We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, OK Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baltimore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Location, OK Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The location at the very center of the city can't be better. The hotel is solid. The rooms are ok with the normal amenities. Our room, 1115, had a lot of plumbing noise: the running water heard in the pipes through the air vent any time someone in the vicinity took a shower was loud and had to be blocked by earplugs while sleeping. Also, during our stay of three nights in late November there were a lot of noisy, downscale youth hanging out in the hotel and trying to get up the elevators without keys, taking pictures, and generally being rowdy and loud in the common areas that made sitting in the lobby or walking through it, or trying to use the elevators a problem. In order not to have people without keys riding up in the elevators with me (I think they were headed to a party someone had announced, probably over social networking) I had to wait and then walked to the back elevators eventually to get up to my room. The hotel staff should do something about this as it will degrade the reputation of their hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent visit. I am disappointed to read your comments regarding the plumbing noise you experienced during your visit. Hopefully you were able to get some sleep that night and were not overly tired the next day. Please accept my sincere apology. I have shared your feedback with my Engineering Team and we will work on to resolve this issue. We would welcome speaking with you directly on the matter. Please feel free to contact our General Manager, Jim Gratton at 215-832-3040 so that we can work with you to determine an appropriate resolution to the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    425
    96
    33
    8
See reviews for
235
226
54
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Beautiful old building right across from City Hall. Perfect location for downtown Philadelphia.
Rooms were spacious and clean. Hotels has Starbucks in the lobby and a business center but they do make a charge for internet use unless you are checking in for a flight and printing boarding passes. No wonder it was always empty you walked past.
Other facilites - coin operated washer & dryer and also have a swimming pool and whirlpool.

Would stay here again if back in Philly

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel has a tendency to over-charge you after your stay. For us, it's 4 months after we stayed there in Aug 2012. They did that to my brother too. Otherwise, this hotel is up to par with other Courtyards we have stayed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel the night before Thanksgiving so I could bring my family to the Thanksgiving Day Parade. The hotel exceeded my expectations with a great room and service. The hotel is walking distance to pretty much everything including shopping, restaurants, and museums. We chose to eat in the hotel restaurant and were very pleased with the food. The staff was also very nice.

If you are looking for a great place to stay in Philadelphia you can't go wrong with this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is the second year in a row that we have stayed here at the Courtyard on Thanksgiving Evening. We requested a high floor with a view of City Hall and that is exactly what we got! The room was nice with a comfy king size bed and the view of City Hall and looking over to Love Park is spectacular! We even took advantage of Macy's a block away opening at midnight on Black Friday to shop for a bit.

I would recommend to self park in the lot that is located behind the hotel as it is cheaper than the valet parking that the hotel offers. If you don't mind paying the higher price or waiting on your car, then go ahead and use the valet service. We prefer to do it ourselves.

The hotel is in a very convenient location with plenty of shopping, restaurants, Reading Terminal Market, Convention Center within walking distance. Philly is a very friendly walking city.

We would highly recommend this hotel. We have enjoyed our stay here both times.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor (10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ) and ask for a view of City Hall / Love Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This Marriott is one of several right next to the City Hall, the Convention Center and Macy's. Not too big with all the necessary amenities, Starbucks, small restaurant, bar, library, fitness center, swimming pool. Nice and helpful staff - helped with finding vegetarian restaurant and getting into wifi. In an old building, the interior is tastefully decorated and well maintained. My room was very spacious and nicely furnished with the usual perfect Marriott beds. But the best feature is the hotels proximity to tourist attractions - everything is in walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and our two small daughters (both under age 3) stayed here in mid-November 2012 in a two-room suite.

The room was spacious and clean, equipped with a front room sofa concealing a foldout bed and a king-size bed in the master bedroom. The bathtub was average sized, but it, the tub tiles, and the shower curtain (hung from a curved rod to allow for a bit of extra room inside the tub) were all passably clean. The Keurig coffeemaker, microwave, and mini refrigerator were all well-maintained. The massive writing desk featured a number of data ports and electrical outlets, as well as a second, smaller roll-out desk nested beneath it. Each room offered an impressive flatscreen television. Apart from these and the valet parking of which we took advantage, the next most-appreciated feature of the hotel is its close proximity to a number of local attractions, from City Hall (directly opposite the hotel on the other side of the street), to Reading Market (one block away), to Chinatown, where we enjoyed some really good meals. All of these are within walking distance. The hotel also has a Starbucks on its ground level and a restaurant at which we enjoyed a lunch menu offering up fare that was average; not spectacular by any means, but tasty enough.

If I have any small quibble with this hotel, it is that the housekeeping staff didn't respond on our initial call. On our first full day there, having rung to request service right before we all stepped out for a couple of hours in the early afternoon, we returned to find that nothing had been cleaned/restocked/emptied. About a half hour later, a uniformed hotel staffer whom I assumed to be a housekeeping manager arrived at our door to ask if we had yet received service. I told him we had not, and he apologized, stating that he'd been searching for the person assigned to our room for some time, and that he'd send someone else up right away. As evening was approaching and we were stepping out for a second time, this was fine with my wife and I. By the time we returned, the room had been cleaned, the bed remade, glasses, towels/washcloths, and sundries restocked. This incident I included only for completeness, as having to wait for housekeeping service a few hours longer than anticipated was really no bother at all. I'd definitely stay here again. The location alone made it well worth the cost, and as hotel experiences go, one could do a great deal worse than to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Also Known As:
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Courtyard Philadelphia
Philadelphia Courtyard
Philadelphia Marriott
Address: 21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East , City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nice property located near the city's Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.