We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast

Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coupeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
508 South Main Street, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Coupeville B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The bed and breadfast website stated that the two guest rooms had private bathrooms. This was a misleading claim. The queen bedroom has a toilet, sink, and shower. There is no private bathroom in the king bed room. Instead, there is a bathroom in the hall outside the queen and large bedroom. From the moment that we arrived to the moment we left, we felt rushed. Apparently, the owners planned a full weekend for themselves when we were there, and they wanted us to check out as soon as possible on Saturday morning, so they could go to a baby shower. After traveling a long trip, I was so looking forward to a hot shower and a warm bed when we got to the Compass Rose. Instead, the owner insisted that we sit in the parlar once we got there to chat. She asked me a million questions that had nothing to do with me being tired and taking a hot shower. There is no walk room in the house. There was wall to wall antiques. The bed were extremely comfortable, and the breakfast was good. However, the dust made it hard to sleep and breathe. The three antique clocks that chimed every 30 minutes also made it difficult to sleep. There were large flies in the house. There was also a spider in my bed. My only advice to anyone would be to stay away.
They claimed to have Wifi, but they never gave me the passcode.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
susiepants
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Well, what can I say? I had read the reviews in advance on T.A so wa expecting SOME antiques and a superb breakfast, but to arrive at a completely overcluttered house with no surface left bare was completely OTT. The owners were away and instead Erin was looking after the place as best she could, but when we were asked about what we would like for breakfast (we were all greatly excited after what I had read in the reviews about the great meal in store for us!!), she said she could only offer us eggs benedit or pancakes. Not the sumptious 3 course meal that another TA review had mentioned. Erin did say that if the owners had been there, then we would have been offered 40 something different options! Not worth the $120+ that it cost us!! We should have been offered a discount for the lack of breakfast choice (our daughter ate cereal that we had brought with us (didn't even have any cereal to offer her)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle wa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Marshall and Jan are energetic and very engaging hosts. We even got a ride in the Packard and a folder to remember our stay! But you won't forget your say because you will be so well treated and entertained. All their collected stuff is a kick, too. If you like dishes, they will show you their 52 sets. That does not include luncheon sets and little stuff like that. It's just a fun experience. (They told us that some guests had stayed with them 52 times, including a family that was with them for a solid month while renovating their house.)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Just a place out of time, Captain and Jan made you feel at home, just the experience has made me want to go back and spend more time with them and their lovely home.
Breakfast was absolutely delicious, the best Eggs Benedict I have ever had, very gourmet. They truly enjoy entertaining strangers, and when you leave you feel as if you have known them forever, I certainly will never forget them.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

If you're visiting Whidbey Island you must stay at this bed and breakfast! I can't recommend it enough. It's a beautiful victorian house, wonderfully decorated with antiques, well located in Coupeville. I came over with my parents from England to attend a wedding at the nearby Jenne Farm. Jan and Marshall Bronson were brillant and made our stay memorable with their excellent hospitality. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were fantastic. I have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone planning a break in Whidbey Island.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2006

If you are travelling to Whidbey Island then you must stay here. Our hosts and owners Marshall and Jan Bronson could not do more for you. To start with you are welcomed with tea on your first day, then they give you so much information regarding the area on how to spend your vacation it is overwhelming. Each moring you are treated to a spectacular breakfast served by Marshall and Jan. Three fantastic courses served by candlelight that will not dissapoint. The whole house is full of antiques that would take you a day to browse and the stories that are told by them both on how they came about are fantastic. The rooms are very comfortable. Coupville is a lovely town to visit and please do go down to Christophers on Front street for lunch or dinner. The food is as good as any that will be served anywhere on Whidbey or Washington state.
If we are anywhere near seattle or vancouver we will be back.
Visit the Compass Rose website for more details regarding ferry crossings etc and price.

  • Liked — The hosts Jan and Marshall
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — You have to book early as the B&B is busy
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2003

What a delight! The house, gardens and furnishings are so beautiful - but the extraordinary couple who run this extraordinary B&B are what make the whole experience so very special. I don't think the Queen of England would be afforded any more lavish attention than all of the Compass Rose's "normal" - and very fortunate! - guests! Unforgetable!
Go!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 508 South Main Street, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Coupeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine 1890 Queen Anne Victorian home, on the National Register of Historic Places, is now an elegant two room bed and breakfast, furnished with antiques and glorious things from around the globe by the hosts, Captain and Mrs. Marshall Bronson. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Compass Rose Bed And Breakfast Whidbey Island/Coupeville, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.