We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Fresh Mussels Caught Outside the Restaurant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oystercatcher

Oystercatcher
901 Grace Street, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
+1 360-678-0683
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Coupeville
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: -Our dining room offers views of Penn Cove -We have outside dining available on our deck overlooking the water -Our menu changes seasonally and often to offer the freshest, local ingredients -We have a limited bar, as well as an excellent wine and beer list -Our open kitchen provides a one of a kind experience for diners
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Super Fresh Mussels Caught Outside the Restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

The mussels are raised and harvested literally within a half mile of the restaurant! The best-tasting and freshest mussels I've ever had and prepared exquisitely well - absolutely outstanding! Really friendly wait staff too.

During the meal the waiters brought a few free surprise tastes of other food items including an apple cider sorbet, a duck broth and a couple chocolate confections.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    10
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“New to us, and exciting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Over Thanksgiving weekend, we took visiting friends to Whidbey Island to enjoy the sun. We found Oystercatcher one block back from the waterside main street. However, the view over Penn Cove was awesome, the menu was most original and interesting, if not inspired, and the service excellent. I can recommend the Cassoulet highly - wonderful flavor. The hamburgers and shellfish were much enjoyed by my partner and visitors. Definitely on our list for next time.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best on Whidbey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We've dined at the Oystercatcher four times this year and each time everything was superb. The service, their cocktails, the food, the wine; everything has been perfect. It ranks among the best meals we have ever had anywhere in the world. Congrats to the owners and staff on this success in their first year in Coupeville. We are lucky to have them here. We look forward to many more enjoyable, top-notch dining experiences next year. The menu changes frequently enough and has something for everyone. Martha offers an excellent knowledge of wine. This place is a gem! (With thanks from Karen Ramey & Don Farber)

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We will definitely be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

We had a wonderful meal!! It was a lovely afternoon and the staff was helpful and friendly. The food was great!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

Last night my wife & I returned to the Oystercatcher and had a wonderful evening in this small & cozy place which is becoming one of our favorites!

Our dinner of fall squash soup, Willowood pork and braised rabbit ragout were wonderful choices and made for a very enjoyable dinner.

The new owners of the Oystercatcher, Tyler & Sara have added several special touches that make for a wonderful evening.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oystercatcher also viewed

Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Oystercatcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oystercatcher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.