We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to picnic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Ebey

Fort Ebey
Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6 attractions in Coupeville
Attraction Details
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to picnic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I love Ft. Ebey State Park. The have so many trails you can walk, run or ride. This State Park has a lagoon hidden on a trail, lots of camping and day use space. The beach is great for wind surfing, the other side is great for kite flying.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, BC Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A gem hiding behind the fog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We just returned from a camping get-away to Fort Ebey State Park. The weather was warm and sunny until we hit a wall of fog as we entered the park around noon. The campground is very nice with good sized campsites and a clean small washroom with running cold water and pay showers. There is no beach access from the campground area which sits high above a cliff. Our campsite backed onto the cliff area with a buffer of trees behind it. Once the fog lifted about half an hour later, the view was spectacular. A panoramic vista of the Strait of Juan de Fuca. There was a bench to sit on so in the evenings we just sat and watched the different boats go by and the occasional cruise ship and the amazing sunsets. The fog rolled in around 9:30 PM and then it was cold enough to see your breath in the air. For beach access you can drive about 5 min. to the Ft. Ebey Park beach which is a nice beach with walking trails all around and one that goes to Podilla Lake but be aware that there are no restroom facilities. Also at Ft. Ebey there are old military bunker style concrete structures left over from the Second World War that you can explore. They are dark inside and the kids have fun running around making scary noises that echo inside. We highly recommend this location.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

You can drive right to water's edge within a few minutes of Coupeville. Spectacular views of the saltwater and Olympic Mtns.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An excellent walk while staying on Whidbey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a very manageable walk with great views, and an interesting stop at the old homestead. Worthwhile to see the scenery, to breathe in the sea air, and of course, to get some exercise.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not as big or dramatic as Fort Casey, but must see as well. Camp sites rule!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you like Fort Casey, you need to see Fort Ebey as well. I recommend bringing a flashlight since some of the old military battery building can be quite dark. Also make sure you have shoes on which have some good traction on them. The camping grounds are great. There is even a great spot if you have a large group to use. I would make reservations for camp sites if you can. If you have not been to Fort Ebey or Fort Casey, I would recommend going to Ebey first, and then go to Casey, but it really doesn't matter.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Ebey also viewed

 
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Freeland, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Fort Ebey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Ebey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.