We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast
702 N Main St, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Coupeville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
federal way
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2007

My husband and I went to Whidbey Island for quiet week-end away from home. Our stay at the Inn was great we stayed one night and had it to ourselves. Our room was full of beautiful anitques and our king size bed was wonderful. Sue was a friendly hostess and was able to help us with tourist information. The island is small enough you can stop in almost all the towns and shop and look around. We also stopped at the Whidbey Island Winery and did a little wine tasting and bought a bottle of wine. When we told Sue she offered us wine glasses for our room. We would go back and stay again and maybe have another couple join us since there are only 2 rooms to stay in it would be like having a whole house to ourselves. The down stairs has a very nice restaurant with a gourmet menu and a nice wine list, we will have dinner there next time.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank webfeetmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sun Valley, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2007

The Blue Goose bed and breakfast in Coupeville, WA, on Whidbey Island, is a true delight. It's a historic register old Victorian house that has been completey redone and brought up to date with no detail spared. Beautiful antique furnishings, wonderful big bathrooms, huge comfortable beds, and gorgeous linens.

The owner/hostess, Sue Cunningham, couldn't be nicer or more friendly. She is determined to make your stay a true delight, whether just for one night or more. With only two bedrooms (as big as suites) it is never crowded, so you can really enjoy your visit. And that's what it's like - a delightful visit with an old friend!!

The restaurant is under fairly new management, and the new chef is terrific. Wonderful food, beautifully presented - with a real flair for using local produce and main courses.
All in all, if you're going to be in that neighborhood - the lower SanJuan Islands - don't miss this magnificent B&B. You won't be sorry - it's a real pleasure! And, as a bonus, Coupeville is a really interesintg and fun town to explore!

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank cartann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winlock, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

After spending several nights at the Blue Goose inn in Coupeville, Washington I found the entire experience to be wonderful! From the old fashioned claw foot tub to the marvelous bed, which is THE most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, to the delicious breakfasts in the morning. The bran muffins were yummy!

The hostess, Sue, is very pleasant and makes you feel right at home. Plus if you have a special need there is no hesitation in providing it for you.

The restaurant is truly a decadent experience. The chef puts out a fantastic dinner. We liked the variety of fresh seafood! The Blue Goose Inn is just a few blocks from the waterfront with all sorts of wonderful shops and restaurants. Watch out husbands!! When I go back to Whidbey Island I certainly won't hesitate to visit the Blue Goose Inn.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank WAPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

We loved our stay at the Blue Goose. It's a charming Victorian with the nicest beds I've ever slept in. Spotlessly clean. Yummy breakfast, and I liked the food in the restaurant as well. Coupeville is cute with lots of shops, but we really liked riding our bikes as the roads were all very quiet and rolling.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

It's spring and all you hikers should head for Whidbey Island and enjoy the beach at Fort Casey and the wonderful views from the bluffs at Ebey's Landing. Plan to enjoy an overnight in a restored historic old home in Coupeville. The Blue Goose Inn is a treasure and breakfast is special. We loved the antiques, the garden and Sue, the enthusiastic owner. Try it.

  • Liked — great location
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pshiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

Beautiful rooms, gracious host, great breakfast, beautiful views, quick walk to town....couldnt ask for better....easily one of the best places to stay on Whidbey

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalJoe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2006

My husband and I stayed at The Inn at Penn Cove for 2 days in the spring of 2006. The Inn consists of 2 separate Victorian era buildings, each containing several guest rooms as well as public sitting areas. I agree with the other reviewer who wrote that the rooms have a tired feel. The beds are pretty saggy and rooms a bit musty. Also, the bathroom was not as clean as it should have been.

Coupeville is absolutely beautiful and a great place to stay while exploring Whidbey Island (which is also stunning). The proprietors were friendly and knowledgeable about the town and island. But I also agree with the other reviewer's comments about the skimpy breakfasts. While the food was tasty, there wasn't much of it, and both my husband and I were ravenous just a couple hours later.

The Inn is reasonably priced compared to other options in the area, but the accomodations do leave something to be desired. I'd definitely try another B&B before I returned to The Inn at Penn Cove.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AK_business_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupeville
1.9 mi away
The Captain Whidbey Inn
The Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center
6.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Garden Isle Guest Cottages
Garden Isle Guest Cottages
#3 of 14 in Coupeville
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 702 N Main St, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Coupeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the picturesque seaside village of Coupeville on beautiful Whidbey Island, The Blue Goose Inn offers award winning B&B lodging from two lovingly restored historic Victorian homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Goose Inn Bed And Breakfast Whidbey Island/Coupeville, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing