We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our timing was perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Lincoln, California, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Our timing was perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We got a great deal on a great room with great staff and great meals at the Rafters restaurant. We were there at the start of "shoulder season" for the fall colors around the lakes. We took some of the best pictures we've ever taken because the light and the leaves were just right. To add to that, everything at the hotel exceeded out expectations. Good value, tasty food, quiet room. What's not to like?

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    100
    43
    13
    9
See reviews for
96
134
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here one night and had a drink in the bar where a blackboard stated that there was a Happy Hour from 4pm to 7 pm. However soon found out that the Happy Hour was not available in the hotel bar but in a restaurant next door called Rafters. I think that the blackboard is really misleading, why advertise a Happy Hour that is not in the hotel premises but in a restaurant around the back of the hotel. Barman stated that it was not his job to tell customers where the Happy Hour was available.

I think that this is very poor customer service and only gets customers backs up and is a poor reflection on the hotel with the arrogant attitude of the barman towards customers

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We left the stress of Los Angeles behind and checked into the Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, into another world. High ceilings, lovely views, cozy wood-burning fireplace huge comfortable bed -
and PEACE. Great location - close to restaurants and hiking trails - the kitchen was in great running order and we snuggled up on a seriously comfortable couch and did a lot of nothing..Mammoth - off season - in the Sierra Nevada Resort is a real treat.......

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a wonderful stay at the Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa. The room was excellent including comfortable bed, a fireplace, a large bathroom with a heated toilet and heated floors. The room also had a beautiful view. The amenities were second to none. We played pool, miniature golf, and utilized the outdoor fire pit. There were also great places to eat and bars on the premises. The staff was great. A gentlemen named Jordyn that worked the front desk mapped out beautiful hikes for us, and pointed us in the right direction for other entertainment during our stay. I would highly recommend Sierra Nevada Resort and Spa regardless of if there is snow on the ground at the time or not.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just a fantastic place. All the staff members were wonderful, Jess and the other ladies at the desk gave us great suggestions for within the hotel and around town, and Chris at Rafters was a great bartender. The fireplace suite was perfect, really tastefully done, comfortable bed and leather chairs, underfloor heating in the bathroom, pre-packed grounds and filters for whole pots of coffee, quick and warm gas fireplace, everything new and well-kept. We could walk to the market and restaurants and we enjoyed the jacuzzi and mini golf, and it's within a 15 minutes' drive of the lakes and Devil's Postpile. But most importantly just a beautiful room and nice people, wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBrent, General Manager at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Amartxa,

Thank you for this review of your stay at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa. We are delighted to learn you appreciated the upgrades made to many of our rooms in the last year (air conditioning, new heaters, new LED lights, new mattresses, new furniture, new refrigerators, new sinks, new fixtures, new counters, new showers, and real tile). Additionally, as you mentioned, our fireplace suites now include heated floors, heated toilet seats, and soaking tubs.

A pleasant guest experience is the most important thing to us, and we take great pride in offering exceptional service levels. Although we wish you could have stayed longer as well, we look forward to seeing you again when you return to Mammoth!

Thank you,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On a recent trip to the Mammoth Lake region to see the fall colors, we spent a night at this hotel
(followed by a night at the Tamarack Lodge). The check-in went smoothly and the room we had was quite comfortable with all the niceties (wifi, safe, coffee machine, refrigerator, etc) and appeared to have been recently remodeled. Unfortunately, like most hotels, it was hard to find a spare plug near the bed to recharge phones and computers. Also, unlike the Tamarack Lodge or many other hotels, there was only coffee available in the morning (no complementary breakfast) and in our case, there wasn't even any coffee left (at about 9AM) when we checked out (the person checking us out mentioned that she hadn't gotten around to making more). Also, like most (if not all the hotels in the Mammoth Lake region) the Sierra Nevada Resort charges a "resort" fee of $25 (this was true of the Tamarack Lodge as well) in addition to the occupancy tax. The hotels in the Mammoth Lake region appear to justify a resort fee to pay for the amenities that they claim are free (ie. WIFI, etc). It appears that the only way to avoid this is to stay in Lee Vining (which we did for one night). One should also note that this hotel is essentially in a shopping area (ie. restaurants, shops, etc). So if one is looking for a place to stay on the way to somewhere, this hotel is perfect. However if one is looking for a "destination" hotel, another place would be better (ie. Tamarack Lodge)

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When visiting the Eastern Sierras this month my niece and I stayed at the Sierra Nevada Resort. Check in and check out was friendly and efficient. The room seemed clean and looked like it had been recently updated. It was spacious, and came with a safe, coffee maker, microwave, and fridge. The beds were comfortable. The room was quiet!! (Upstairs). We stayed 2 nights and got 2 good nights' sleep, so we had energy to explore the fall colors we came to see. Wifi worked flawlessly.

A couple of notes for management: all the major things were fine. A few little things, not a big deal, but can get annoying.

1. One trash can only, in the bath room. It would be really nice to have one in the bedroom, next to the desk.

2. The room was updated, but the electronic needs weren't. Electrical outlets need to be conveniently located so people can recharge their cell phones and tablets. Most people take their IPhones and IPads to bed with them and work while they are recharging. Digging under the bed for an extension cord, and finding one that's not even a power strip just doesn't cut it.

Caveat. I normally book hotels that include breakfast. I usually have a big agenda (I'm a hiker and photographer) and need to be on my way quickly. Self serve breakfast works really well for me. At the Sierra Nevada Resort we had to walk over to the Rafters, sit down, order, wait for breakfast, wait for check. The breakfast was delicious. But. This took about an hour longer than had there been a buffet breakfast- like most other hotels serve. I don't mind lingering over dinner, and we did at the Red Lantern. (Excellent!) But I definitely don't want to linger over breakfast when daylight is precious during fall and winter. Bringing my own breakfast is a hassle, too, 'though we did that on day 2.

I really enjoyed my stay at the Sierra Nevada Resort, and would like to stay there again. However the lack of buffet breakfast might be the deal breaker that will probably make me stay elsewhere.

For those who aren't in a hurry in the morning the Sierra Nevada Resort would be an excellent choice.

I did not deduct a star for the lack of breakfast. Since it wasn't offered in the first place I can't in all fairness deduct a star!

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBrent, General Manager at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Cali4niahiker,

Thank you for this valued feedback from your recent stay at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa (as well as your breakfast at Rafters). We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your room and got such good sleep during your stay. That being said, we apologize for the challenges you’ve described with your room. Comments such as these allow us to improve, and we appreciate your input.

In the last year, as you noticed, we’ve made upgrades to many of our rooms (air conditioning, new heaters, new LED lights, new mattresses, new furniture, new refrigerators, new sinks, new fixtures, new counters, new showers, and real tile). Additionally, our fireplace suites now include heated floors, heated toilet seats, and soaking tubs.

We also would like to suggest ordering breakfast from our Room Service menu the next time you stay with us, in order to allow you to expeditiously get on with your plans for the day.

We absolutely hope you return when you visit Mammoth next, in order to have another chance to exceed your expectations!

Thank you,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Address: 164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa is your headquarters for memorable Mammoth vacations. Offering more activities and amenities than any other hotel in Mammoth, the stylish and comfortable lobby exudes rustic elegance and array of romantic and family-style rooms bring the Resort's colorful past firmly into the present. Our beautifully appointed rooms feature romantic suites and family style chalets along with comfortable deluxe king and double queen rooms. Relax at Mammoth's only hotel Spa, specializing in massage, body treatments, facials, couples massage and manicure/pedicures. Kids can have great fun at the Cub Club, where they can play XBoxOne, create and explore, enjoy Mini Golf, movies and games, all in a supervised environment. Try our three outstanding restaurants; Rafters Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast and dinner along with an extensive wine and cocktail selection. Live music and happy hours are favorites of locals and visitors alike. Red Lantern is open and features classic Chinese dishes in a beautiful setting plus evening take- out. Escape to the Mediterranean at Jimmy's Taverna. Food critics and locals call Jimmy's the "best new restaurant in Mammoth." Freshest seafood and meats are grilled over the wood fire, and the traditional Greek dishes are on the menu every day. Impeccable wine pairings, artisan cocktails and delectable desserts round out a meal experience unlike any other in Mammoth. Join us at the Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa and make Mammoth memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Nevada Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.