We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange but awesome to see in-person” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devil's Tower National Monument

Devil's Tower National Monument
Highway 110, Devils Tower, WY 82714
(307) 467-5283
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Geologic Formations, Mountains, Volcanos, Landmarks
Activities: Rock climbing, Camping, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 870-foot stone monument, thought to have been created from the remains of a volcano, is the center of many Indian religious ceremonies.
Browns Mills, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Strange but awesome to see in-person”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Having seen this first in "Close Encounters of the Third Kind", it was strange to see it in person, decades later, but wholly outstanding. It's mind-blowing to ponder that "ground-level" used to be that high.

Worth the drive during our visit in the Rapid City, South Dakota area; about 1.5 hours iirc.

The walk around the base took us about 60 minutes at a decent pace; a sign says 45 minutes. Somewhat hilly in spots, but do it if you can, or as much as you can.

The entrance fee to the national park was $11 for our car (not per person). Restrooms in the parking area at the base. Obligatory tourist trap stores at the park entrance.

Drive slow through the prairie dog area.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    802
    230
    36
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, NC
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Even with no spaceship, A Really Great Place to See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

When you are driving in and get your first sighting of the Tower, you can truly understand how Native American's thought this mountain was inhabited by spirits! You can also see why Hollywood would choose the mountain for Close Encounters....

At the entrance gate we got a map that showed the different hiking trails. The entrance fee is the normal National Monument per car fee. When you finally arrive at the parking lot at the visitor's center, the Devil's Tower National Monument is even more impressive. We jumped to the path leading to the tower first as it appeared we would be getting some drizzle soon. When you get to the base, you cannot help but be struck by the grandness of the mountain. We had decided to take the trail that goes all the way around...a distance of 1.3 miles. It is a fairly flat paved trail that would be considered an easy walk. About halfway around, we heard voices and found the tower was being climbed by 5-6 folk. We were amazed at their courage and glad we weren't up there with them.

Be sure to stop often to examine the different colors and rock formations. There were several spots where, with few extra steps away from the path, you could be provided with a grand vista of the surrounding area. Take the extra steps for sure! You will come upon a telescope about half way through the trail where you can see remnants of the climbing ladder used in 1893 for the first recorded ascent of the tower. Take the time to find it!

About the only thing I would say was negative...and only in the slightest terms...was that when you think you are about finished and the end of the trail must be just around the next bend...you come to the "you are half way" sign!! What a bummer:-) We just giggled and kept on going. It was funny to hear everyone else that we met or passed, say the exact same thing.

All in all, it really was an easy hike. It was great to breath really clean air, see so much beauty and examine an awesome rock formation. The visitor's center was full of interesting books and other normal tourist items, but the best reason go in is to talk with the rangers. They answered all our questions and told us several tidbits of info that helped us to better understand what we had seen. There is a restroom facility next to the parking area.

On the way down we saw deer, turkeys, and lots of Prairie dogs. Consider turning into the campground area and taking an immediate left to visit the Circle of the Sacred Smoke statue. It provides a great view of the tower, and a great photo op.

This is absolutely a place you need to visit if you are in the area.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome, breath taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

What an awesome site. We walked the 1/2 mile trail, plenty of places to sit and enjoy the view. Very peaceful, really enjoyed the natural beauty and seeing the animals in their habitat.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Memorable National Monument”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

The sight was impressive from the moment we first spied it from afar. There is a wonderful 1 mile trail around the base of the monument. They provide plenty of benches and free scopes to get a closer look at both the monument and the crazy climbers. A nice bonus is the prairie dog village. You can pull over and watch them scamper from your car.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Take the family to Devils Tower. Unique North American, world famous natural formation.

Notice the unusual peacefulness surrounding the tower.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Tower National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Devil's Tower National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devil's Tower National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.