We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The proprietors were just great people and the views of the tower? AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devils Tower Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Devils Tower
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Devils Tower Lodge
Save
You added Devils Tower Lodge to your Saves list
#34 State Route 110, Devils Tower, WY 82714   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Devils Tower B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The proprietors were just great people and the views of the tower? AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

What a great location, cool rooms with views of the tower. The lodge is comfortable and they really make you feel at home. There is an instant camaraderie that makes the place feel like a coming together of old friends. Which it will be for us next time!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    23
    1
    6
    3
See reviews for
54
53
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This gem of a B&B has a true rustic charm about it, and the hosts are very genuine and friendly. It's a great place to stay no matter who you are. The meals are tasty, the company is good, and you won't lack for ways to relax or things to do during your stay. There's a great view of Devils Tower right from the lodge, and the owner Frank has a special connection with the entire area, having climbed the Tower well over a thousand times. If you're a climber like me, make sure you get Frank's beta on the route you plan to climb. But even if you're just traveling to see the sights, staying at the Devils Tower Lodge is a great decision. I'm sure you couldn't find a more comfortable, interesting, and welcoming atmosphere anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was my first trip to Devils Tower Lodge and we are already planning our next trip back. Was traveling with my 9 year old and not only stayed at the lodge but also took advantage of the guided rock climbing offered as well. It was the experience of a lifetime and I give this my highest recommendation. Thank you Frank Sanders for a life changing experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was my 2nd visit to Frank's Devil's Tower Lodge. And especially for a climber, staying at the lodge is the best way to enjoy the tower. The lodge is situated with a fantastic view of the tower. "Comfortable and relaxed" are the best ways to describe the lodge, perhaps "unique" and "eclectic" might also apply. But what I like about the lodge is that, unlike a lot of other B&Bs, you don't feel intimidated to touch/use any of the stuff you see. Arguably the best "feature" (aside from the view of the tower), is Frank, himself. If you're a climber, you get the added bonus of Frank's vast knowledge and experience. But even if not, Frank has so many wonderful stories to share, and "makes" the atmosphere you experience at the lodge: ensuring you are having a good time !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a fabulous place to stay! Our 13 year old son searched and found this place on line and begged us to book it so we could climb with Frank. We spoke with Frank on the phone a few times to which he was so pleasant and sweet. We booked the Lodge having no idea what to expect. Needless to say we were very HAPPY! It is a very private residence where climbers of all levels come to experience the peace and serenity of the view as well as their chance to climb Devils Tower. We climbed with our three kids 15, 13, 10 and Frank and the crew where beyond words. We had some experience climbing but Frank's expertise took us to a whole new level on and off the rock. My kids will never forget this experience.
We plan to go back and stay with Frank and Tanya and summit the Tower someday. If your looking for some good home-made grub....look no further. Tanya's cooking was awesome! And there was always plenty to go around the very large table. She works very hard to make her company feel right at home. Job well done girl!!
As I reflect back on this experience, I will remember sharing a hearty and healthy meal or two with people from all over the world at Frank's place and talking like we have known each other for years. Must of us with one goal in mind.. to conquer the Tower, but most importantly to make a memory that will last for generations to come. And don't forget your camera! Happy Climbing! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a great place to come to if you are looking for more than a place to stay. It's not fancy but the hosts will make you feel very welcome and they really work hard to help the guests to get to know each other. We met people of all ages from all walks of life - the common denominator being a love to explore and travel. The accommodations were clean and comfortable (nice firm beds!), and the food was homestyle and very good.

We stopped here by chance in 2003 and decided to come back in 2013 when our three boys were all big enough to climb the tower. We knew if we wanted to do it we could trust Frank to get us to the top. We had three excellent guides for 5 of us and they were very safety conscious and enjoyable to be around. Overall a wonderful experience - I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants an active vacation they will talk about for a long time! Tie it in with a bike ride on the Mickelson trail in South Dakota and the Black Hills and it's a whole week of fun.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elbert, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We took a leap of faith and stayed here one night after stumbling on it via the internet. We were pleasantly pleased with our choice. It's rustic, decent and nothing fancy, but the view of the Tower right outside your window is lovely. It's quiet here, a nice place to sit out on the little deck and just contemplate the Tower. Frank and Tonya are good hosts. Tanya kindly provided vegetarian fare as requested. There was only the set time for dinner and breakfast but otherwise your time was your own. We didn't climb the Tower this time (maybe next year), but Frank got rave reviews from us for storytelling and information about the Tower. If we attempt the climb next year, Frank will be our guide.

Room Tip: All rooms will have a view of the Tower, and some rooms have a porch area; maybe all rooms have some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Devils Tower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devils Tower Lodge

Address: #34 State Route 110, Devils Tower, WY 82714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Devils Tower
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Devils Tower
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devils Tower Lodge. Full of Adventure and Loaded with Peace & Quiet. Located on 21 Very Private Acres of Ponderosa Pine and Precious Prairie at the Base of Devils Tower National Monument, in Wyoming. Come, Enjoy the POwer of the Tower. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devils Tower Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.