We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountainback at Mammoth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mountainback at Mammoth to your Saves list
Mountainback at Mammoth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 Lakeview Dr, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
zoomom76
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We drove to Mammoth to pick up our kids after a 120 mile hike. What a wonderful place to be able to bring them to for a hot shower, comfortable bed and fabulous kitchen facilities. We stayed for 3 days and LOVED the area. The only negative is that there was a leak from our tub that sent water into the parking garage. Fortunately, it didn't happen until we were leaving, so no inconvenience to us.

Room Tip: Not all units are updated, so check the photos carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
11
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canyon Lake, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We rented unit 47 from 2/23/12 through 2/25/12. We arrived late afternoon and didn't realize we had no hot water until the property management office was closed. They had failed to turn on the hot water heater for our condo and we couldn't get a hold of anyone until the office opened back up at 9am on the following morning. After I went to the office at 9am I was told they would send up a guy to turn it on when he came in at 9:30. So much for a hot shower before our scheduled meetings that day. The person in the office showed no remorse for their failure and when I told them I would find a way to contact the owner of our unit 47, she said "go ahead, please tell them." I said, "I cant believe you just said that" and she replied, "go ahead and tell them" once again. Horrible attitude as it's not like I'm staying at a motel 6 for $49 a night, we are paying $250 a night and expect better customer service and a reasonable attitude.
Then we open up a cabinet and find a container of stale croissants dated 10/11. This was especially appetizing when we were getting ready to eat.
Our complaint is not with the owner of unit 47 but with the horrible property management. I'm sure the owner has no idea about the way the management mistreats their customers and that's a crime since they pay them 40% of the rental amount.
We will NEVER stay at Mountainback condos again!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Management has a horrible attitude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff D, Manager at Mountainback at Mammoth, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
We are very sorry for any inconvenience this guest may have experienced. Mountainback staff is onsite and on call 24/7/365 for emergency assistance. We repaired the problem within about one half hour after being notified that the water heater was not working. The breaker had popped and needed to be reset. We understand that things like this can set visitors off on a bad start to their vacation, but we cannot foresee every possible problem than can occur with a vacation rental. We can only fix the problem as soon as we are notified. In this case we could have fixed the problem the night before if we knew about it. If you read the rest of our reviews you will see that Mountainback is still the place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Large complex off Lake Mary Rd (convenient): 10+ buildings of 12 units each of varying interior qualities and sizes. Good sizes, sleeping up to 12 in some larger units. Parking is below the units, at grade, with the smaller units one floor up and the larger 2-story units on the top floor. So the entrance to the top floor units is actually the 3rd floor, and those units have an interior loft or second story (4th floor). It's a lot of stairs, and can be a challenge in the high altitude.

You get two parking spaces; street parking is limited, and restricted at night. They give you one overflow parking spot as well, but that's in a dirt lot. The office and main pool (small) and jacuzzi are centrally located; additional smaller hot tubs are located between the buildings. Service is friendly, helpful and efficient.

Units are a bit dated, but many have been upgraded so check out the website for the best options. Prices are VERY reasonable considering the unit sizes. There is no additional cleaning deposit or fee (great deal!) and daily towel service is included. Cable TV and internet are included and reliable.

With a location halfway between the lakes and downtown, it's convenient and easily accessible off a major road. If it weren't for the stairs, it'd be perfect, and even dealing with the stairs it's a good option for summer travel in Mammoth.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Condo very comfortable. Bit dark inside and balconies/views very disappointing but we enjoyed the stay as quite luxurious/weel-equipped inside compared to hotels/apartments during our holiday. Mammoth itself not very interesting but but very close to lakes etc. Very quiet when we were there. Swimming pool an asset.
Town so empty in summer you could probably get somewhere even better and cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

I booked a large group, we had 5 condos. The condos were wonderful, clean, nicely decorated. The proximity to the Canyon Lodge is a plus. The kitchen was well stocked with plenty of appliances, pots, pans, dishes, etc. There was plenty of firewood. The beds were comfortable. The jacuzzis were hot and everyone enjoyed them. Very nice.
There are no elevators, so if you have a condo on the third floor, be prepared for some huffing and puffing. With food and ski gear, it is a workout!
If you plan on booking here, especially with a group: BEWARE of parking issues; They tell you, three parking spots per unit. If you have more than 3 cars coming, you may end up having one park near the entrance to town in the RV park. (at $10 per night and sevderal miles away) This results in a logistical nightmare. It is illegal to park in parking lots or on the streets during snow season.(it doesn't say this part on the web site)
Whatever you do, don't deal with the girl at the front desk, by phone or otherwise if you have problems. The only word in her vocabulary is "NO!" She is not able to say, "Let's see what we can do to solve your problem, maybe we can work this out, etc. (actually, we encountered two unfriendly women at the desk) The answer is always "NO.", "Not possible", "Those are the rules." (period). I had to ask to see the manager, who was just the opposite, and solved our problem immediately. I would have given this place a zero for customer service if I had not taken the initiative to talk to the manger. .
The manager, on the other hand was very helpful with our parking issues and was quick to give us overflow parking. It was no big deal to him, however it was an impossible task when dealing with the front office help. ?
The entrances to the different buildings, which are stretched all along the street are not marked and it is difficult to find your unit the first time you arrive, especially if you arrive after hours. They do provide a map on the website, and it is HIGHLY recommended you print and take it with you if you arrive at night.
The buildings are spread out, so if you have a group, and multiple condos, your group is likely to be scattered up and down the street.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin Ranch, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

I have stayed at this Condo a handfull of times. We try and visit at least once during the summer for mountainbiking and hiking and a few times during the winter months for skiing and snowboarding. This condo is located just a short walk up to Canyon Lodge (Chair 16) and really couldny be in a better location. The parking is underground which keeps your vehical warm and safe. The condo itself is big and cozy and there is a lot of space to spread out and relax. . Its on the 2nd story so there are great views of the area around the condo. The Master bedroom is huge with a king bed and has its own bathroom and shower/tub. The second bedroom is nice and has a queen bed and a full bathroom right outside the door. the loft is also great because it has two twin beds and its own full bathroom upstairs. The kitchen is a good size with all the appliances you would need to cook, make coffee, and entertain your family and friends. There is also plenty of space to store your jackets coats, etc. You also have a full washer and dryer if you are planning on staying a while. The living room is nice too; there is a 40 inch LCD flat screen TV (so bring your xbox360 or playstation); and the real wood fireplace is such a warm touch in the winter; with plenty of wood stored conveniently on the patio. There is also high speed internet. If you are looking for a wonderfull place to stay during the winter or summer; I would defintely consider this Condo.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We went with a large group that rented several units. Our family shared a unit with another couple. The units are very comfortable, very clean and convenient. Well equipped kitchens. You must go upstairs from the underground parking, no elevator. We are going back again in 2009. Good, solid value. Lots to do: we hiked, kayaked, road and mountain biked, shopped and more.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountainback at Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainback at Mammoth

Address: 435 Lakeview Dr, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountainback at Mammoth 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Mountainback at Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainback At Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Mountainback At Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountainback at Mammoth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.