We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cove Thai Cuisine

Cove Thai Cuisine
602 N Main St, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239-3423
360-678-6963
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 22 Restaurants in Coupeville
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bellingham, WA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This restaurant is now called Pra Nakorn. It's right on Main Street and quite convenient. The food was excellent, and the service was fast. We had a large group, so it was helpful that we all got served at around the same time. The furnishings were lovely and quaint. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thia Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Excellent food, fast, friendly service. Food arrived fast, hot and was excellent. Not a large restaurant but enough room to be cosy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We arrived just prior to closing and the proprieters welcomed the four of us and we ate some of the best Thai food we've ever had. Impeccable service, beautiful restaurant and absolutely delicious cuisine!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Disappointing Thai Food on Whidbey Island”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Seeking ethnic cuisine in a resort setting is always a risky venture, but Cove seemed to have a number of things going for it -- until the food came. Rather, until it did not for quite a while and then when it did. Named for the plentiful and delicious Penn Cove mussel that is a staple of Whidbey cuisine, Cove delivered them in 3 dishes to members of our party in the same condition -- dreadfully overcooked and virtually tasteless. There is more, but why bother, Just know that the charm of this place starts and stops in the converted house it calls home. Stay away.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupeville, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Pull Into the Cove!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This place is a bit of an oddity. Located in a Victorian painted lady, it's decorated in a curious fashion, with original 19th century fixtures and the family's collection of Americana and Thai artworks. Yes, the service can be slow, since it's all done by three members of the family, but the food is superb. As one reviewer put it, the food is authentically Thai, but that doesn't mean it's past the American palate. I've loved the sweet and sour pork, and my wife favored the swimming Rama, until we both discovered the tamarind prawns. All of those get raves from us both.
We have been shown kindness and efficiency and talent by the folks involved. The Cove has become one of our favorite restaurants on Whidbey, and among the best Thai places in the Northwest. The warm atmosphere and personal service are, alone, worth the visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cove Thai Cuisine also viewed

Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Cove Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cove Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;