We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devil's Tower National Monument

Devil's Tower National Monument
Highway 110, Devils Tower, WY 82714
(307) 467-5283
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Rock climbing, Camping, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 870-foot stone monument, thought to have been created from the remains of a volcano, is the center of many Indian religious ceremonies.
Hillsboro, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

So worth the drive out the monument itself. Don't just stop and see it on the highway. We hiked the tower path. It was gorgeous and was well kept with frequent benches for those needing a break.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    839
    237
    36
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunkirk, Ohio
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We made the drive to Devil's Tower while staying in Spearfish. It's a pretty neat place, and the hike around the base of the tower was cool. We seen a deer and her two fawns on the backside of the hike, as well as a rockclimber halfway up the tower. Definitely worth the trip if you are in the area. The field of prairie dogs on the entrance road was a plus.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We travelled here today with our two boys ages 6 & 8. They loved it as much as we did. It was neat to see climbers and wildlife while hiking the trails! We saw and heard rattle snakes which was really neat! Bring water with for sure! You must see this at least once in your lifetime!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I took our 2 kids and 2 nieces to see the monument one morning. We spent about 2 hours walking the 1.5 mile trail that circles the monument. The kids loved climbing on the rocks along the trail. The highlight perhaps, was the rattlesnake my son saw hiding under a rock and pointed out to us. It gave us all chills when it rattled! Yikes, we gave it a wide berth and they stayed off the rocks for most of the rest of the time. It was cool to see the rattler in it's natural habitat. It was also neat to see the climbers on the tower, both going up and rappelling down.

Highly recommend. Bring water bottles if you are planning on hiking. The trail would probably have only taken us an hour to traverse if the kids hadn't been climbing all over the rocks. The path is paved, so tennis shoes are fine. There IS poison ivy skirting the trail, so be careful...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“WOW... Have a Close Encounter !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Scratch this off my Bucket List... as a kid watching the Close Encounters of the 3rd Kind I always wanted to see this location. WOW.... I am glad I was able to see this in person.

I do not think my son that was with me appreciated it as much as I did but I was in Awe...

I learned about the native beliefs behind the region that I was not aware of and was educated as to how something like this formed.

See the Movie... visit the site... it was worth the drive !

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Tower National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Devil's Tower National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devil's Tower National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.