We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

From the minute you drove up to the hotel, the staff was there to greet you with a smile. We came in very late and needed food. The staff bent over backwards to help us find something to eat. The bartender provided great service as well. The hotel was beautifully decorated and the rooms were very clean. The location was perfect, so close to everything. Highly recommend this hotel. As a matter of fact we are going back next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    321
    425
    96
    33
    8
See reviews for
234
226
54
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay & would definitely go back. We're a family of 4 & were in Philly for the first time, just to check out the city. Staff was very friendly & helpful, room was clean. Pool is only 3 feet deep so my 11 & 14 yr. olds were a little disappointed in that, but got over it. Location was fantastic - 1 block from Reading Market for cheap but good food; just a few blocks walking distance to historic sites. Tourist & gritty areas are really mixed here - I was surprised at the number of homeless people on the sidewalks. We should have asked for a room on higher floor as we had no view whatsoever - we'll know for next time. Only 1 room complaint - tub had an area of standing water which was discolored so it had been an issue for some time (I forgot to tell staff on checkout - it was room 312. ) Otherwise, great beds, pillows, huge TV, luxurious feel to the place, quiet. Great value for the money. Finally, this is not the hotel's issue, but be aware of a 20% valet tax!! Ouch.

Room Tip: ask for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I was at the Rockwell Automatuion Automation Fair in Philadelphia A much better idea than last year the hotel was attached to the conference centre it was great. A very comfortable stay, the hotel is clean good and very agreeable the hotel staff were friendly The positioning is great near almost all important shopping and restaurant places, Easy walking distance to the old city and the city hall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed for one night while in town on business - excellent location within 10 minutes of center city businesses, great restaurants and major tourist attractions. Food offerings at hotel are scant - appreciate being able to order from nearby Chili's as room service but you are better off staying at the Residence Inn next door and getting the lounge food included at the same room rate. Room was nice with large windows, but found many possessions of prior guest in room so quite clear maid had not serviced room other than changing bed

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Went during the Army-Navy weekend when the room rates were greatly inflated. Perhaps because I went on the Marriott reservation online site several hours before our check-in and discovered that I could have the same room for $70. less per night than originally booked and asked for the new rate (the online site offers the best guaranteed rate), I might have been given one of the 'get even' rooms I heard about on '60 Minutes'. I had requested a quiet room on a higher floor (this property has 15 flrs.) and away from the elevator.

We were assigned a 3rd fl. and when we found our room, it was across from the elevator. We had a 2 queen bed room - the mattresses were not comfortable - certainly not the deep ones hyped as the 'Marriott bed'.The mattress cover bedsheets were flimsy and during both nights both mattresses lost the fitted sheets.

One of my pillows had nasal stains, the mini-fridge was propped into a cabinet on wooden slats which were rotting. As a result, the mini-fridge loudly vibrated on and off all night. When I opened the fridge door, I had to catch it from falling out. If that wasn't enough to keep me awake at night, the toilet flushing sounds of the room next door did.

The second morning when I showered, there were soft brown 'chips' under my bar soap in the soap dish holder that weren't there before. I dread to think what they were.

Even though we are Marriott Reward members and have been happy at other locations, I would not return here. This was our 18th Army-Navy game attendance, so we have had experience with other hotels and B&B's in this city. I must say that the valet service attendants and the restaurant staff were outstanding - better than the Marriott Downtown hotel staff adjacent to this Courtyard property.

The location is good - across the street from City Hall and Macy's with it's Christmas light show, the Reading Terminal Market and a short walk to St. John's the Evangelist for Sunday Mass. The City Hall subway station is just down at the end of the street for a short ride to Lincoln Financial Stadium. Loew's is also a short walk down the street.

A word to the wise - there have always been disturbed homeless in this area; one recent year, at night, as we passed by one, he stood up quickly to hugely spit all over my coat.

Room Tip: higher floors have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel over the weekend while I was working in New Jersey for 2 weeks straight. It was a perfect location central to everything I wanted to do. From the hotel, you can hit a lot of popular places by walking (wear your comfy shoes), including: the liberty bell, independence hall, betsy ross house, love statue, Rocky steps at the art museum, etc. It's also right next to a stop along the "sightseeing" double decker buses that drive all around and show you the sights. You can also hop right on the subway, which I did to attend a Phillies game! The rooms are pretty nice - they tried to keep the history throughout the hotel and it comes together nicely. The staff was also very friendly. My only complaint is that you had to wait a while for the elevators around checkin/checkout time (but very much worth it).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback. It gives us great pleasure to read and share your wonderful comments with all our staff. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel has historic charm with modern amenities. Fantastic location across from City Hall, near the LOVE park and within walking distance of Independence Hall. Close to Reading Market and lots of restaurants. Would definitely stay here again. The hotel front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Valet staff was too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We take great pride and are very fortunate to have a team of associates who truly strive to make our guests experience memorable. Please be assured that your positive feedback will be shared with all of our associates. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us as we know there are many hotel options in Philadelphia. We look forward to your next visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Also Known As:
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Courtyard Philadelphia
Philadelphia Courtyard
Philadelphia Marriott
Address: 21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East , City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nice property located near the city's Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.