my room to investigate the HVAC unit not only returned heat to my room, but also glue-gunned my prescription eye-glasses which had mysteriously broken apart in my purse during my plane ride.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarlac,Philippines
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hotel Staff and other tourists said that the hotel was used to be the City Hall. In fact, in the ground floor, there is an epic library located there. There is a starbucks in the restaurant so you can always smell that starbucks signature scent in the hotel lobby. The location of the hotel is also very convenient to shopping,historical places and restaurants. If you plan to attend a convention or congress , it is very near the Pennsylvania Convention center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

From the minute you drove up to the hotel, the staff was there to greet you with a smile. We came in very late and needed food. The staff bent over backwards to help us find something to eat. The bartender provided great service as well. The hotel was beautifully decorated and the rooms were very clean. The location was perfect, so close to everything. Highly recommend this hotel. As a matter of fact we are going back next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay & would definitely go back. We're a family of 4 & were in Philly for the first time, just to check out the city. Staff was very friendly & helpful, room was clean. Pool is only 3 feet deep so my 11 & 14 yr. olds were a little disappointed in that, but got over it. Location was fantastic - 1 block from Reading Market for cheap but good food; just a few blocks walking distance to historic sites. Tourist & gritty areas are really mixed here - I was surprised at the number of homeless people on the sidewalks. We should have asked for a room on higher floor as we had no view whatsoever - we'll know for next time. Only 1 room complaint - tub had an area of standing water which was discolored so it had been an issue for some time (I forgot to tell staff on checkout - it was room 312. ) Otherwise, great beds, pillows, huge TV, luxurious feel to the place, quiet. Great value for the money. Finally, this is not the hotel's issue, but be aware of a 20% valet tax!! Ouch.

Room Tip: ask for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I was at the Rockwell Automatuion Automation Fair in Philadelphia A much better idea than last year the hotel was attached to the conference centre it was great. A very comfortable stay, the hotel is clean good and very agreeable the hotel staff were friendly The positioning is great near almost all important shopping and restaurant places, Easy walking distance to the old city and the city hall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Address: 21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East , City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nice property located near the city's Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Courtyard
Philadelphia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.