We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem hiding behind the fog” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Ebey

Fort Ebey
Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6 Attractions in Coupeville
Attraction Details
White Rock, BC Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A gem hiding behind the fog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We just returned from a camping get-away to Fort Ebey State Park. The weather was warm and sunny until we hit a wall of fog as we entered the park around noon. The campground is very nice with good sized campsites and a clean small washroom with running cold water and pay showers. There is no beach access from the campground area which sits high above a cliff. Our campsite backed onto the cliff area with a buffer of trees behind it. Once the fog lifted about half an hour later, the view was spectacular. A panoramic vista of the Strait of Juan de Fuca. There was a bench to sit on so in the evenings we just sat and watched the different boats go by and the occasional cruise ship and the amazing sunsets. The fog rolled in around 9:30 PM and then it was cold enough to see your breath in the air. For beach access you can drive about 5 min. to the Ft. Ebey Park beach which is a nice beach with walking trails all around and one that goes to Podilla Lake but be aware that there are no restroom facilities. Also at Ft. Ebey there are old military bunker style concrete structures left over from the Second World War that you can explore. They are dark inside and the kids have fun running around making scary noises that echo inside. We highly recommend this location.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Snohomish, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

You can drive right to water's edge within a few minutes of Coupeville. Spectacular views of the saltwater and Olympic Mtns.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An excellent walk while staying on Whidbey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a very manageable walk with great views, and an interesting stop at the old homestead. Worthwhile to see the scenery, to breathe in the sea air, and of course, to get some exercise.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not as big or dramatic as Fort Casey, but must see as well. Camp sites rule!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you like Fort Casey, you need to see Fort Ebey as well. I recommend bringing a flashlight since some of the old military battery building can be quite dark. Also make sure you have shoes on which have some good traction on them. The camping grounds are great. There is even a great spot if you have a large group to use. I would make reservations for camp sites if you can. If you have not been to Fort Ebey or Fort Casey, I would recommend going to Ebey first, and then go to Casey, but it really doesn't matter.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, WA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“This Park Has So Much to Offer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This Washington State Park has so much to offer. It has history, terrific scenery of coast, mountains, and forest; a freshwater lake for fishing, flowers, beach-combing opportunities, geo-caches, hiking trails, bicycling trails, picnic areas, sports fields with no markings, camping for both tents and RVs, interpretive materials, and a friendly and helpful staff.

It is immediately adjacent to The Kettles and even more trails for people and horses.

One of the trails in Fort Ebey park, the Kettles Trail, goes all the way to Coupeville. It is paved once it reaches the highway, which it parallels. From Coupeville, the Kettles Trail, by the way, becomes the Rhododendron Trail. You can ride bicycles, or walk well south of Coupeville to another park.

Ordinarily it is just my husband and me who go to this park. It is, however, great for all ages. It is family friendly, though at the coastal part there are some areas you will want to hold onto small children.

Since this is a Washington State park there is an entry fee of $10 per day, $30 a year. Recommendation: get an annual pass, because on Whidbey Island alone there are 3 State parks.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Ebey also viewed

 
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Freeland, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Fort Ebey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Ebey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.