We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Sieera Nevada Resort hotel is an excellent place to stay in Mammoth lakes. It was charming and the stafff were very friendly.The bed was comfy. Only there for one night so did not have time to use the spa facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    120
    46
    15
    11
See reviews for
128
165
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight whilst on a coach tour. The room was pretty basic but clean and okay for overnight. Showers had water saving heads which meant little water flow. The lodge itself is well located and common areas are nice. A new restaurant next to the lodge opened the night we stayed, well presented and tasty Asian Fusuin.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our room was what you would expect of a rustic lodge, cosy and comfortable but with no pretentions to being stylish. Our welcome was friendly and the staff helpful. We had an excellent evening meal in the lively restaurant. The location was peaceful after the bustle of Las Vegas.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I have stayed here last year around the same time and due to the experience, I made sure it stayed there again. There is an absolute sense of comfort you get by staying at the Sierra Nevada Resort. Its the cozy feel of the fire in the lodge or the aroma of hot chocolate/tea/coffee in the lobby or its the well equipped rooms that you can't wait to get back from the slopes and relax in. I was fortunate enough to stay in the Fireplace Suite again and my g/f and I couldn't be happier. It was as good as our first stay if not better. I can't image staying anywhere else when you have the perfect place to stay.

As I have mentioned in a previous review for Sierra Nevada Resort, the location is perfect for everything you need in Mammoth. There is a shuttle service to the lifts, but if you prefer to drive there, its less than 10min to any of the lifts. You are right in the center so any restaurants, bakeries, or shops are within walking distance and or a few minutes drive. There is also an on site ski rental shop which is unbelievably accommodating. The pricing for our stay was very reasonable as well. Especially when you compare what you are getting for other resorts/hotels in the area. Great value.

The staff is incredible. We were so pleased to see Kat again once we arrived. Kat is one of the most personable, caring, and easy going people we've met and I just wanted to thank her (again haha) for making this trip so wonderful as she did for us the first time. Kat, you're the best! I also had the pleasure of speaking with Jessyka (Yes, that's the correct spelling of her name) on the phone before I booked my rooms and she is also a great addition to SNR. Great staff. Can't say enough.

Overall, you're not going to stay anywhere better in Mammoth. You're in a great spot. Newly renovated rooms with modern amenities that bring you all the luxuries of a modern 4* hotel that is wrapped up in this charming lodge (resort now). The beds are extremely comfortable. The bathrooms have heated tiles. The fireplace keeps you plenty warm as the rooms are very well insulated. It was around 10-20* F during the nights/early mornings and we never got cold. The Sierra Nevada Resort has been consistent in its service, reliability, and welcoming feelings that I can't imagine staying elsewhere.

Can't wait to get back to Mammoth for the 2014/15 season!

Room Tip: If you can, see about upgrading to the Fireplace suite. Its well worth it. If not that, then ask a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, N Ireland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of a tour. Very comfortable room, though a little dated. We ate in the adjoining Rafters restaurant which offered a great evening meal and a very good value breakfast. There was another tour coach staying at the same time but the staff coped really well. There were a lack of signs directing us to different areas but a staff member pointed us in the direction of the restaurant. With the corridors all looking the same it was a bit confusing. The lodge was lovely and warm which was very welcome as it was bitterly cold outside and we had just travelled from Las Vegas where it was hot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I visited Mammoth Lakes for the first time during the spring/summer with my girlfriend and we had a terrific weekend, filled with awesome adventures around the Lakes and Yosemite and great service at the Sierra Nevada Resort.

The lobby provides a truly unique element of the property, one that is probably hard to replicate by any other hotel in the market. A large bar and a large fireplace with plenty of seating area, a pool table, a classic chess set, complimentary beverages and coffee, and friendly front desk staff all created a great atmosphere for the check-in.

I upgraded to a fireplace suite, and let me tell you, it is worth every extra penny. The oversized room comes with a fireplace, heated bathroom floors and toilet seat, rainfall shower, and standard kitchenette. My girlfriend loved everything about the room, especially the entire feel and size of the room and we would definitely stay at the fireplace suite again.

We had dinner at the Rafters and it was a great experience. We had the artisan meat board to start and several glasses of the cab - the waiter helped us out with some great wine selections. My girlfriend ordered the rib-eye steak and I had the lamb shank, both of which were quite delicious and cooked to perfection.

The Sierra Nevada Resort underwent a large renovation last year and is operated by a truly outstanding general manager. I would definitely recommend any new travelers as well as frequent visitors to Mammoth Lakes to check out this resort.

Room Tip: Fireplace suites are the way to go! Worth every extra penny. Make sure to request a humidifier if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were adequate and comfortable for a one night stop over, bathroom was well appointed and modern and clean. We had dinner and breakfast which were both very good. Location in centre of village with several other types of cuisine available.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Address: 164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa is your headquarters for memorable Mammoth vacations. Offering more activities and amenities than any other hotel in Mammoth, the stylish and comfortable lobby exudes rustic elegance and array of romantic and family-style rooms bring the Resort's colorful past firmly into the present. Our beautifully appointed rooms feature romantic suites and family style chalets along with comfortable deluxe king and double queen rooms. Relax at Mammoth's only hotel Spa, specializing in massage, body treatments, facials, couples massage and manicure/pedicures. Kids can have great fun at the Cub Club, where they can play XBoxOne, create and explore, enjoy Mini Golf, movies and games, all in a supervised environment. Try our three outstanding restaurants; Rafters Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast and dinner along with an extensive wine and cocktail selection. Live music and happy hours are favorites of locals and visitors alike. Red Lantern is open and features classic Chinese dishes in a beautiful setting plus evening take- out. Escape to the Mediterranean at Jimmy's Taverna. Food critics and locals call Jimmy's the "best new restaurant in Mammoth." Freshest seafood and meats are grilled over the wood fire, and the traditional Greek dishes are on the menu every day. Impeccable wine pairings, artisan cocktails and delectable desserts round out a meal experience unlike any other in Mammoth. Join us at the Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa and make Mammoth memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Nevada Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.