We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy & Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Captain Whidbey Inn

Save Saved
You added The Captain Whidbey Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Captain Whidbey Inn
2072 West Captain Whidbey Inn Road, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Coupeville
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Cozy & Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

If you're ready to spend 1,5 hrs drive with ferry from Seattle, Captain Whidbey Inn is a good place to stay. It's relaxing, comfortable atmosphere, and friendly people there. It is old renovated building on the shore of Penn Cove near Couperville. Couple of days would be a good timeframe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    38
    14
    19
    10
See reviews for
16
78
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

…truly beautiful and so much to see and do, have been coming here for years…"Fresh from the cove" Penn Cove Mussels are incredible, exploring is so much fun, air force jets overhead incredible!
The Captain Whidbey Inn is now 106 years old and gets more charming the older it gets!
Friendly staff, incredible views, great food (including continental breakfast), a great experience!

Room Tip: The cabins are ideal, the Lagoon rooms great, the inn rooms are an "experience" complete w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupeville, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Decided to stop in to check out Captain Whidbey Inn for some happy hour specials. None to be had however we did have some drinks and appetizers and received excellent service. The food was only mediocre but we enjoyed the view and plan to go back for a nice dinner.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Food: I think they have a new chef. I overheard several people complimenting their dishes. As someone who eats out a lot in Seattle, I enjoyed my dinner & wine in the tavern. A tad pricey but super convenient if staying on the grounds or worth checking out the menu if you are swinging through to see the old inn.

Accommodations: The Captain Whidbey inn was cozy, bed was comfy and the staff was very nice. The main lodge was nice to sit and relax by the fireplace. Plenty of spaces to sit outside and enjoy the view and grounds when it's nice out. I loved it. It is a very old, rustic inn so the floors creek in the main lodge but what do you expect from a place listed as a historical site, which you can actually stay at.!

We need to support great, unique places like this that are being replaced by boring chain hotels that lack personality. This inn has several type of accommodations such as private cabins and another building overlooking a lagoon and very pretty, rustic grounds. It's worth it for the experience.

If you are still reading my review, you should book yourself a night or two there. Bring a book & enjoy the surroundings because TV's didn't exist when the rooms were built. Another thing that didn't exist in the main inn when it was built...each room having a bathroom. This is not uncomfortable nor a big deal! The main inn is european style where you share a men's and women's bathroom. It made no difference than having my own. It had two enclosed stalls and a private shower area/dressing room. It was always super clean and never occupied when I needed to shower. I will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I would recommend this place to anyone. It was even more beautiful and magical than in the photos. The facilities were very clean and the accommodations cozy. It was like taking a step back in time. Perfect for a quaint romantic getaway. The grounds were also well-kept and beautiful, right in a wooded area in a bay area. The staff were friendly and the continental breakfast was well-stocked. Don't come expecting modern facilities with double paned windows and sound proof walls, but extremely well maintained old fashioned charm and authenticity. It seems some reviewers were just looking for the wrong thing! I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this establishment and would love to come back!

Room Tip: Ocean view would have been nice, but all room seemed charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Rented a cabin for 3 nights. We don't mind rustic but . . .patio furniture dirty and strewn about the deck, we were going to eat in the tavern but it was so full of fruit flies we moved to the dining room. Housekeeping "Forgot" to service our room the first night. Had to make several requests to restock firewood, and the ice breaker Cisco Systems corporate event brought us several drunks laughing it up on the dock at 1:00 in the morning. They just don't seem to get the customer service thing. Certainly not for $200+ a night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainWhidbeyInn, Public Relations Manager at The Captain Whidbey Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
I am so sorry about your experience at the Inn. We have been short staffed and are in the process of training a new dynamic crew. We recognize the issues you mentioned and are currently addressing them. I hope you will give us a chance to make it up at a future visit. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Inn is situated in a beautiful location on Whidbey Island. The views to the ocean and beyond are gorgeous. We understood that this is an old establishment, and we adjusted our expectations before we arrived. We didn't mind "rustic". Our reservation experience was not good. We were left on hold until I actually shouted into the phone and then we were sent a confirmation e-mail that was not accurate and had to be corrected. We had an ocean front room with a shared bathroom which was fine, but there were no hand towels left to use after you washed up. You had to take a shower towel, or go back to your room with wet hands. On our first night we were on the outside dining deck for dinner. The weather was perfect. The server then came and told the people beside us all the things that weren't available from the menu. The dishes that I would have chosen were on that list. We ended up just having appetizers rather than having one of the limited selections that were left of main courses. At six thirty in the morning we were awakened by a conversation between two people who were either down stairs or in another room. I'm not sure how you correct this problem, but I really was looking forward to being able to sleep in. That night we ate in the dining room. The dressing on my wife's salad was so strong that she couldn't eat it. Her seafood fettucini was okay, but not what you would expect from a good restaurant. There was no attempt to offer a different salad or to offer some form of compensation. On the plus side, my meal was excellent. The lamb was perfect and it is the first time I have ever enjoyed brussel sprouts. The complimentary breakfast was not good. There was only one cereal choice available the first morning and there was only one yogurt left when we arrived which meant the people who followed us did not have that as an option. The green melon was hard and when I cut an apple in half I found it was rotten inside. The person who was looking after the breakfast room was also doing the check out and reservations at the front desk which was two full rooms away. I think she was trying hard, but she needed some support. We had so looked forward to this two night stay, but it certainly wasn't worth the money we paid. As beautiful as the location is, we will not return. With additional staff and better management this could be an ideal place to escape for a few days. I hope the owners do something to make this a better place to spend a holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge. The cabins might have been a better choice, but we wanted the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Captain Whidbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain Whidbey Inn

Also Known As:
The Captain Whidbey Hotel Coupeville
The Captain Whidbey Hotel
Captain Whidbey Inn
The Captain Whidbey Inn Whidbey Island/Coupeville, WA
Address: 2072 West Captain Whidbey Inn Road, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Coupeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Whidbey Inn is an enchanting log inn that was hand-built in 1907. Located on the shores of Penn Cove inside the Ebey’s Landing National Historical Reserve, the inn is superbly located for outdoor enthusiasts and those seeking the charm of a historic Northwest town by the sea. Activities popular with guests include hiking, kayaking, cycling, antiquing, horseback riding, fishing, wine-tasting, and beachcombing. With both rustic and modern accommodations, the Captain Whidbey Inn offers three types of lodging: quaint log-walled rooms in the inn itself, romantic private waterfront cabins, and the more modern Lagoon rooms. Overnight stay includes water views from all areas on the property, access to our restaurant, free continental breakfast, free parking and free WiFi access as well as hot tubs and fireplaces in certain units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Captain Whidbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Captain Whidbey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.