We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the locals go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toby's

Toby's
8 NW Front Street, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
(360) 678-4222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 22 Restaurants in Coupeville
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Where the locals go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I'm rating this high because if you visit Coupeville, you need to come here to experience the local watering hole. Very cool decor (vintage without trying to be vintage(old beer decor, animal heads, pictures)) and some pretty good beer. They even have their own brew! I didn't eat here, just drank.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    67
    37
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“To enjoy this place you really need to be...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011 via mobile

sitting at the bar. Its a place of true character and this would describe the servers as well. These were tough women who I wouldn't want to get on the wrong side of but we really found friendly with a great sense of humor. That said the fish (accompanied by requisite chips) were very good...a thin crispy skin...perfect with a local ale The whole experience fun and satisfying.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I was alone, so I sat at the bar (they were super busy and there wasn't a table available anyway), but I was able to chat with the waitresses and a few locals which was fun. They recommended the Muscels from Penn Cove and they were delish!
I had a great time and would definately return!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, CO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We decided to make this our first restaurant stop when we arrived on Whidbey Island, and the service at this restaurant was ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE. Quite honestly, I've never encountered a waitress or any person in the service industry that was worse than the lovely lady that waited on us. Her attitude, her demeanor, and her disdain for people was almost laughable.

Because it was late, and Coupeville doesn't have much to offer as far as other eateries, we stayed and ate. To the cook's credit, the food was pretty good. I'd chalk it up as a waitress having a "bad day", except we heard from other Whidbey locals that this is par for the course.

I'd recommend taking your business elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Its no ritz but good food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011 via mobile

It's a bar, not a restaurant, but it felt like a bit if real Coupeville, not just a fancy place for the Seattle rich or the visitors. Food was good honest tucker, simply served and great tasting. beer good.
To be honest it was much better than the place looked and we had a great evening having a few drinks and watching the local characters.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby's also viewed

Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Toby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toby's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.