We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch on the Pier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kim's Cafe

Kim's Cafe
26 Front St, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
360-678-4924
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 22 Restaurants in Coupeville
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Centennial, CO
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great Lunch on the Pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The restaurant is located at the end of the pier and is well worth the walk out from town. Three of us came for a late lunch (3 pm) and found it almost empty of customers. I ordered fish and chips with peanut coleslaw. It was delicious, especially the beer batter encrusted fish. Service was fine as expected with no other guests. The restaurant is comfortable and the view superb. The menu has a strong Asian influence along side American dishes. If I lived in the area I would find some way to eat here on a weekly basis.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, GA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Easily satisfied a big crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We walked into Kim's shortly after 11 am with a party of 11 and no reservation. We were promptly seated - first pleasant surprise. We ordered around the menu, including several meal splits and shares without any hassle. Food was all good. The sandwiches were not the best choices on the menu - the bread to filling ratio was heavily weighted to bread. Pad Thai and Pho were very good.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't even bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Perched at the end of the wharf in Coupeville, I was hoping for a nice lunch with fresh fish. There are a couple of good restaurants that we usually attend when we make the drive there, so we wanted to try something different. The restaurant has a heavy Asian influence but they also offer fish and chips as one might expect in a town by the sea. My friend ordered the pad thai with 4* as she likes it hot. It was not in the least spicy and had very little good flavor. I ordered the fish and chips - big mistake. The fish was old and frozen as were the fries. A frozen dinner would have been better, fresher, and much less expensive. Try Toby's Tavern for casual food or the wonderful Christopher's for a delicious lunch or dinner, but avoid Kim's Cafe.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Yummy mussels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I had lunch here with two nieces and one nephew--all teenagers. Great food, varied menu, rustic atmosphere. One of my nieces tried the Pahd Thai and loved it. I had the Penn Cove mussels prepared in white wine, garlic, and butter...oh, my were they ever delish!! Prices very reasonable and service was just right.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Arkansas
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful Penn Cove Mussels!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Michelle at Chateau Ste. Michelle (no relation) told us to stop here and try the Penn Cove Mussels steamed in a garlic butter wine sauce. They also give you hit bread to dip in the sauce. Delicious!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kim's Cafe also viewed

Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Kim's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kim's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.