We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Traditional Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes to your Saves list
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2963 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546-2179   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Now!
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
San Francisco Bay Area
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Traditional Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

A very good place to stay for three nights while dayhiking in Mammoth Lakes and my third time here--didn't stay the last time only because the place was fully booked. If there was a problem, it was that our room hadn't been made up when returning around lunchtime from a morning trip--the maid had been right there in the hallway when we left so we assumed our room was next-- but that was taken care of later that afternoon; otherwise, the sleeping quarters are fine, clean and roomy. The A/C, albeit noisy, functions well. Don't expect too much of a view from the window. Staff was friendly for the most part, especially the asian lady downstairs who tended to the breakfast area. Since my last visit, they added a self-operating waffle maker to the continental breakfast, which is a nice touch, so I hope they keep that! There may be no in-house restaurant but there's one within walking distance and a McDonald's straight across from the front entry. The jacuzzi functions well, towels are available in the spa area and the pool is the right temp, though the ceiling was undergoing some maintenance. They do have one PC in the lobby available for internet access though it could use an upgrade.

  • Liked — Access, well-maintained, decent staff
  • Disliked — Elevator could be a tad faster!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    53
    48
    24
    17
See reviews for
57
62
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

This hotel is a real tourist trap. The AAA rating is a joke. The rooms were very basic, lots of things out of order : shower curtain torn, stains on the towels, toilet running all night. The beds are very unconfortable. The room smelled of dogs. I would honestly say that the pets are treated better than the people staying in this hotel !

The only positive thing about this place is the friendly staff. If I were them, I would look for another job !

We paid over 250 Dollars for a room with 2 queen beds. The breakfast was included but we skipped that: it was too bad for words.

Do yourself a favor when you go to Mammoth Lakes: skip the Shilo Inn !!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing !
  • Disliked — Where do I start ????
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, Ca
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

Our whole experience started off on the wrong foot. We checked in at 6:30 p.m., well after the check in time. We were given a room and when we went to the room we found the door open and the room not completely cleaned. We called the front desk and were given another room. This room was clean but the TV didn't work. Having been in two rooms in this hotel I would have to say that they owners of this hotel don't really care what this hotel looks like . The microwaves were circa 1972 and the decor was in that time period too. Could use some updating. The hotel staff was ambivelent and sometimes rude. The bed had what looked like a blood stain on the side of the mattress. If I could have checked out and gotten my money back I would have. There cancellation policy is ridiculous also. You have to cancel 48 hours before your intended stay. Now if you were traveling and had an unexpected problem where does that leave you? My family and I can honestly say we will never stay at a Shilo Inn again. "Their slogan"affordale Excellence" is so not true.

  • Liked — If I had to pick somethhing it would have to be the pool ,it was somewhat clean.
  • Disliked — Everything, but mostly the rooms.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Top Contributor
404 reviews 404 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our way on a cross country road trip with our two Shelties. This hotel is very pet friendly, with biscuits in the lobby (except you pay a $25 fee for your canine companions). It is conveniently situated in Mammoth Lakes, pretty much close to everything (within walking distance and there are many sidewalks and paths). The beds weren't the most comfortable--kind of flat and basic and the pillows could either use a total overhaul or just a lot more per bed (flat, flat, flat), but the bathroom amenities were great smelling and the shampoo left my hair shiny and full of body. The breakfast buffet is mainly an offering of carbs, tea, coffee and juice. These are the reasons I give this hotel a three as opposed to something higher.

  • Liked — location and their pet policy
  • Disliked — the beds and pillows
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, AZ
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

The Shiloh is a fantastic hotel, especially given the low standards of "non-resort" lodging in the Mammoth area, and I am eternally grateful that we stumbled upon it. After bailing out on Convict Lake (they promised Internet service & cell reception when I booked-- oops!) we went driving around Mammoth Lakes looking for a good place. After being disgusted by the conditions at the Holiday and Quality Inns, we decided to give the Shiloh a try. SO glad we did!

The first thing that stood out when we asked the desk about the amenities (thanks, Jamie!) was the 24-hour pool. Now, I don't know about you, but I'd never stayed in a place with a 24-hour pool, and it was definitely a boon to our travel-sore bodies. I'm sure it's great for un-cramping after a long day of skiing in the winter, as well. The TVs were a little small, and the hallway smelled faintly of sweat, but other than that the place was a steal at $115/night, especially compared to the alternatives. Recommend heartily.

  • Liked — 24-hour pool!
  • Disliked — TVs from the 80s.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

After reading some of the negative reviews we weren't expecting much, but were pleasantly surprised by our stay. Our room was clean and in good repair, no strange smells or dirty linens. The front desk staff were very helpful with local info on places of interest. The continental breakfast was good, not a huge variety of items but we didn't go hungry. The pool was a hit with our kids, the sauna and whirlpool were good though the steam room did not appear to be working. Our dog was welcomed and loved the jar of treats on the front desk! We found this to be a good base for our eastern Sierra explorations. Overall, a pleasant experience for a chain hotel.

  • Liked — Room fridge and microwave, the pool
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

After checking out several hotels in the area, we felt that the Shilo Inn offered the best price for the ammenities it had. We were told a price of two hundred and nine dollars a night and booked a room directly with them for 4 people. Later, we found out that we would have a 5th person travelling with us, so we called the Inn and inquired about an extra person charge. We were told twenty dollars a night. But after our stay, when the bill arrived, we had been charged for three extra people at sixty dollars per night. We were told that the room rate was for two people even though they never said that initially when we asked for the nightly rate and told them we had 4 people staying. I think they were deceptive in their quote. Be sure to get your rate in writing for the number of people you have or your stay could be a lot more expensive than you planned.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes

Address: 2963 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546-2179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Shilo Inn Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.