We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast
807 North Main Street, POBox 673, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 13 Coupeville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Really nice B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I generally are not big on B&B's but this one is worth a return trip some day. Perhaps because we stayed in the Crow's Nest we enjoyed it more then most. The room was really large and had great views. (Just realize you have 2 flights of stairs to haul your luggage up!). The hosts were great and each breakfast was gourmet, although after 3 breakfasts we longed for some simple bacon and eggs. We slept great and appreciated the room's mini-fridge and the use of glassware for wine and what not. Only minor gripe was there was no ice available in the room and we had to go down to the first floor kitchen to obtain some. No biggie.

No AC but with the fan provided, we were plenty cool by opening the windows. The town is so quite you won't even know the windows are open.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
When guests announce they are visiting their First B&B, that someone in their party is very uncomfortable in that type of setting or that they "are not big on B&B's", It's always a pleasure to hear upon their departure that they'll be returning, had a great time or have changed their opinions. Coupeville is a perfect setting. Thank you for your suggestion - We're going to enlarge the refrig in the Crows Nest so it will be able to hold ice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    35
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
284
43
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked four rooms and stayed here three nights while in Coupeville for my daughter’s wedding. All the rooms were well furnished, very clean and very quiet. Self serve coffee was out downstairs by 7:00 every morning, breakfasts were great and the inn keepers hospitable but not intrusive. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We truly enjoyed being of service to you and your family for your daughters wedding. Weddings are so important and the more we could do to make your stay comfortable and less stressful, the better we all sleep at night. Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The stay was disappointing, especially because of the service.

Service: Dave & Dianne were courteous, considerate, & answered email enquiries promptly. We could approach them with questions. But service was lukewarm upon arrival & departure. Dave was the friendlier one. I'd emailed Dave & Dianne stating this trip was a birthday gift for me. They didn't acknowledge my birthday. Dave said in person, & they stated via email, that innkeeping can be tiring/rough. They emailed me later, politely asking if we could review the inn. I emailed them my feedback & I said I'd provide a fair review online.

Sleep quality: We slept in the Chalcedony room. The room was cosy, we liked the decor. The house looks beautiful inside & outside. We didn't hear any traffic noise at night. The bed & pillows were comfortable. But we heard snoring from upstairs & could feel vibrations from the snoring. We were awakened at 6+am by the guests upstairs who got up early.

Food: Though we awoke early, there were no "fresh baked goodies" for early risers (though stated on their website). We were hungry after breakfast, as the portions, though tasty, weren't big & "sumptuous". There weren't any "fresh seasonal fruit" & "a variety of breads" (though stated on their website). It'd have been nice to have some seasonal fruit and a variety of breads, instead of sweet cakes (served that day). I like how guests can help themselves to beverages (water, tea, coffee) at any time of the day in the dining area.

Safety: The main door lock, during our stay, wasn't working & was kept unlocked throughout the stay. The Chalcedony room door had its own lock, though.

Cleanliness: The bedsheets, bathtub, & toilet bowl looked clean. Shoes can be worn indoors. There were a few strands of hair in a container of cotton balls in the washroom & dark green grime/slime at the bathroom sink/tap area.

Location: Very convenient - just a few minutes' walk to the water, nearby restaurants & shops in Coupeville.

Thoughtfulness: There's a binder of lunch &/or dinner menus from several Whidbey Island restaurants. There's a binder of instructions & tips in the bedroom. My husband had a headache & it was considerate of Dianne to offer Advil, & to help me open the bedroom door when she saw me carrying mugs into the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Staying at the Anchorage Inn was a wonderful experience. The Inn is well maintained, clean and serves the most fabulous breakfasts. We stayed 4 nights, had 4 different breakfasts and all were really good. Owners are well versed in how to be the perfect host and hostess. We were close to all the fun of Coupeville - walked to everything there. We even learned how to fold napkins in different designs - a new design was presented at breakfast every morning. What a fun way to start the day. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view, are roomy, have private baths - hard to pick just one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
It was a pleasure to serve to a hot breakfast and present a new napkin fold every morning. On your next visit we'll have you practice napkin folding and award you a diploma in 'Napagomy'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Due to a tight schedule, we only stayed one night but absolutely loved this B&B. The water view from the Cabot Room is stunning. The location is great with several excellant restaurants just a short walk away. Like other reviewers, we found the breakfast very tasty! Next time we visit Whidbey Island we plan to return to this B&B and stay several nights!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
It was a pleasure serving you breakfast and making your short stay comfortable and memorable. Our web site has a listing of events in our area all year round to help you better plan your next visit. D&D's B&B for R&R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was built to be a B&B so each bedrooms has highly insulated walls and it's own bath! Great food for breakfast and treats/drinks throughout the day. Water views and only a few short steps to all the fun shops and restaurants and waterfront!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at the Anchorage Inn August 28,29,30,2012.....as a respite from Seattle while visiting our married daughter and husband.
The New Yorker in me couldn't help but be skeptical with ALL the raves........but guess what? It didn't take long for us to realize that the RAVES ARE DESERVED! The Inn is charming,our room delightful,breakfast delicious and bountiful and Coupeville a joy!!!!! We stayed in the Onward...on our next trip i would upgrade to the Cabot or Discovery. In fact......before leaving we got my daughter a gift certificate for 2 nights in the Cabot.
We drove the Island from north to south,mostly stopping at state parks and city parks.
Don't even look at other accommodations.......just book here.

PS: Nothing is forgotten from the rubber ducky to the flashlight to Vaseline Intensive Care to great shampoo and wonderful soaps. Wi-fi is strong in your room.

Room Tip: If you really want to splurge,Crow's Nest @$155 is much more beautiful than the photos suggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 807 North Main Street, POBox 673, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Coupeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast is a Victorian Inn, located on beautiful Whidbey Island, in Puget Sound, Washington. Our award winning B&B can be found in the historic town of Coupeville, overlooking picturesque Penn Cove. Coupeville was home to many of the Northwest's sea captains during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Many historic homes still grace the streets of this Central Whidbey town. The majority of the seven lavishly appointed rooms provide splendid views of Penn Cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Inn Bed And Breakfast Whidbey Island/Coupeville, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.