We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restorative place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast
807 North Main Street, POBox 673, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 13 Coupeville B&B and Inns
Pacific Northwest
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great restorative place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I needed a quiet place for a night after some recent turmoil in our lives. The Anchorage Inn provided the respite we needed. Very quiet, beautifully appointed room. (#3 The Fairhaven) Nice view of the bay, loved the sitting area and the comfy wing back chairs. The breakfast was delicious and even though the weather was cool we were able to enjoy the wrap around porch and watch the weather go by. The service was wonderful, especially after I left my diamond earring on the night table, not to discover that it was missing until I got home. Staff assured me they found it and agreed to mail it to me. It arrived safe and sound, thank you so much for your hospitality and honesty.

Room Tip: Fairhaven has two wing back chairs and a nice lamp for reading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
It was our pleasure to offer you the peace and quiet you were looking for. A nice breakfast, comfortable chairs, a view and the company of a loved one is a doctor's remedy. D&D's B&B for R&R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    34
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
276
43
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

It is easy to see why this bed and breakfast gets such great reviews...fabulous location in historic Coupeville, terrific views of the harbour/Mount Baker, gourmet breakfast...but most of all helpful and personable inn keepers (and their staff) who keep the place immaculate. We felt like we were at home...everything we could want or need was right there, from help you self beverages, cookies...and even microwave popcorn to sit and munch on while watching a favorite video in your room. The location is but a pleasant stroll to the harbour shops, great restaurants and beach access.
We stayed in the Cabot room which was probably the smallest room but more than adequate and the views of the harbour/Mount Baker were so lovely...and watching the sun come up from the east in the morning was stunning. The property was so quiet you would not think that anyone else was around for miles. It is in some ways a step back in time with all the conveniences one could ask for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Coupeville is a home away from home. We're so glad you found your nook and made yourself comfortable. Our staff loves innkeeping and have been with us for years. Whether we're here or not our B&B was a great place to have celebrated your birthday. D&D's B&B for R&R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have seen this B&B already on the web but the pictures haven´t been this impressive to me. So we drove without any reservation to Coupeville. Then we saw the Anchorage Inn live and we stopped immediately to ask for a room. David showed us what has been available and so we stayed even 2 nights as we have liked the Inn and the village. And the great breakfast. And being at one table for breakfast with people from Austriala (hi Ann!), US and other countries. And appreciating that David could set the German flag for us. And ........

Room Tip: room in the first floor viewing the bay and Mount Baker (I don´t remember the room number but the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We're so glad you came to Coupeville for your own viewing. This little historic town overlooking Penn Cove speaks for itself. With Fall knocking on the door, the pace has slowed and we actually had rooms available for our international travelers.

I have seen this B&B already on the web but the pictures haven´t been this impressive to me. So we drove without any reservation to Coupeville. Then we saw the Anchorage Inn live and we stopped immediately to ask for a room. David showed us what has been available and so we stayed even 2 nights as we have liked...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed for three nights and had the most relaxing vacation in years. The room, service, breakfast and location was great. Walk to everything in Coupeville, stroll the shoreline, great restaurants or relax on the front porch and in the room.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Discovery room which seemed to have to most room and an outstanding view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
It's not easy to relax in a new place. We're so pleased to hear that Coupeville and the B&B were able to allow you the rest you were seeking.


We stayed for three nights and had the most relaxing vacation in years. The room, service, breakfast and location was great. Walk to everything in Coupeville, stroll the shoreline, great restaurants or relax on the front porch and in the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Anchorage Inn B&B was a great oasis in the middle of a long trip. We stayed in the bedroom on the first floor. Not only was the room comfortable and just right, we also appreciated not carrying luggage upstairs! The view from the verandah encouraged us to relax and slow down. Breakfast was full of specialty dishes and really enjoyed meeting our hosts. Definitely a place I will book again when in the area.

Room Tip: First floor room was off to one side. Loved the ease of coming and going with a plus of not carryin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
An "oasis", what kind words! We're so pleased that you took advantage of the veranda to unwind and enjoy Penn Cove. Should you return and select a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor, we always assist in carrying luggage. D&D's B&B for R&R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here in late August and loved the place!!! We had the Fairhaven room, which had an awesome view of Penn Cove and Mount Baker whenever it wasn't covered by clouds. The bedroom was tastfully decorated and the bed was really comfy! The breakfasts were delicous. Diane even made a special breakfast for one of the guests and an early one for another guest who had an appointment during breakfast hours. That's hospitality!!! There was a book with the local restaurants and their menus. If you asked, Dave would tell you their favorite ones. If we are ever back in the area, we will stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Room #3, the Fairhaven room, has a great view of Penn Cove and Mount Baker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
As your innkeepers its a pleasure to meet your every need, whether dietary, a demanding schedule or just questions for a visitors center. We enjoy making your visit to Coupeville fun. Our thanks to everyone that gives us a "heads up" to their specific needs.

We stayed here in late August and loved the place!!! We had the Fairhaven room, which had an awesome view of Penn Cove and Mount Baker whenever it wasn't covered by clouds. The bedroom was tastfully decorated and the bed was really comfy! The breakfasts were delicous. Diane even made a special breakfast for one of the guests and an early one for another guest who had an appointment during breakfast hours. That's hospitality!!! There was a book with the local restaurants and their menus. If you asked, Dave would tell you their favorite ones. If we are ever back in the area, we will stay here again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I generally are not big on B&B's but this one is worth a return trip some day. Perhaps because we stayed in the Crow's Nest we enjoyed it more then most. The room was really large and had great views. (Just realize you have 2 flights of stairs to haul your luggage up!). The hosts were great and each breakfast was gourmet, although after 3 breakfasts we longed for some simple bacon and eggs. We slept great and appreciated the room's mini-fridge and the use of glassware for wine and what not. Only minor gripe was there was no ice available in the room and we had to go down to the first floor kitchen to obtain some. No biggie.

No AC but with the fan provided, we were plenty cool by opening the windows. The town is so quite you won't even know the windows are open.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
When guests announce they are visiting their First B&B, that someone in their party is very uncomfortable in that type of setting or that they "are not big on B&B's", It's always a pleasure to hear upon their departure that they'll be returning, had a great time or have changed their opinions. Coupeville is a perfect setting. Thank you for your suggestion - We're going to enlarge the refrig in the Crows Nest so it will be able to hold ice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 807 North Main Street, POBox 673, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Coupeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast is a Victorian Inn, located on beautiful Whidbey Island, in Puget Sound, Washington. Our award winning B&B can be found in the historic town of Coupeville, overlooking picturesque Penn Cove. Coupeville was home to many of the Northwest's sea captains during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Many historic homes still grace the streets of this Central Whidbey town. The majority of the seven lavishly appointed rooms provide splendid views of Penn Cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Inn Bed And Breakfast Whidbey Island/Coupeville, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.