We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centre of the City, Close to all attractions!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Centre of the City, Close to all attractions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed at the Courtyard by Mariott last week and I wasn't surprised with what the hotel had to offer. It had everything that the chain promises- comfort, good and friendly service and cleanliness. Though the stay was only for a day, it is one hotel I would stay at again without thinking twice. The bar and restaurant are also good, there is a starbucks coffee outlet, left luggage facility, attractions nearby if not next door, hard rock cafe and shopping within minutes walking! Don't even think of staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city hall. The back rooms don't have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    524
    110
    37
    9
See reviews for
291
279
66
285
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

I'm here right now (09/18/11). Arrived yesterday and leave tomorrow for a total of 3 nights. The customer service has been OUTSTANDING at every instance, beginning with the very pleasant and accommodating Barbara when I checked in. Due to the conference, I actually had 2 separate reservations and was supposed to move rooms. Barbara cheerfully fixed that for me. Other desk staff have been so, so polite and genuinely friendly. Restaurant-to-go staff, including the chef who warmed up my cranberry muffin started my day perfectly with their cheerfulness.
Housekeeping staff were so helpful and pleasant and made sure I wanted for nothing.
This location is GREAT for downtown action - walking distance to lots of places including great shopping and great food, including the Reading Terminal Markets-wow!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights over Labor Day Weekend. Requested a King room with a view. Hotel is easily accessible from the airport via the train. Just a block or two on foot from two train stations (Suburban or Market East). Upon arrival we were able to check in immediately which was prior to check in time. Hotel very attractive from the outside. Lobby also attractive and impeccably clean. Water available in the lobby all day. You must use your room key to operate the elevator - a nice safety feature.

Room was as promised. Stayed in a King room on the 12th floor with a beautiful view of city hall across the street. Although the room was not large it was sufficient and clean. Bathroom was also clean. Bed was very comfortable. Room has a large flat screen TV and a refrigerator (very convenient for water and orange juice. Housekeeping did a great job cleaning the room daily.

Hotel has a restaurant, pool, and fitness center. We did not eat in the restaurant but it was attractive however the prices seemed high especially considering other options in the city. Reading Terminal is about 2 blocks away and is a great option for breakfast. Although we did not use the fitness center or the pool we did take a look. Exercise room has nice equipment and was not busy. Pool seemed a bit small. Business center is very small and I believe there is a charge to use it. As we were vacationing we did not need it - used a smartphone for internet access- which was usable throughout the city, hotel, and in the room. It should be noted there is a computer where you can print boarding passes for no charge.

Staff was very friendly and helpful with directions and recommendations. Location is the number one reason to book this hotel. It is located right in the center of the city. Most all tourist attractions are within walking distance. However, if you do not wish to walk there is a stop for the phlash trolley right next door. This trolley stops at all major tourist attractions. Each ride on the trolley costs $2 or you can buy an all day pass for $5.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of city hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Upon arrival you realize this property is not your average Courtyard. The building is beautiful. Check in was very quick. The lobby is very clean and nice. Staff was courteous. The location of the hotel couldn't have been better. You are centrally located to shopping and restaurants. If i was to go back to Philadelphia, i would stay at this property again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, MD
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My family of four stayed in a King bed room, and we were very comfortable. The location is ideal to explore Philadelphia. Bit of a walk to the Historical district, but other destinations were very nearby, such as the market, and the main Avenue where there were restaurants and retail stores galore. City Hall is right across the street and during Christmas season, the lighting is worth the trip alone. Certainly not a 5-star hotel, but overall a very nice stay at a great location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

I have stayed in a lot of hotels and this Courtyard ranks in the top 5. Located in the center of the city, it is an historic and stately building that has been beautifully refurbished. It appears very elegant (my kids called it "fancy" and they are not easily impressed), and the service is wonderful. Think of it as the average joe's Ritz. As a Marriott silver elite member, we were provided a spacious corner room with traditional, yet stylish furnishings, long windows and a great bed! The pool and spa were on the small side but clean and warm. There is a changing area near the pool so you don't have to walk around the common areas in your swim suit. Although we did not try the onsite restaurant, the menu looked great and it was modern and inviting, with "nouveau American" cuisine. There is an attached Starbucks but the nearby Dunkin Donuts is probably a better value for coffee and pastries. Overall, I was very impressed and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY,NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The location of this hotel is ideal being right across the street from City Hall and a block away from Reading Market. It's also a block away from all the transportation options on Market Street & Broad Street.

The hotel is in an old art deco building and I believe Marriott just recently gave it a cosmetic upgrade. The "Courtyard" chain is not known for it's opulence but this building offers some old-world charm with big leather chairs and a library on the lobby level.There's also a quasi-Starbucks available. The front desk personnel were all wearing Philly LOVE T-shirts which definitely seemed out of place but they were all friendly and helpful so that's all that really matters.

The room I received was on the smallish side, probably around 225 square feet , and it didn't really offer a view but I wasn't complaining at the price I paid. Furnishings were standard for a 3-star hotel but there's no sink in the bathroom (it's in the foyer) which I don't care for. There's a really nice indoor pool/whirlpool that has big windows looking out at the City Hall building as well as a decent sized gym. The elevators are a little slow.

The real problem for me was with the bed. I had just stayed in another Marriott property in Baltimore a week earlier that had an old beat up mattress so I was sort of upset to find out that this Marriott also had the same issue. Either it's a Marriott thing or I'm just having real bad luck with mattresses. the mattress was just totally shot and without any matress topper to speak of. I stayed at a Marquis last Spring and the bed was good but the pillows were bad. Perhaps Marriott's slipping a bit but beds are a pretty important component of the hotel business. It's puzzling that such a big name would offer beds that are suited for a cheap motel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Address: 21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nice property located near the city's Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Courtyard
Philadelphia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.