We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Go Deluxe and Save 30%
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Internet pictures appeared inviting. The rooms looked updated and modern. Room was actually dark and dingy and partially updated. Coffee pot provided but no outlet to plug it into. Shower stall small and shower head too high for such a small area. Bathroom sink did not drain adequately. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    91
    38
    13
    9
See reviews for
91
115
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hutto, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed two nights and enjoyed and loved it. The hotl was being re modeled and you could tell the staff worked very hard to satisfy the customer. Friendly staff and excellent location. The gave us free drinks at the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is my first time to stay in your resort .. There were so many positives, I will just list a few, so as not to go on too long. We brought our two small dogs and for a fee we were very happy to be able to have them with us. The bed was very comfortable, the cleanliness of the rooms, grounds, and lobby , exceptional! There was a young gentleman at the desk, and I witnessed him answering phone calls, checking in customers, and making sure there was coffee, hot and ice water all within just a few minutes.. Very professional! The bartender was also very accommodating .. We will defiantly be back

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My family and I stayed at this hotel and we had a great stay. The hotel was nice, clean and had a ton of stuff for the kids and I to do including miniature golf. The staff to include (Emily) went above and beyond for my family and I which really made the trip an awesome trip. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Mammoth. Thanks to Emily and the rest of the staff for making it a great stay for us!!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Paris, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the resort in mid August on our way through from Death Valley to Yosemite. My family of six thoroughly enjoyed our stay in one of the chalets. The recently refurbished rooms were spacious, clean and very well appointed. The finishes in the rooms were excellent, they were well laid out and were easily able to accommodate our very active family. It would be a great place to return in the winter with a larger group for some skiing. The front desk staff was incredibly helpful, providing advice for local activities and directions. We enjoyed a fantastic breakfast at Rafters that easily satisfied teenage appetites.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgingQueen, General Manager at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear IntrepidTraveler2000,

Thank you for this excellent review of your family’s recent stay at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa. We are especially happy to learn how much you appreciated the extensive updates we've made to many of our rooms within the last year. We take great pride in offering exceptional guest service, so are also pleased that our front desk staff was able to assist with your plans while you were in Mammoth.

We look forward to your return – any season of the year!

Thank you again,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A very nice hotel - which appeared to be newly refurbished.

While the room was clean and pleasant for our one-night stay, we had some issues with some of the amenities in the hotel; one being the spa, and another being the WiFi - two things I believe our resort fee covered.

On arrival, we thought we'd take advantage of the spa; however our time in the sauna was cut short when workmen arrived to fix the broken door into the sauna.

Later in the evening, when trying to catch up with some work emails, the hotel WiFi would intermittently cut out. We tried on a few different devices we had with us, and got the same results, while none of the suggestions from the receptionist helped either.

The hotel also has mini golf - also complimentary for guests, accounted for by the resort fee - but we unfortunately never had time to play. They also offer free parking for guests.

It was unfortunate that the two amenities we hoped to take advantage of were only of partial use; the hotel was very comfortable, with friendly service overall, and ideal location just off the highway. Sadly wouldn't be my first choice in the area in future.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgingQueen, General Manager at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear DirectorDash,

Thank you for this feedback from your recent stay at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa. You are correct – we have remodeled many of the rooms on our property within the last year. In addition to air conditioning, our upgraded rooms also have real tile, new heaters, new LED lights, new mattresses, new sinks, new fixtures, new counters, new showers, new furniture, and new refrigerators. Additionally, our suites now include heated floors, heated toilet seats, and soaking tubs.

The resort fee which you mentioned covers such property amenities as a dry sauna and steam room, a computer station in the lobby and property-wide WiFi, a pool table also in the lobby, shuttle service to the Mammoth/Yosemite Airport, Jacuzzi and pool access, and a Cubs Club. We are proud to say we now have more amenities than any other property in Mammoth – including 3 wonderful onsite restaurants, 4 bars, the only spa within a lodging property in Mammoth, and mini golf.

Please accept our apologies for the challenges you've described with Internet access as well as the sauna. We do hope you will stay with us again the next time you are visiting Mammoth so that you can observe how your comments have allowed us to improve. We know you will be happy that you did!

Thank you,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My family and I stayed at this hotel and we had a great stay. The hotel was nice, clean and had a ton of stuff for my kids and I to do including miniature golf. The staff to include Jordyn Murphy went above and beyond for my family and I which really made the trip an awesome trip. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Mammoth. Thanks to the staff for making it a great stay for us!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Address: 164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa is your headquarters for memorable Mammoth vacations. Offering more activities and amenities than any other hotel in Mammoth, the stylish and comfortable lobby exudes rustic elegance and array of romantic and family-style rooms bring the Resort's colorful past firmly into the present. Our beautifully appointed rooms feature romantic suites and family style chalets along with comfortable deluxe king and double queen rooms. Relax at Mammoth's only hotel Spa, specializing in massage, body treatments, facials, couples massage and manicure/pedicures. Kids can have great fun at the Cub Club, where they can play XBoxOne, create and explore, enjoy Mini Golf, movies and games, all in a supervised environment. Try our three outstanding restaurants; Rafters Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast and dinner along with an extensive wine and cocktail selection. Live music and happy hours are favorites of locals and visitors alike. Red Lantern is open and features classic Chinese dishes in a beautiful setting plus evening take- out. Escape to the Mediterranean at Jimmy's Taverna. Food critics and locals call Jimmy's the "best new restaurant in Mammoth." Freshest seafood and meats are grilled over the wood fire, and the traditional Greek dishes are on the menu every day. Impeccable wine pairings, artisan cocktails and delectable desserts round out a meal experience unlike any other in Mammoth. Join us at the Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa and make Mammoth memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Nevada Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.