We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful quiet getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Captain Whidbey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Captain Whidbey Inn to your Saves list
The Captain Whidbey Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2072 West Captain Whidbey Inn Road, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful quiet getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Captain Whidbey Inn for our wedding Anniversary. We absolutely loved the food at the restaurant (we had oysters, bread, and wine)! We stayed in one of the Lagoon Rooms. The room was cozy, and we loved that there was no TV, a large picture window, and the quaintness of the furniture. There are playing cards and interesting old books on the shelves. Children under 12 are not allowed, so the atmosphere is very quiet and private. It's a great place for a romantic getaway.
There is a sweet little garden outside, a nice little walk down to a small pier, and a beautiful backyard area with a lagoon and view of the water. We found everything absolutely charming!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    50
    28
    27
    14
See reviews for
23
102
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Travel back in time is the selling feature. Gorgeous location with history on walls and obvious with main building from 1907; when I first visited in the 70's this property was creme de la creme.. Now, it is overpriced by at least 30-40% for quality of linens, food, rooms etc. Room noisy if on lower level by lagoon; no insulation above and floors creak. Rooms in main building hobbit sized. Breakfast a huge disappointment; basically motel style with hard boiled eggs, store bought pastries and luke warm, watery coffee.
Given there is new ownership, complete refurbishing is needed with linens, bathroom shower curtains and (rusty) rods & definitely the breakfast food. No desire to stay around for any other meal or additional night, sadly as the place has fabulous potential.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I really don't want to give a bad review of the Captain Whidbey because the grounds are beautiful, the staff were great, and the dinner was impeccable. But we had a Lagoon room off of the inn and it was the quality of a roadside motel that hadn't been updated since the 70's. It smelled awful, the carpet was scary and there were ants in the bathroom. Definitely not Sun Mountain Lodge. For the price it was very, very disappointing. I would definitely recommend making the drive out there for dinner though. Also, the man hovering over the nice woman at the front desk was making everyone uncomfortable. I know he was trying, but let her do her job.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, Surrey, BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was my second visit, and I loved it. So quaint, quiet, funky, restful, charming and unique.
The gardens are beautiful, as are the views, its like going back into time, to a simpler time, a cosy cabin in the woods, so peaceful and rejuvenating. One night here is like a week away. Also a hike at Ebey's Landing is a must. So lovely to sit out on the deck. The dining room is a must too.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the water upstairs in the Inn, so quaint, I didn't want to leave. Plus you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Loved the cabin with wood burning fireplace and the hottub. Beautiful views in the morning will definately go again. Dinner was a bit of a disappointment steak was tough should have sent back to the chef. Scallops and the rest of the dinner was great along with great service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My daughter and I had a wonderful overnight stay and will certainly return. We stayed in one of the Lagoon Rooms and truly enjoyed the beautiful view and peaceful setting. The staff was amazing and friendly. We were curious about the rooms upstairs in the Inn and the friendly check in gentleman let us go up and see the charmingly decorated rooms with beautiful views of the water. We will absolutely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Though it's not for everyone, we've always loved staying at the Captain Whidbey. It's got more character than any other "hotel" I've stayed in anywhere in the Pacific Northwest. The rooms are small, and definitely not modern, but they have a charm like no other. It's almost like staying on a boat without the rocking motion (or potential to fall off the dock). The gardens/grounds/beach are beautiful, rain or shine. The restaraunt is very intimate, the food excellent, and the service friendly. Excellent romantic get-a-way for couples...the main building is not great for people who have trouble with stairs, but the lagoon rooms are an accessible option.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but it's worth shelling out a little more for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Captain Whidbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain Whidbey Inn

Address: 2072 West Captain Whidbey Inn Road, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Captain Whidbey Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Whidbey Inn is an enchanting log inn that was hand-built in 1907. Located on the shores of Penn Cove inside the Ebey’s Landing National Historical Reserve, the inn is superbly located for outdoor enthusiasts and those seeking the charm of a historic Northwest town by the sea. Activities popular with guests include hiking, kayaking, cycling, antiquing, horseback riding, fishing, wine-tasting, and beachcombing. With both rustic and modern accommodations, the Captain Whidbey Inn offers three types of lodging: quaint log-walled rooms in the inn itself, romantic private waterfront cabins, and the more modern Lagoon rooms. Overnight stay includes water views from all areas on the property, access to our restaurant, free continental breakfast, free parking and free WiFi access as well as hot tubs and fireplaces in certain units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your The Captain Whidbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain Whidbey Hotel Coupeville
Captain Whidbey Inn
The Captain Whidbey Inn Whidbey Island/Coupeville, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Captain Whidbey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.