We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean rooms at a budget price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Tyee

The Tyee
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coupeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tyee
Save
You added The Tyee to your Saves list
405 S Main Street, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Alaska
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good clean rooms at a budget price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

My companion and I needed an affordable place to stay during a recent road trip to Whidbey Island. Coupeville has a number of trendy/spendy B&Bs, but each was either booked or too expensive. The Tyee fit the bill for $69, where we found a clean, bright room with basic amenities. Check in at the bar was easy enough. (The restaurant for breakfast is decent. It's mainly a place for locals.). The location is about a mile or so from the waterfront, where most of the other restaurants and accommodations are located. A grocery store is across the street. No complaints and very good value compared to other places nearby, including those in Oak Harbor.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The room was clean and quiet. Not fancy, but comfortable. Rooms are rented through the restaurant and bar, but in a separate building.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

The previous reviewer had it about right - it's not that the place is so bad, it's that it's priced way above its class. I was bicycle-touring and I'm not real picky, but...

Here are a few things you do without at the Tyee: a DEADBOLT (important because the door opens to the parking lot); 3-HOLE SOCKETS (so unable to recharge my netbook - maybe not that important because there is no...WIFI); TELEPHONE (if you can't e-mail, it would be nice to be able to phone home. Or call the desk - oh wait there is no desk - check in at the bar and be careful not to knock over that fella's beer as you shout to be heard); BATHROOM COUNTER (think about it - no place to stash your stuff); BATHTUB (hey, I like a soak after pedaling all day). Not that I would bring my wife to a place like this, but she'd recoil at the scuzzy carpet, lack of amenities, no coffee maker, dingy lighting, etc. As a comparison, the next night I spent fifty bucks (25 dollars less) at the Sundowner in Sequim and got all of the above items.

Anyway, the staff were friendly enough, the restaurant food about average, and I got a good night's sleep. If I had it to do over again, though, I would have overnighted in Oak Harbor or pressed on to Port Townsend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

From the impression I got on the internet, we were expecting an older quaint little hotel. We stayed there in Sept 09. For $80 a night to stay in an old motel, right next to a pub it was a bit of a surprise. The room was not in very good shape, the carpet was in need of being replaced, there was way too much light coming through the windows, and we got to listen to the pub patrons until it closed. The bed was actually quite comfortable and it did get quiet earlier then I feared but overall the place was just too run down. It was close to the town center and not far from the ferry but the only way I would ever stay there again is if it was $40 a night There is no way it should have been $75

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We stayed here because it was close to the ferry terminal and we had reservations on the early morning ferry to Port Townsend. There is really not too much in Coupeville - we drove back to Oak Harbor for dinner. The room is definitely no frills and somewhat dated. It was kind of weird checking in at the associated restaurant. But it was clean, and fairly quiet. However, i wonder if it would be on the weekend when the associated restaurant turns into a bar with karaoke... Our main reason for staying here was proximity to the ferry and it certainly was that. I would not stay here if i were just touring the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

The Tyee is still the best lodging value I know of on the Central and South end of Whidbey (and likely the whole Island, but I don't care to stay in Oak Harbor).. The food is pretty good too. My regular dinner during our visit was the Teriyaki Chicken w/pineapple sandwich.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tyee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tyee

Address: 405 S Main Street, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Tyee Whidbey Island/Coupeville, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tyee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.