We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all boxes for a bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grumpy's Sports Restaurant

Grumpy's Sports Restaurant
361 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
760-934-8587
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 74 restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ticks all boxes for a bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Found this bar by chance when everything else seemed closed. I cannot comment on the food here as I have not eaten but the staff were excellent and provided good service all night. Nice atmosphere and plenty of arcade machines to keep you entertained between sips of beer. Good selection of drinks and the jukebox was wicked. Good night had by all!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    13
    13
    10
    2
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Grumpy's is all about fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We happened to go into Grumpy's while just looking for a place to sit down and eat. The people were friendly and not grumpy at all. The service was super fast. The food was really good. I had the philly cheese steak which I rarely can find a good one outside of Pats and genos in Philadelphia. This steak was so authentic, it even had the cheese sauce like Geno's. Loved it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Seriously Bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Service in this place was a true nightmare. While waiting for her to acknowledge our table I could see her doing a shot with the bartender. No wonder she got our order entirely wrong. She never brought the bottle water I requested with my drink and after waiting past the time we would have tried a second round I went to the bar to order. The bartender was so sloshed and I decided it was time to go. I'm not sure why we even stayed as long as we did. The food was not edible the drinks were weak. And the service was embarrassing to witness.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Memorable - in more ways than one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Let me qualify this by saying I can't comment on the food at this place. The reason? I've never eaten there.
But what I really have to remark on is the barman. Picture this. We walked in, a year after our previous visit, our sights set on that in which America leads the world. The Martini, that is.
Before we could open our mouths to order two, the barman recited with perfect accuracy our preferred specification, from the brand of vodka right down to the olive.
OK, middle-aged Brits half asleep from jet lag are in a minority in this neck of the woods, so maybe we made an impression on our first visit. Maybe he keeps an album of mugshots behind the bar, with my photo included among the rows of stern faces, like one of those rollcalls at Alacatraz.
Either way we were impressed. With staff like this, who cares about food?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Grumpy's service is beyond wonderful! Great drink selection too...nice place to relax and catch up with friends...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grumpy's Sports Restaurant also viewed

Mammoth Lakes, CA
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Grumpy's Sports Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grumpy's Sports Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.