We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central place for a weekend exploration!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #21 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great central place for a weekend exploration!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel over the weekend while I was working in New Jersey for 2 weeks straight. It was a perfect location central to everything I wanted to do. From the hotel, you can hit a lot of popular places by walking (wear your comfy shoes), including: the liberty bell, independence hall, betsy ross house, love statue, Rocky steps at the art museum, etc. It's also right next to a stop along the "sightseeing" double decker buses that drive all around and show you the sights. You can also hop right on the subway, which I did to attend a Phillies game! The rooms are pretty nice - they tried to keep the history throughout the hotel and it comes together nicely. The staff was also very friendly. My only complaint is that you had to wait a while for the elevators around checkin/checkout time (but very much worth it).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback. It gives us great pleasure to read and share your wonderful comments with all our staff. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    383
    482
    104
    35
    9
See reviews for
273
258
59
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel has historic charm with modern amenities. Fantastic location across from City Hall, near the LOVE park and within walking distance of Independence Hall. Close to Reading Market and lots of restaurants. Would definitely stay here again. The hotel front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Valet staff was too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We take great pride and are very fortunate to have a team of associates who truly strive to make our guests experience memorable. Please be assured that your positive feedback will be shared with all of our associates. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us as we know there are many hotel options in Philadelphia. We look forward to your next visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The location at the very center of the city can't be better. The hotel is solid. The rooms are ok with the normal amenities. Our room, 1115, had a lot of plumbing noise: the running water heard in the pipes through the air vent any time someone in the vicinity took a shower was loud and had to be blocked by earplugs while sleeping. Also, during our stay of three nights in late November there were a lot of noisy, downscale youth hanging out in the hotel and trying to get up the elevators without keys, taking pictures, and generally being rowdy and loud in the common areas that made sitting in the lobby or walking through it, or trying to use the elevators a problem. In order not to have people without keys riding up in the elevators with me (I think they were headed to a party someone had announced, probably over social networking) I had to wait and then walked to the back elevators eventually to get up to my room. The hotel staff should do something about this as it will degrade the reputation of their hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent visit. I am disappointed to read your comments regarding the plumbing noise you experienced during your visit. Hopefully you were able to get some sleep that night and were not overly tired the next day. Please accept my sincere apology. I have shared your feedback with my Engineering Team and we will work on to resolve this issue. We would welcome speaking with you directly on the matter. Please feel free to contact our General Manager, Jim Gratton at 215-832-3040 so that we can work with you to determine an appropriate resolution to the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Beautiful old building right across from City Hall. Perfect location for downtown Philadelphia.
Rooms were spacious and clean. Hotels has Starbucks in the lobby and a business center but they do make a charge for internet use unless you are checking in for a flight and printing boarding passes. No wonder it was always empty you walked past.
Other facilites - coin operated washer & dryer and also have a swimming pool and whirlpool.

Would stay here again if back in Philly

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel has a tendency to over-charge you after your stay. For us, it's 4 months after we stayed there in Aug 2012. They did that to my brother too. Otherwise, this hotel is up to par with other Courtyards we have stayed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel the night before Thanksgiving so I could bring my family to the Thanksgiving Day Parade. The hotel exceeded my expectations with a great room and service. The hotel is walking distance to pretty much everything including shopping, restaurants, and museums. We chose to eat in the hotel restaurant and were very pleased with the food. The staff was also very nice.

If you are looking for a great place to stay in Philadelphia you can't go wrong with this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is the second year in a row that we have stayed here at the Courtyard on Thanksgiving Evening. We requested a high floor with a view of City Hall and that is exactly what we got! The room was nice with a comfy king size bed and the view of City Hall and looking over to Love Park is spectacular! We even took advantage of Macy's a block away opening at midnight on Black Friday to shop for a bit.

I would recommend to self park in the lot that is located behind the hotel as it is cheaper than the valet parking that the hotel offers. If you don't mind paying the higher price or waiting on your car, then go ahead and use the valet service. We prefer to do it ourselves.

The hotel is in a very convenient location with plenty of shopping, restaurants, Reading Terminal Market, Convention Center within walking distance. Philly is a very friendly walking city.

We would highly recommend this hotel. We have enjoyed our stay here both times.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor (10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ) and ask for a view of City Hall / Love Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Address: 21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East , City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nice property located near the city's Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Courtyard
Philadelphia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.