We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMFY COZY SUITE WITH AMAZING STAFF!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“COMFY COZY SUITE WITH AMAZING STAFF!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My fiance and I decided to do a spontaneous trip for Memorial Day weekend. Since I had never been to Mammoth before we decided to pack up the car and GO! Making reservations was a breeze! The staff was so professional and accommodating. The resort is centrally located. You can walk, take the free trolley or take a cab. They even have a mini golf course!

Once we arrived to our room we were greeted with champagne! FAB!! Our room was so cozy and romantic with an adorable fireplace.

Rafters, the restaurant next door, was great! Good food and great drinks!

We both had a spa day and the spa was AMAZING! Honestly, I wasn't expecting much from the spa but I was pleasantly surprised. I had the most amazing massage and Epicuren facial!

The staff was so great about recommendations. We even got to go to some hot springs that the "locals" go to.

The Sierra Nevada Resort felt like home away from home! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    122
    46
    15
    11
See reviews for
132
170
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the first time my wife and I stayed at Sierra Nevada Resort and Spa, from the get go we were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite. This may have had something to do with the fact that it was the slow season, but I am not complaining. The room was very clean and the maid service was very attentive to our needs. We had a front porch with incredible views of the Mountains. It was convenient being able to walk to the restaurant on property, which was reasonably priced and quite good. My wife had a spa treatment and came back to the room drooling (seriously). The bed was extremely comfortable and we had plenty of pillows. This review is not just directed at the room and service as with most hotel reviews, it is broadly directed at the property as a whole. Although we did not play mini golf, we enjoyed watching the kids from our porch. We would recommend this place and will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MVE, General Manager at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Bobby J.,

Thank you for taking the time to post this spectacular feedback from your recent stay at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa – where we are very proud to say we offer more luxuries than any other room in town. In addition to the wonderful amenities you enjoyed, we also have a historic wood bar, pool table, and computer station in our very sociable lobby; a swimming pool; property-wide WiFi; 3 wonderful onsite restaurants; 4 lively bars; an onsite ski and snowboard rental shop; a dry sauna and steam room.

We are so pleased your expectations were surpassed and you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to your return!

Thank you again,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fireside suite was excellent in the very cold weather when we visited. Rooms are self contained if you want to use this facility. We live in the tropics so the gas open fire and heated bathroom floor were extremely enjoyable as well as useful to us. Tessie at reception was very helpful with her advice and knowledge of the region. all up a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MVE, General Manager at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kroe55,

Thank you for posting this wonderful review of your recent stay at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, the newest and nicest destination resort in Mammoth Lakes. We take great pride in offering more amenities than any other resort in the area. The cornerstone of our recently-renovated resort is our complete dedication to providing exceptional levels of guest service, and we are delighted to learn how much you appreciated our friendly and attentive team in addition to our luxurious amenities.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return!

Thank you much,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This property was extremely nice and my family enjoyed staying here very much. Family circumstances caused us to have to change our plans just a few days in advance and this property was willing to accommodate a change in our reservation. We are extremely appreciative that they worked with us, as a property in Arnold California (Mountain Retreat) was unwilling to make any exceptions. For this, we highly recommend this hotel for it's customer service, flexibility and overall great stay. We are frequent travelers and will be repeat visitors here each year. We did not have time to take advantage of the many activities going on at this resort as we were in a rush, but really enjoyed the ambience of the lodge, hot chocolate, coffee, fireplace, pool table. It was very comforting to walk into that environment as it was quite chilly outdoors during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MVE, General Manager at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Julie R,

Thank you for taking the time to post this flattering feedback from your stay at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa – where we are very proud to say we offer more luxuries than any other room in town. The wonderful amenities you can look forward to next year include a swimming pool; property-wide WiFi; 3 wonderful onsite restaurants; 4 lively bars; an onsite ski and snowboard rental shop; a dry sauna, steam room and mini golf. We also offer the only spa within a lodging property in the neighborhood.

We are so pleased your expectations were surpassed and you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to your return!

Thank you again,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our response crews stayed here for over 6 weeks and I can’t say thank you enough for taking care of us. This was our home away from home. Many great restaurants with walking distance and central to all. This is an excellent resort, great staff, and clean rooms. This is the place you want to find on TripAdvisor by reading reviews. And yes the spa was excellent, I used it a number of times. I even brought up my family for a week and they took care of us. Emily was great in the kid center, we played many games of miniature golf (on-site and free), and took advantage of the biking trails. We look forward to coming back this summer when the pool is open. Book the fireplace suites if you want a great upgrade or a chalet if you have kids.Thanks SNRP for the great stay.

Room Tip: I would chose the chalets if you have a family or fireplace suites with the heated floors if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MVE, General Manager at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Todd T,

Thank you for this glowing review of your 6 week stay at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, the newest and nicest destination resort in Mammoth Lakes. In the past year, we've undergone an extensive renovation project. We've upgraded many of the rooms on our property, including: new heaters, air conditioning, new refrigerators, new furniture, new mattresses, new showers, new sinks, new fixtures, new LED lights, new counters, and real tile. Our fireplace suites now include heated floors, heated toilet seats, and soaking tubs as well. We are pleased to hear our recent renovations were appreciated and felt like home to you!

It was such a pleasure having you and your response crew with us. We look forward to providing you with more of our genuine mountain hospitality when you return!

Thank you,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Staff at Sierra Nevada Resort and Spa were outstanding. The property is centrally located. Check in was a breeze, Rafters restaurant has the best mac and cheese and service is excellent. The room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and will be back this summer for another visit.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very clean and comfortable enviroment. Enjoyed dinner at Rafters with our server Nathan who was very friendly and helpful. We have stayed here before and every experience has been great, During our stay it snowed 12 inches the night we were there. It was very impressive that early the next morning the staff was out clearing walkways, entrances to the multiple dwellings and parking lots. This effort was appreciated, Highly recommend this relaxed location.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MVE, General Manager at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Ofdff,

Thank you for taking the time to post this spectacular feedback from your recent stay at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa – where we are very proud to say we offer more luxuries than any other room in town. In addition to the wonderful amenities you mentioned, we also offer the only spa within a lodging property in the neighborhood; a historic wood bar, pool table, and computer station in our very sociable lobby; a swimming pool; property-wide WiFi; 3 wonderful onsite restaurants; 4 lively bars; an onsite ski and snowboard rental shop; a dry sauna and steam room and mini golf.

We've also undergone an extensive renovation project in the past year. We've updated many of the rooms on our property, including: new heaters, air conditioning, new refrigerators, new furniture, new mattresses, new showers, new sinks, new fixtures, new LED lights, new counters, and real tile. Our fireplace suites now include heated floors, heated toilet seats, and soaking tubs as well.

We are so pleased your expectations were surpassed and you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to your return!

Thank you again,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Address: 164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa is your headquarters for memorable Mammoth vacations. Offering more activities and amenities than any other hotel in Mammoth, the stylish and comfortable lobby exudes rustic elegance and array of romantic and family-style rooms bring the Resort's colorful past firmly into the present. Our beautifully appointed rooms feature romantic suites and family style chalets along with comfortable deluxe king and double queen rooms. Relax at Mammoth's only hotel Spa, specializing in massage, body treatments, facials, couples massage and manicure/pedicures. Kids can have great fun at the Cub Club, where they can play XBoxOne, create and explore, enjoy Mini Golf, movies and games, all in a supervised environment. Try our three outstanding restaurants; Rafters Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast and dinner along with an extensive wine and cocktail selection. Live music and happy hours are favorites of locals and visitors alike. Red Lantern is open and features classic Chinese dishes in a beautiful setting plus evening take- out. Escape to the Mediterranean at Jimmy's Taverna. Food critics and locals call Jimmy's the "best new restaurant in Mammoth." Freshest seafood and meats are grilled over the wood fire, and the traditional Greek dishes are on the menu every day. Impeccable wine pairings, artisan cocktails and delectable desserts round out a meal experience unlike any other in Mammoth. Join us at the Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa and make Mammoth memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Expedia so you can book your Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Nevada Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.