We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all things lavender” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Wind Farm

Lavender Wind Farm
Shop: 15 Coveland, Farm: 2530 Darst Rd., Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
877-242-7716
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 9 Attractions in Coupeville
Type: Gardens, Nature & Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lavender Wind Farm, with a view of the Olympic Mountains and the Strait of Juan De Fuca, is on the wild west side of beautiful Whidbey Island in Washington. We have perfect growing conditions for lavender, only about 18 inches of rain a year due to the Olympic Rain Shadow, lots of wind, and plenty of sun. Come visit the farm in the summer, or the shop in Coupeville anytime for fabulous food cooked with lavender, lavender products, and beautiful views of the mountains, the fields of lavender, and the Strait of Juan de Fuca.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“all things lavender”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The expected array of lavender items with ice cream too (why we went). Was a little put off by the only grumpy lady that had to attend both sides of the store and had to be asked to get an ice cream. And what's with the signs saying no dogs, no cleats and warnings about children. That's just unwelcoming.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavwind, Owner at Lavender Wind Farm, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your critique of our shop. I'm sorry if anyone was grumpy with you, we go to great lengths to be friendly and we will review this with our staff as we do when we hear about something that isn't perfect.

We are a little confused about the signs you mention being unwelcoming. We don't have any signs that mention cleats at all, and our dog sign is about as nice as can be. We have a dog water bowl out every day in case our visiting dogs are thirsty and we are well known to stop everything and go outside to greet the dogs who visit with their owners. Our Dog Sign says "We love your dogs. But, we don’t love them in our shop. Please keep your beloved pets outside." and it has a picture of a woman patting her dog as she walks with him on the beach. If you have ideas on how we can be more welcoming to dogs (short of letting them in the shop which we can't because we serve food and it's a small space), please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeland, Washington
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy lavender and the outdoors!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I enjoy this place! Besides their beautiful shop in downtown Coupeville, the farm itself is worth seeing. Beautiful fields of many varieties of lavender and flowers, as well as a cute little shop with some sweet treats. It's a very nice stop!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cute little lavendar farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

They make almost all their own stuff, from lavender cheese to lavender oils. You can visit their store in Coupeville and/or their farm outside of town. We went to both and enjoyed it a lot.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a side trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Even if you're not particularly "into" lavender, you will probably find something here to interest you. Walk the live maze, sit beside the tranquil pond, or sit on a bench and enjoy the fresh air, sunshine, and (if you're lucky) bald eagles flying overhead. For a complete immersion experience, go into the greenhouse or the gazebo, where bundles of lavender are hung to dry. The greenhouse made me feel as if I were inside a lavender blossom!

Our most recent visit was in mid-July, and the flower garden was in full bloom, as were most of the lavender plants. But we have also visited in the spring, fall, and winter, and the farm is interesting all year long. The workshop will be of interest to technical-minded types, and it is adjacent to the gift shop, for those who would like to pick up some lavender-themed souvenirs. If you're in the mood to nosh, try some ice cream. They have quite a few varieties, in pints and in bars, and they all have a hint of lavender in them. There are other things to eat, and an outdoor picnic table where you can sit and enjoy your snacks, but don't come here looking for a full meal.

There are things to put on your body, things to put in your house, and various other knick-knacks. The gift shop is small, so it can feel crowded with only three or four people in it. But the staff is friendly and helpful, and they're always willing to share their knowledge of all aspects of farming, harvesting, and using lavender.

This is a good place to bring friends who are visiting Whidbey Island. I would recommend this attraction for adults and mature children. Little tots may or may not enjoy it, depending upon their temperament. This is a place to be calm.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lavender at its finest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

a really nice lavender farm on the island. fields are beautiful and shop is quaint. Staff is very friendly . They also have an outlet shop right in the center of Coupeville. i really nice place to visit

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavender Wind Farm also viewed

Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Lavender Wind Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Wind Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.