We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #24 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is a fantastic find, had to visit Philadelphia, and ended up at the Courtyard. Its right across the street from City Hall, a destination in itself. Its walking distance to the Museums and the mall. The rooms are great, recently remodeled it seems. And best of a a very historic building with lots of great spaces for meetings. Including the library!

Room Tip: There are 2 sides to the hotel, one with a view of the back of the Marriott, not exciting, the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    568
    128
    41
    9
See reviews for
324
313
70
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed here in June this year ( very busy summer and fall sorry for the delay ) . Everything was wonderful . Room was a great size , clean . Staff very helpful . We had hired a driver for our stay , after staying here we really would not have needed him.
We had dinner at Davio's steak house one night, fantastic dinner , I am not a meat eater so I had scallops . Fantastic dinner.
We will return !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Was in Philadelphia for a business trip. Ended up staying at the Courtyard downtown. Not your classic Courtyard, the hotel has a lot of character and is located in the heart of downtown. Location was very central but did require a little traffic patience when arriving around rush hour. The neighbourhood wasn't bad though did get a little seedier at night and early morning.

Food catered by the hotel was reasonably standard fare but quite good. It should be noted that valet parking ended up adding around $50 per night to the bill, strongly suggest self parking.

Staff was helpful and the rooms were clean and spacious

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ny
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

The hotel was fine (though the sheets kept slipping off the bed). The only thing that got to me was the attitude of a staff member. I left my bags when i checked out and asked the hotel to hold them for a few hours. When i came back at around 6:30 there was a line for checkout and a staff member standing to the side of the line doing absolutely nothing. I asked him for the bags and his response was "you have to wait in line." I explained that my bus was leaving in 20 minutes and his response (with attitude) was that he had to help the people in line first. That's fine except he wasn't helping anyone. He was doing absolutely nothing except giving me attitude. The woman who was next in line let us go ahead of her so we could get our bags. He brought our bags out and went back to doing absolutely nothing. I expect better service from a hotel of this reputation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxine t, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for your comments and feedback. We deeply regret the experience you had at our hotel. We have shared your comments with the appropriate department Leadership Team. Please contact our hotel directly so we can work with you to determine an appropriate resolution to this issue. We can be reached at (215)-832-3048.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Within three blocks of the Downtown Courtyard by Marriott you can find 3 other hotels in handsomely rehabbed bank buildings: the Ritz Carlton, the next-door Marriott Residence, and the Lowes in the iconic art deco PSFS building. This Courtyard is another handsome building, which is to say one could never build it today without going deeply into the red. It's had multiple lives as one finds a big brass plaque next to its front entry saying "City Hall Annex." Yes, it sits directly across from City Hall, is adjacent to the handsome Masonic Temple, and only a few steps from Macy's (don't miss the free recitals on the Wanamaker organ!), the Market East SEPTA station, and the Reading Terminal Market to say nothing of a 7-Eleven and several good restaurants. My frontside window looked down JFK Blvd. all the way to 30th Street Station.

The room was spacious, the bathroom commodious, and was handy to the elevators and ice machine. Moreover, it had a mini-fridge to chill insulin and convenient wall plugs on both sides of the comfortable king-sized bed to plug in the Bi-Pap machines my fellow guest and I both use. The room and hallways had handsome old photographs depicting Philadelphia landmarks -- even a big framed print in the bathroom!

The in-house restaurant, 1926 (the date of the building's dedication), serves a more-than-adequate and reasonably priced breakfast buffet. Insofar as other meals are concerned, most guests are probably more tempted to walk a few blocks to several enticing alternatives. You can even bring back a feast from the Reading Terminal Market.

Public transportation and cab service are both plentiful and convenient. I arrived on the SEPTA train from the airport ($7) and walked the 2 blocks from the Market East station. One needs to insert one's keycard to activate the elevators from the lobby level as well as late hour entry from secondary doors from the street - something quite reassuring in Center City.

I had a special (though not cheap) group rate which I booked directly with Marriott using my Rewards card which may have afforded me a true "room with a view." But it's also worth taking time just to walk around the interior of this property to view and enjoy its many rich architectural and decorative details.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the building for the best views. You're higher than you might th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa KS
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at the Courtyard Marriott during a visit I made in November. The location was great for all the area sightseeing we were doing on foot. The room was very comfortable and spacious for a downtown hotel. The lobby was spacious and accommodating for a brief break before heading to a new location. We always require a feather free environment and although I had failed to place that request at the beginning, a note to housekeeping and the feather pillows were removed. The staff at the desk were always friendly and I felt very safe with the doorman who kept watch on the coming and goings. The hotel was clean, and well kept. I would definitely consider it again. One note, as I was staying two nights then heading for New York and returning to Philly on Sunday. I did not stay at the Marriott for my return trip because of the huge increase in price. Definitely want to pay attention to the rate structure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxine t, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and feedback. We are very fortunate to have so many great reviews on TripAdvisor and we greatly appreciate you taking the time to add your experience. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I've traveled a lot to Philadelphia and have stayed in a few hotels in Center City. This one is my favourite by far.

Location: In the heart of it, next door to City Hall and close to two subway lines including the Orange line which will get you out to the Phillies, Eagles, Flyers and 76ers games. Lots of great restaurants are within walking distance. Train from the airport will let you off about 4 blocks away. Two blocks from the Reading Market. There are some homeless people who wander around this area and you'll be approached for spare change, but I never once felt threatened or unsafe at anytime.

Room: Had a 2 queen bed room on a higher floor facing City Hall for 4 nights. Beds are amazingly comfortable. The room was pretty quiet. There is a bit of noise from traffic, but nothing that woke me or bothered me in any way. The room had a generous sized bathroom and the shower had great water pressure.

Amenities: Good (free) wi-fi. Solid selection of channels available on the flat screen HDTV. There's a small store at reception where you can pick up wine, snacks, beer or other travel needs. Starbucks is located inside the hotel, but its pricey. Good selection of higher quality toiletries provided in the room.

Staff: Everyone, and I mean everyone, greeted you with a smile and a quick pleasant conversation. I've stayed here a couple of times over the years, and that's always been the case here.

Room Tip: Request a higher room to get above some of the traffic noise if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Address: 21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#23 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nice property located near the city's Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Marriott, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Courtyard
Philadelphia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.