We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of sleeping beds in Mountainback # 3” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountainback at Mammoth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mountainback at Mammoth to your Saves list
Mountainback at Mammoth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 Lakeview Dr, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Aliso Viejo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Plenty of sleeping beds in Mountainback # 3”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Mountain Back # 3 is beautiful. Updated kitchen and bathrooms. The kitchen opens up into the living room so as I cook I can see the mountains, TV, fireplace and interact with my family. Wood stocked fireplace is provided and stunning mountain views from living room and both bedrooms.
The "kids bedroom" or bedroom # 2 can sleep many. Bunk beds with a twin on top, double bottom and pull out trundle. Queen sleeper sofa by the cozy fireplace. Condo is stocked with games to play and everything you need in the kitchen. We take the free shuttle in the morning to the mountains and stroll back to the condo after skiing to take in the pretty walk home. We liked it so much that we're going back next week!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
12
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coto de Caza, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Who knew Autumn in Mammoth was so beautiful? September is warm and sunny and the trees and grass are changing color. This condo (#9) is in an excellent location, walking distance to shopping and restaurants, beautiful view of the mountains and pine trees. Extremely clean, roomy and cozy. The newly remodeled kitchen is stocked with everything you could possibly need to make great meals, many appliances. We loved that there were 3 bathrooms and the master bath had heated floors. You know it is a great place when you are already planning your next trip before your current vacation is over!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We traveled to Mammoth two weeks ago with 2 other couples and had plenty of room. Just down the hill from Canyon Lodge, this unit offers a shuttle service to the slopes as well as a ski locker at the lodge. It is also situated just above the Mammoth Village and is a short walk to restaurants and shops. Underground parking makes it easy to unload in any kind of weather. The fully equipped redesigned kitchen made it very easy to cook our gourmet meals. Comfortable beds and plenty of private space for each couple. Highly recommended! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We went up and stayed at Mountainback Condos #9 for the Thanksgiving Holiday weekend and it was absolutely perfect! The condo is very large and slept not only our family of 4, but we also had a couple aunts and uncles stay with us too because there was extra room. The upstairs loft area has its own bathroom and was perfect for our daughters to have their own space and hang out area to play. The hall closet was completely stocked with great board games and we really just hung around the fire as a family and played games and watched the beautiful scenery. A great place to stay and the owners really take care of the condo so nothing is old or junky. Planning to make this a annual tradition for sure!

Room Tip: Mountain Back Unit #9 is absolutely beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We recently stayed in unit 9 at Mountainback, what a lovely condo. The owners did a great job decorating and appointing it with all the comforts of home. They even went above and beyond, with a foot massager for après ski and heated tile floors. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at Mountain Back unit 112. The condo was nice, a dated but comfortable. My main complaint was with housekeeping. There were 6 people staying in this condo, we were left with one bar of soap, two rolls of toilet paper, dish soap that was almost empty etc. the pot holders were filthy, and the two dish towels that we were given, were so worn that they barely dried anything. We stayed 5 nights and only 1 fire starter was in the unit when we got there. On day two, we drove to the off site management company, Mammoth Properties Reservations, and I asked at the desk for more fire starters. I was told that they were swamped, and that they would have to have housekeeping return later in the day and get some from them. They told me that we would need to come back later as well and pick them up as sending housekeeping to us was not an option. I just stood there looking at the gal at the desk....trying to keep my cool as I had just come from the market and bought extra supplies, as mentioned above, soap, dish detergent and now we were going to have to drive back hours later to get the fire starter. All of a sudden, she pulls out a box from under the counter and it was filled with fire starter!! Needless to say, better organization is needed and if we need to drive to the management to get supplies, then they should have them on site so guests can go in once and get what is needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoomom76
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We drove to Mammoth to pick up our kids after a 120 mile hike. What a wonderful place to be able to bring them to for a hot shower, comfortable bed and fabulous kitchen facilities. We stayed for 3 days and LOVED the area. The only negative is that there was a leak from our tub that sent water into the parking garage. Fortunately, it didn't happen until we were leaving, so no inconvenience to us.

Room Tip: Not all units are updated, so check the photos carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountainback at Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainback at Mammoth

Address: 435 Lakeview Dr, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountainback at Mammoth 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mountainback at Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainback At Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Mountainback At Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountainback at Mammoth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.