We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes to your Saves list
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2963 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546-2179   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Now!
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
New York
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a room with 2 queen beds and lots of space to spread out. The rooms are quite large wtih plenty of table top space to put our bags and other paraphernalia. The decor is of the 50's built-ins, but all in decent condition. Beds were comfortable, and the room clean. We did not have a chance to use the indoor pool, which looked fine. Service was okay. Hot drinks and a very few continental breakfast items offered; selection nothing like the spread found at the chain hotel breakfasts, but nice to have coffee and muffin to at least get one out the door.

It is located on the main street, not far from the highway. Walking distance to some shops and a few restaurants; easy drive, bike or walk up the hill on the main road to more of same and the sights of Mammoth Mountain or the lakes area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear PokeyPaddler,


Thank you for taking the time to review the Shilo Inn in Mammoth Lakes, CA. It is nice to hear our larger rooms are appreciated by our guests. It is one of the features we are guests appreciate the most. We also thank you for acknowledging the cleanliness of the room and the convenience to all that Mammoth Lakes offers. We look forward to your visits in the future at any one of our convenient Shilo Inn locations.

Sincerely,

Sydney B
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    49
    48
    24
    16
See reviews for
55
62
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as our clients picked it. In my opinion there are much better options out there for the price we paid. Pros/Cons

Pros:
-Big rooms
-Good staff

Cons:
-Wifi barely reached my room for cell phones. Needs to be stronger, was okay for the laptop.
-Breakfast was very basic and not appetizing at all. It made McDonald's a viable option for breakfast.
-tv was old school tube tv and small. The selection of channels was poor.
-Beds were okay but not great.
-A lot of noise outside got into my room. I was looking over a breakfast diner and gas bar.
-Water did not taste well and was cloudy for several minutes before settling. No bottle water in the room.

In the end this hotel needs some serious updating. It is not up to the level of all the other hotels I stayed at for business. They still use room keys as a physical key which sums up everything to me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Edward M,

Thank you for your review of the Shilo Inn Suites in Mammoth Lakes, CA. We appreciate the good review for the staff and are happy that you liked the spacious room. Since Mammoth Lakes has only one service provider for internet, we all suffer a little. We are currently updating our rooms to flatscreen tv’s (some are complete, some are not). We would love to have you come back to Mammoth Lakes and we can assign you to one of the rooms with the upgraded amenitites. We are very lucky to have good drinking water out of the tap and am a bit perplexed at the ‘cloudy water’ you mentioned. We will look into the unsatisfactory water supply. We at the hotel wish we could change the ‘view’ from some of the rooms, unfortunately, that’s progress. Please ask for a 4th floor room facing west next time you stay so you will have the scenic view of Mammoth Mountain. Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have stayed at the Shilo Inn in Mammoth Lakes California several times, however this trip was way above the other times we have stayed there. The staff was very warm and made you fell like you were very important, the rooms were clean and housekeeping was spot on with everything. We had the plesure of meeting the General Manager Ms. Brayton, she was very friendly and made sure we were pleased with everything. Great stay!!! Thank you Shilo!!!

Room Tip: We travel with our dog, so far all the rooms we have stayed in have been very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Sandy D,

Your review was so refreshing. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Shilo Inn Mammoth Lakes. It is so nice to hear that our efforts to offer great customer service and quality rooms has paid off.

We are also glad to hear that our Dog Friendly rooms were clean and comfortable as well. We hope to see you again on the Mountain, as well as any one of our other great Shilo Inn locations.


Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Inn at Mammoth Lakes now has now air conditioners and new TVs in some of the rooms - be sure to ask. As time goes by, there will be more. The staff is knowledgeable about the area and there are many inexpensive places to eat near by - such as the Breakfast Club (cash only / closes at 1:00) and the Good Life plus a good Italian place near the grocery store.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a new AC & TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear CandC_V,

Thank you for the great review. We enjoy hearing all the good things our guests have to say! And we appreciate your patronage. We promise to continue to “improve” as you stated. We take pride in our customer service and are glad to hear it’s working. We hope to continue to see you when you visit again at any one of our hotels in the Shilo Family.

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Accommodations at the Shilo Inn were arranged by the leader of the photography workshop that I was attending. The room was large, included a wet bar area with refrigerator and microwave. The sink was outside of the bathroom and included a make-up seat and table. Also in the room was a table with two chairs, large enough for eating. The stay at Shilo included continental breakfast which begins around 7:00 AM. Our photography group left the hotel at 4:15 to 4:45 AM each morning. The hotel arranged for a modified continental breakfast before our outing each day. This was very helpful and greatly appreciated. The staff are polite and aim to please. The group was also allowed to use a large room on the second floor where we could see our photos and obtain workshop lessons using a projector.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fourth floor. One night we had a great view of a beautiful sunset. The elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Picturetaker10,

Thank you for the great review, and my I say, we enjoyed your group as well. It was a pleasure to provide you with clean and comfortable accommodations as well as exceptional customer service. I will certainly share your comments with our staff. We hope your group and many others will make Shilo Inns their #1 choice in group accommodations in the future.

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton, General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquille, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at Shilo Inn on our way to Reno. We found the reception desk clerk very friendly and
helpful, the property was clean, however we could not "control" the a/c heater it was either too warm or too cold. The plug between the beds was very loose and plugs fell out of it. The clock radio did not work, even when it was plugged in the minute button was broken. The light bulb in the bedside lamp burned out so we had to take out one from the table lamp on the desk. we left the burned out bulb on the desk thinking that the houskeeping would replace it, they did not. We found it a nice place however the rates where not condusive to the older hotel. We will not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear cribbabe,

Thank you for your review. We strive to give all our guests a clean and comfortable stay. It sounds like we need to make a few minor repairs to the room you were in. Regarding the light bulb, I do believe we trained our housekeepers to not touch the items in a guests’ room so well that they were simply following the rules. Our 24 hour staff certainly would have brought a new light bulb to the room immediately had we known about it. If you would kindly give the hotel a call @ 760-934-4500 or email me at mgrmamm@shiloinns.com I would love to talk more about your experience and I would love to be able to replace the broken alarm clock you found in your room to make the room ready for our next guests.
Your patronage is important to Shilo and would love to hear from you so we may personally apologize for your experience.

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Shilo Inn is dated. Old tube tv ! Premium price for older hotel and lack of designated breakfast area. Hotel lacks more parking space. However, it is clean and we did not have any trouble. Location is quiet, too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shiloinns, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear DZZY,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Shilo Inn, Mammoth Lakes. We are sorry you were not shown the covered parking or the designated Breakfast area, two very important things when staying at a hotel. We are also sorry that your room had the old ‘tube’ TV. We are in the process of updating and all rooms at this time are not complete. We do appreciate the good review on the cleanliness and quietness of your room and we hope the next time you stay with us, request an updated room and based upon availability we will be very pleased to see that we fulfill that request.

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes

Address: 2963 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546-2179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Shilo Inn Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.