We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oystercatcher

Oystercatcher
901 Grace Street, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
+1 360-678-0683
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Coupeville
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: -Our dining room offers views of Penn Cove -We have outside dining available on our deck overlooking the water -Our menu changes seasonally and often to offer the freshest, local ingredients -We have a limited bar, as well as an excellent wine and beer list -Our open kitchen provides a one of a kind experience for diners
seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 NEW

Spent our anniversary with the fine staff and dining experience at the Oystercatcher this past weekend.
The food was over the top, atmosphere with our outdoor deck table, view of the beautiful Penn Cove and the wonderful staff made for a delicious and memorable experience in every way.
Their farm-to-table mantra is very much appreciated and the local fresh ingredients are a perfect way to celebrate this lovely location and local producers.
We will be back and highly recommend the Oystercatcher!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    7
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best food I had in years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 NEW

Our family of 4 came to Whidbey Island just for the day, enjoying a beautiful Sunday in the sun. We found the Oystercatcher out of pure luck, and had the best lunch ever ! What a surprise, didn't expect this amazing food tasting!!! I grew up in France, I'm a baker myself, and trust me, I know good food when I eat it. And by good food I mean tasty, full of delicate flavors, tender, cooked to perfection food. This is "cuisine gastronomique", quality over quantity, very rare around here. You have to take your time to enjoy the food.
We started with ordering just a few things, and somehow, we kept on adding to the order so we could taste "almost" everything. The rillette were amazing (I wish they would sell jars!), the mussels and its stock were so good, so tender, the halibut chowder so tasty with that amazing and unexpected cilantro flavor, the stuffed calamari so tender and original, the bread is to die for, the lamb burger had the best lamb flavor ever, and then all three desserts were pure decadence. The chocolate cake is served with a caramel ice cream, it just melts in your mouth, the pana cotta is so light and delicious, the blackberry sorbet served with the beignet is just awesome. Each dish is a new sensation to your palate!
The finish touch, very good coffee, and a chocolate truffle with the bill. The waitress was super nice and fun, and seeing the chef working right there brings trust and a relaxed atmosphere.
We'll be back for dinner!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A sunny day lunch cafe.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Because local ingredients are used here this was the main determining factor to have lunch here with friends on a sunny day. This is a sweet little place with some work to do. The service while friendly and knowledgeable was very slow. Although somewhat busy but not full we had trouble getting our server's attention. The three of us ordered the same thing, the pan fried oysters with a small salad. The oysters were served in a thick dry breading with a chalky flour taste. They ingredient was crushed Lavosh crackers with nuts and seeds which strongly competed with the delicate flavor of in season oysters. The salad petite and really just a nibble of greens. Even though this simple lunch took nearly 2 hours to serve and pay for there was a nice touch of salted caramels with the check.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA state
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent From Start to Finish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We enjoyed an amazing dinner last night at Oystercatcher. Everything we ate was locally sourced or made in the kitchen from the fresh focaccia to the salted caramel ice cream. The food matched or bested far more expensive meals we have had at top-rated restaurants in Seattle. The service was friendly and knowledgeable and because we had an early reservation our table had a water view (overlooking downtown). Highly recommended. A delightful get away trip too. We look forward to our next dinner at this find.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great locally sourced fresh dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We dined here on our first night ( Sunday ) in Coupville because they're closed on Monday and Tuesday. My wife had the rabbit and I ordered the Halibut but they ran out of that so I ended up with marbled salmon prepared the same way as the halibut. Both entrees were delicious. Can't recall what we had for dessert but that was excellent as well. If you like fresh local ingredients prepared creatively and don't mind spending some dough then you should eat here.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oystercatcher also viewed

Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Oystercatcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oystercatcher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.