We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HISTORIC FORT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Casey State Park

Fort Casey State Park
Whidbey Island, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Coupeville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: State Parks, Nature & Parks
Attraction details
MORENO VALLEY
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
146 attraction reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“GREAT HISTORIC FORT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Extra large park includes Historic Fort Casey and the stunning Admiralty Lighthouse. Lots of Batteries, lots of room to roam, run, hike, bike. Not to mention great water views.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    56
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynden, Washington
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“I love historical sites, particularly military, so I loved this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The fort itself (now a state park) is really amazing. Well maintained, and just completely fascinating. What it DOES need is some interpretive signage to inform the traveler what they are seeing.

The lighthouse is interesting, but a bit of a letdown. The lens has been removed from the tower, and the house itself is not laid out like it would be if the keeper and his family lived there. The bedrooms are completely off limits which really disappoints. I'd like to see the home the way it was.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalama, Washington
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Big Guns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a really good time checking out all the military workings of this historic fort including the dark underground bunkers and the huge guns. The sweeping shoreline, ocean views, ships and kite flying were an active and interesting backdrop as well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Great Family Adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very neat, interesting place to visit with the kids. Beautiful scenery! Quite windy so bring a kite too!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We rented a house a few miles away for 5 days. We came to the park three times. It was rainy in the earlier part of the day, and when we went there the first time we were alone except for a young lady and her toddler. My daughters, 7&11 explored and asked me to follow into some parts. We had headlights but I still freaked out over the complete darkness in a couple of rooms. We went a couple of days later for the volunteer guided tour. Our volunteer was awesome. We even went into places that are normally locked and very creepy. My oldest looked up hauntings in the Fort but was still brave enough to walk around a totally dark tunnel. I bought a Discovery Pass with my vehicle registration for $30 and it covers unlimited visits to state parks in WA, great deal. Only drawback was my senior mother had a few problems with rickety stairs and lack of senior facilities. She didn't mind looking at the views while the grandkids were playing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Casey State Park also viewed

 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Freeland, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Fort Casey State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Casey State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.