We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on Whidbey -- No Question!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oystercatcher

Oystercatcher
901 Grace Street, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
+1 360-678-0683
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Coupeville
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: -Our dining room offers views of Penn Cove -We have outside dining available on our deck overlooking the water -Our menu changes seasonally and often to offer the freshest, local ingredients -We have a limited bar, as well as an excellent wine and beer list -Our open kitchen provides a one of a kind experience for diners
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best on Whidbey -- No Question!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 NEW

I eat at a lot of very nice restaurants due to business travel, and the (new) Oystercatcher is as good -- or better -- than the best of them. We've eaten there twice and it's been knock-your-socks-off fantastic both times. Food and drink are superb, and prices are very reasonable when you consider the top-shelf quality. Service is also outstanding as everyone works together to make sure you are taken perfect care of. The food is creative -- flavor combinations that you've never had before without being too "out there" to scare away everyday tastes. We have some good restaurants on Whidbey, but nothing comes close to this place. Eat and enjoy . . .

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    8
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianola, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Yum! a fancy bistro for fine dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 NEW

I had mussels and a grilled radiccio salad - nice view, great service. A bit more pricey than some other local spots, and more petite portions, but certainly popular and nice view.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best restaurant on Whidbey Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

I am a dedicated foodie and have lived on Whidbey Island for many years. The Oystercatcher under chef Tyler Hansen is the best restaurant on Whidbey Island, period. Great service, a creative menu, and wonderful well-prepared food.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Scrumptious small plates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

My wife and I had dinner here. The food is creative, beautifully presented, and delicious. However the dishes are small (price is not). This is probably a healthy choice for the diner and minimizes wasted food - still a bit larger servings would have been appreciated.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Spent our anniversary with the fine staff and dining experience at the Oystercatcher this past weekend.
The food was over the top, atmosphere with our outdoor deck table, view of the beautiful Penn Cove and the wonderful staff made for a delicious and memorable experience in every way.
Their farm-to-table mantra is very much appreciated and the local fresh ingredients are a perfect way to celebrate this lovely location and local producers.
We will be back and highly recommend the Oystercatcher!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oystercatcher also viewed

Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Oystercatcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oystercatcher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.