We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets a need well” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Coupeville Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coupeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Coupeville Inn
Save
You added The Coupeville Inn to your Saves list
200 NW Coveland Street, P.O. box 370, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Coupeville B&B and Inns
Bellingham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Meets a need well”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Coupeville area has a wide variety of B & Bs and vacation rentals. The Coupeville Inn is the only hotel in this popular tourist spot so technically it doesn't have to be anything special. We have stayed there on several occasions. It is located walking close to everything in this popular two street, quaint tourist spot. The rooms are on the neat but on the small side; the place is a bit dated but comfortable, clean, & quiet. They have an average breakfast buffet and functional
Wi Fi. There is no air conditioning but given the mild climate AC is usually not needed. One of my favorite things about the hotel is the many great historical photos the line the hallways. We go to Coupleville pretty frequently & when we want to keep it simple & relatively inexpensive this is where we stay. A bonus is that they have a couple 1st floor pet friendly rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
23
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent just one night at the Coupeville inn but were quite impressed with this inn. The room was spacious, the bed was quite comfortable, the breakfast was light but adequate and our dog was also welcomed at the inn. The location is very good as you are just a couple of blocks from the waterfront and the pier. We enjoyed walking around the little town and found that it also had some great places to eat.

Room Tip: If you do travel with a pet your room will be on the ground floor so not much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the Coupeville Inn after a family reunion in Port Townsend. We had a room with 2 beds. The bedding was very nice, and the beds were quite comfy! The furniture was modern, and our room was as clean as it could be. The bathroom sparkled, and had over-sized towels, and beautiful tile! There was a mini fridge in the closet with soft drinks and water to purchase for a very reasonable amount! They had complimentary coffee and tea in an antique buffet in the hallway. I thought this was a very nice touch. There is an inviting lobby with a computer and a fireplace. They even had a book with all the menus from the different restaurants for you to look over! There wasn't a pool, but that was no problem, as the inn was next door to a great museum on the area! We were within easy walking distance to the water front, shops, restaurants, and all the sights. The breakfast was good as well. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gearhart, Oregon
Top Contributor
473 reviews 473 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We had been here before. This time 25 of us stayed in connection with a family reunion. It is very convenient to the waterfront restaurants and shops. The ambiance is nice. We had a balcony and could call back and forth to siblings. The bed was comfortable. Parking was convenient. On the other hand there was no real closet, just an armoire, the bathroom had no shelf space for our necessary bottles and tubes, the maid service was barely acceptable and the "extended" continental breakfast was not too good: some kind of bread like a muffin or English muffin or bagle plus a hard boiled egg plus packaged oatmeal plus canned fruit cocktail. The coffee wasn't great. However it was something. We will probably stay here again. It is convenient to Coupeville restaurants, etc.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stay here once or twice a year. It is not new, doesn't have air conditioning, nor does it have a pool. However, it is clean and the rooms are "darling" to use my wife's words. We are in our 70s but the walks to the waterfront, all the shops, the museum, and the restaurants are easy. Parking can be a problem in Coupeville in the summer, but we just park at the Inn and walk to everything in town.

Room Tip: Don't be too disappointed if a water view room is not available. Even the non-view rooms have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I were in Coupeville in June to attend a wedding. Whidbey Island is a bit remote and I chose the Coupeville Inn because of its proximity to the wedding venue and because it seemed less rustic than some of the other hotels in the area. It is a small hotel by normal standards but compared to other things on Whidbey Island, it's fairly large. Although it promotes itself as sort of a bed and breakfast, it is really more like a motel--which was not necessarily a bad thing for this area.

We were on the second floor. There is no elevator but a ramp (combined with the topograhy) made if fairly easy to get our wheeled luggage in and out. Our king bedded room was a good size, nicely decorated, pleasant and clean. The bathroom, while not large, was certainly adequate. If you need to be in or near Coupeville, the location is good. It's just a short walk to the shopping street and almost directly across the street from Christopher's which is an excellent restaurant. (We went for dinner.) The Coupeville Inn staff were helpful and pleasant.

The room came with breakfast which was perhaps the hotel's weakest point. Selection was extremely limited (bread, muffins and cereal from what I recall.) There was coffee but no decaf. No hot food. I think they may have had hard boiled eggs and maybe yogurt. I went to the market and bought myself some granola. It's not as if you'll go hungry. It's just not what one expects of a bed and breakfast type hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed here in August 2011 and loved the harbour views! Very clean, pretty rooms. Very welcoming, helpful and friendly. OK continental breakfast, (all disposable dishes and cutlery go in the waste which was our only concern)! Otherwise would recommend staying here. Coupeville is delightful. We'd recommend it for relaxed, interesting shopping and charming village atmosphere. Don't miss the Saturday market!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coupeville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coupeville Inn

Address: 200 NW Coveland Street, P.O. box 370, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Coupeville
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
The Coupeville Hotel Coupeville
The Coupeville Inn Whidbey Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coupeville Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.