We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - shame about the breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes to your Saves list
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2963 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546-2179   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Now!
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - shame about the breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed one night. Located on the edge of the town, close to a McDonalds and the Visitor Centre. Large clean room with king bed on third floor. Comfortable bed, sofa, flat screen TV, coffee maker, fridge and microwave. Indoor pool and small fitness room.
Clean bathroom and shower.
Close to a few shops and restaurants.
Complimentary continental breakfast was poor, laid out on a table in the lobby with very few tables and chairs available in a small room adjacent to the fitness room. The selection of food was also very poor. They do need to sort out the breakfast situation as it detracts from what could be a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear gerardty,

We appreciate the nice comments about the room you stayed in at the Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes location. We are sorry you did not enjoy our complimentary breakfast. When this amenity came to be the rage of all lodging, we did have some difficulty in finding room for it. We apologize that it seemed a bit cramped. We do the best we can with the space available hoping that this complimentary amenity to our guests is valued as a good thing.

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    64
    54
    24
    17
See reviews for
60
72
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south staffs
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

One night stay on route to Vegas . very large rooms and clean. Pretty basic breakfast room and food ok .
Quite central . Friendly staff .
Eating places and shops nearby .
Secure free parking.Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear joebloggsSouthStaffs,

Thank you for your positive review of our Shilo Inn, Mammoth Lakes. We are delighted you stay was enjoyable. We will be sure the staff is commended for their great customer service.
We look forward to your return to any one of our Shilo locations.

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasently surprised. The room was extremely clean and very large. I'm not a big breakfast eater but they had plenty of choices - even freshly made waffles. Only negative was the outdated furniture and TV. We aren't TV watchers but this may be a negative for some people. I would definately stay here again.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear lah0718,

Thank you for telling us about your stay at Shilo Inns Mammoth Lakes. We are very proud of our staff and their attention to the details. We are glad to hear that the room was clean. Many guests have commented on the ‘roominess’ of their rooms as well. We are in the process of upgrading and many of our rooms do have a larger TV. We appreciate that you will return to Shilo as our return guests are very important to us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sydney Brayton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night while passing through. Rooms are large, clean, and have new mattresses. There is a nice pool and covered parking. Continental breakfast is included. Right on the main road into town. Good value. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear MandB31,

Thank you for adding your review to Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Shilo Inn Mammoth Lakes. We know there are many choices one can make when it comes to Lodging and we just want you to know that we appreciate your choice to stay with us. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you into Mammoth Lakes.

Sydney Brayton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I love this place! The rooms are tidy and have every amenity you need. The place is older but well maintained and the staff is friendly. Breakfast items provided are healthy, which is perfect for a day on the slopes. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear local73,

Thank you so much for the kind review. I will be sure to share your great comments with the staff. We all certainly hope you had a memorable trip to Mammoth Lakes and hope to see you at the Shilo Inn again very soon!

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

It seems like this facility was put together by handymen. Where ever we looked there were signs of shoddy workmanship and low quality materials being used. The wooden moldings around the elevator door frame were totally misaligned. The bathroom door in our room was so flimsy that somebody was able to poke hole in it. The faucet handle with the Shilo Inn logo was upside down and the warm/cold water reversed. The walls are so poorly insulated that you could hear every toilet flush from other rooms. The room itself was spacious, nicely furnished and cozy. Staff was friendly and courteous. Breakfast was adequate. $125.00 for an offseason room was a bit high. I probably would stay in this motel again. I just wish they would upgrade the quality a notch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Klausmac,

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. We do not want our hotel to reflect shoddy workmanship. We will address your concerns to our maintenance department. Thank you for the kind comments regarding our staff. They will be happy to know that their customer service did not go unnoticed. If you could drop a quick e-mail to mammothlakesmanager@shiloinns.com and let us know what room you were in, we could quickly get that faucet handle turned around as well. We look forward to your return to Mammoth Lakes Shilo.

Sincerely,

Sydney B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Went to Mammoth Lakes for the night before we ventured out in the morning to Mono Lake and Bodie. Was a very pleasant stay. A strictly non-smoking hotel. Will get fined $300 if caught smoking. Just fine with me as I don't smoke. Not a 5-star hotel but the stay was pleasant. Courteous staff. Everything seems big at Mammoth (food orders, etc...) There was just some weird smell along the lobby. We requested a king room but when we went to the room it was 2 queens. We called front desk and immediately found us a king by the 2nd floor. At the 3rd floor there was this smell (kind of like a skunk smell) but when we got to the 2nd floor it was the same. It was a fleeting smell just in the mid section but gone as we got closer to the elevator area.

Room Tip: I assume all the rooms are spacious. We had a king room and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Sue L,

Thank you for your comments and we do appreciate the nice things you said about the staff. We do apologize for the mix up on bed type but we are pleased it was resolved quickly. As smells come and go when dealing with a lot of people everyday, we are glad it wasn’t lingering. We try our best to make our hotel as comfortable as possible and sometimes a guest may break the rules and smoke in our non-smoking rooms causing odors we may not like. I hope that helps explain the smells you encountered.

We hope you will return to any one of our great Shilo locations and would love to see you again in Mammoth Lakes.

Sincerely,

Sydney B
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.2 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 757 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
1.2 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes

Address: 2963 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546-2179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Shilo Inn Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.