We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet food but do not go in a hurry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Captain Whidbey Inn Restaurant

The Captain Whidbey Inn Restaurant
2072 Captain Whidbey Inn Road, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
3606784097
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 22 restaurants in Coupeville
Price range: $1 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Vancouver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Gourmet food but do not go in a hurry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Not open every day for lunch so check. Limited selection. Three of us had different lunches and were all delighted. All ingredients were super fresh and beautifully cooked, which excuses the slowness. I had the best sea food chowder ever,so fresh and creamy. The chef was new and excellent. The waterfront lawn and picturesque old inn make a lovely setting. A reasonable price for such good quality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    15
    11
    4
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coupeville, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Captain Whidbey Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have long awaited our time for a special occasion at Captain Whidbey. We sat outside on a fairly nice sunny day. The service was not the best, I guess we were expecting to be spoiled. The food was also mediocre and the price for the food was relatively high for the quality. Will be selective if we decide to return.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quaint atmosphere; overpriced lunch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had known of this place for more than twenty years. My mother-in-law has made the inn's "Washington Apple Cake" for the family on many occasions during that time. She was in town recently, so we thought we would try out the restaurant on a day trip. I don't know where to start. The property is beautiful and wonderfully situated. It was a little difficult to ascertain where to enter... The entrance door is not well marked. The inn itself is very quaint, but the tavern, where we were seated, was musty and cold. They apparently turned on the heat for us, but it never warmed up, although we were there for quite some time. We all ordered salads and along with them came a swarm of tiny little gnats, flying around our faces. It was a challenge to eat while dodging these creatures. They subsided when our chowder (finally) arrived, thank goodness. The Washington Apple Cake is no longer on the menu, but that was okay. We declined to stay for dessert anyway; we were more than ready to leave, because of the atmosphere in the tavern and the fear of the gnats' return! The rest of our drive was wonderful, but we won't be returning to the Captain Whidbey Inn. We thought it would be welcoming, but it was definitely not.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
“Delicious food, relaxing atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

After a long 3 hour drive, my wife and I were ready to relax. We gave the Captain Whidbey Inn restaurant a try and were delighted with our choice. I had blackened cod which was prepared with perfection and served over a medley of toasted corn and fresh cubed squash. My wife had clam chowder which came infused with salmon and fresh muscles in the shell. Delicious. Fresh bread hot out of the oven was worth waiting for. The presentation was very pleasant. Give it a try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, Surrey, BC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“uneadible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We love going to this Inn, 3 years ago, we spent the night and had a fantastic meal. Went back this summer, still enjoyed staying there, but our dinner was awful. Service terrible. My husbands salmon was raw, and my seafood pasta, the pasta was so over cooked it tasted like glue. It wasn't busy, and the 2 waitress kept disappearing. Service slow, and we found them rather crude. We asked what was wrong with the chef and she said she would give him a kick up his ...... A few days later we figured out that maybe there was no chef!! the servers must have been doing the cooking! The Breakfast could do with some updating too, Costco muffins, I don't think so, go to Anacortes and get some scones from the scone lady, and while there, buy the granola from the lady there too!! We got an email from the Inn recently and said they have a new chef, hopefully its true.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Captain Whidbey Inn Restaurant also viewed

Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 

Been to The Captain Whidbey Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Captain Whidbey Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.