We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent B & B with fabulous breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coupeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
702 N Main St, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Coupeville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“excellent B & B with fabulous breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We enjoyed one delightful night @ the Blue Goose during a June weekend on Whidby Island, WA. Dave and Becky are great hosts---and excellent cooks. The breakfast is a banquet; the accommodations, cozy and centrally located for exploring the pretty harbor town of Coupeville
I especially liked the tuned piano in the parlor-- sheet music included-- waiting for someone to play it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    32
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
182
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I arrived one half hour ahead of the posted check-in time and we rang the doorbell anyway to let our host know that we had arrived and would be checking in later. We were warmly greeted by Dave and Becky. Our room, the Penn Cove suite was ready for us. Becky pressed the keys to our room in our hands, asked us if we would prefer the 8.00am or 9.00am breakfast seating and if we had any food allergies. Dave showed us around the house, pointing out the cookies and coffee available at the front desk, the room where breakfast would be served and the guest lounge. He showed us to our room, expained the history of the plumbing and other things that would make our stay comfortable. He showed us the fridge on the landing which he and Becky had thoughtfully stocked with cans of soda and bottles of water.

The room was spacious and bright with a little nook in a bay window to sit and relax in. The bed was very comfortable and the bed linens were immaculate. A plate of cookies sat on the dresser, carefully wrapped in cellophane to welcome us.

Breakfast was excellent - fresh fruit salad, cornbread and eggs with asparagus and hash browns. At well-spaced intervals, either Dave or Becky would appear cheerfully offering refills of juice or coffee.They were such great hosts and really made us feel welcome.

A note of caution however - as much as the claw-foot bath tub may look cute and authentically Victorian, it is very hard to climb in and out of. My husband and I helped each other in and out of the tub since it can be very slippery and we each stood by with towels because there is an additional challenge in not getting the floor wet because moisture could damage the soft-wood flooring. Also, the floorboards throughout the building creak a lot, and my husband and I were very self-conscious about making any noise that would disturb the other guests so we tip-toed around and whispered to each other after 9.30 pm which was a little uncomfotable.
We would definitely stay here again, except that next time we would book a room with more up-to-date plumbing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I have spent many a night I B&B's. The Blue Goose ranks right up at the top of the list. The B&B has just been recently purchased by the current inn-keepers. They worked hard to insure that our stay was enjoyable, even though they were taking their son to college the day after we checked in. Our room was spacious and clean. The house is well appointed and has modern touches such as Wi-Fi and free access to Netflix. There was warm chocolate chip cookies when we arrived and the breakfast the following morning was both ample and good. I would highly recommend that you choose this B&B over others I Coupeville, which we have previously stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
271 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Blue Goose Inn was the perfect place to stay on our travels from Olympic NP to Mt Baker. Our hosts Becky and Dave were helpful and friendly.

I booked the Mt Baker Suite and is just like the photos on the web site. It's a roomy, comfortable suite with nice views of Penn Cove in the distance. With lots of luggage we made sure to just bring in an overnight bag as we didn't feel like hauling everything up the steps. Both buildings that make up this B & B were nice, as were the grounds.

Our suite featured a Jacuzzi in the bathroom; something one doesn't always see is an older property. I would have liked to spend more time in it, but there is a 10-minute limit by request. The bed was very comfortable, sleeping was good. The breakfast was fantastic! The berry dish with cream cheese was delicious, as was the unique egg main course.

The town of Coupeville is an easy walk. We enjoyed a stroll through town stopping at Toby's for some excellent spicy mussels and good beer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great B&B, excellent breakfasts. Nice room, comfortable, coffee and tea available plus cookies. Convenient location, close to downtown. Two house with rooms for rent. Welcoming place and relaxing place to visit. We stayed in the Captain Room, nice view of the water.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Blue Goose Inn,,make this your place to stay in Coupeville on Whitbey Island. Wonderful hosts, very comfortable room, silky sheets and awesome breakfast. We loved our wholesome and delicious gluten free breakfast. Penn Cove room has a great view with an old fashioned claw bathtub. A few steps from downtown, plenty of shops and fantastic water views to help you relax from city life. Becky and Dave are perfect hosts.

Room Tip: We loved Penn Cove a great room with water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was our first trip to Whidbey Island and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Blue Goose Inn. We stayed the the Mount Baker Suite and found the accommodations very comfortable and charming. We had a beautiful view of Mount Baker from our room. The innkeepers, Becky and Dave, were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The breakfasts were outstanding and homemade cookies a special treat in the afternoons. Our stay at the Blue Goose Inn was fabulous and we hope to return again one day!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupeville
1.9 mi away
The Captain Whidbey Inn
The Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center
6.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast
6.4 mi away
The Coachman Inn
The Coachman Inn
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
5.0 mi away
Acorn Motor Inn
Acorn Motor Inn
#3 of 7 in Oak Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 702 N Main St, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Coupeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the picturesque seaside village of Coupeville on beautiful Whidbey Island, The Blue Goose Inn offers award winning B&B lodging from two lovingly restored historic Victorian homes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Goose Inn Bed And Breakfast Whidbey Island/Coupeville, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.