We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed recently at the Sierra Nevada Resort and truly enjoyed my experience. I stayed in one of the newly renovated suites which were very large for a typical hotel suite. I fell asleep with the fireplace on, extremely comfortable bed and top of the line linens. I have never stayed at a hotel with a toilet seat warmer. Never realized I couldn't live without one until now! Everything in the room was top quality and the character of the room décor was the epitome of what Mammoth Lakes is all about. I can't wait to go back, this time with snow on the ground.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    106
    44
    13
    10
See reviews for
110
147
12
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in September 2013. The lady at check in was very helpful and we received a free upgrade to the fireplace suite. The room was fantastic, very large and incredibly well equipped. We were exceptionally comfortable here and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Fireplace Suite is Fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We just stayed for 1 night and the room was really nice with a good bathroom and shower. The service was really good. As other reviewers have said, there isn't much of a view, but the location is good and close to restaurants etc. Would like to stay in Mammoth Lakes for longer and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had 2 nights here on our trip around california. It was fine. I'm reviewing all the hotels I stayed at, but not got a lot to say about this one. We didn't use the hotel restaurants but the room was comfortable (the views are not very special - car parks both sides), and there is a laundry room for guests to use which is really useful and cheap. Service was mixed: on check-in we seemingly irritated the receptionist by asking for a room on the second floor (an error in hindsight, as there is no lift), but on finding a massive black bear helping itself to the contents of another guest's car, the man working on the night shift went and scared it off, which I think is probably above the call of duty (and very cool to watch).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We arrived in town with no reservations, saw the Sierra Nevada Resort. Stopped in to see if they had a rooms available, they had a standard king and a king suite. They upgraded us to the King suite for a great price. Kat was working the front desk, she was wonderful. The owners have done a outstanding job in updating and renovation this hotel. Our room was amazing, it had a rock faced fireplace, a four poster bed that was so tall that they have a step stool next to the bed. The bathroom had heated floor and toilet seat, and a huge glass shower and nice separate tub. The furniture and decor was very upscale. The hot tub was huge, enough for you and probably 20 friends. The place was very clean. My husband and I are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We arrived to late and to tired to set up camp. We checked out Tripadvisor for best reviews and picked Sierra Nevada Resort. It was better than we imagined. Had the best sleep ever! Will be back without the camp gear. Thank you Michael for your hospitatlity and taking such good care of us at a late hour. Steph

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

In over five years…. After doing all my homework about rates and services all these hotels in town have to offer, I compared the top 6 or 7 on Trip Advisor. And let me tell you, none of them hold a candle to The Sierra Nevada Resort.

Me and my friend, we are both semi-retired. Wanted a simple room with two beds nothing more nothing less.
We got so much more than we expected. The “deluxe two queens” at the Resort was great. The colors in the rooms along with the linen were very tastefully done. The wood trim is great, the colors in the room makes your taste buds wake up. The pictures in the room were very classy. And the bathrooms are great. Didn’t like the fridge in it, but overall the bathroom is very functional.

the hallways were great too clean and elegant.

They have a few restaurant’s on property, I was their middle of the week Jimmy’s was closed, I was told it was fabulous. Rafter was great as well. Breakfast was amazing!!

The lobby, was very well done, classical music was playing, some other guests were playing pool. They have a bar, it was closed.
The staff was very nice and helped me with every request I had and suggested on what to do in the area as well!!

A definite place to come back in the winter and holidays time…

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Address: 164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#5 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa is your headquarters for memorable Mammoth vacations. Offering more activities and amenities than any other hotel in Mammoth, the stylish and comfortable lobby exudes rustic elegance and array of romantic and family-style rooms bring the Resort's colorful past firmly into the present. Our beautifully appointed rooms feature romantic suites and family style chalets along with comfortable deluxe king and double queen rooms. Relax at Mammoth's only hotel Spa, specializing in massage, body treatments, facials, couples massage and manicure/pedicures. Kids can have great fun at the Cub Club, where they can play XBoxOne, create and explore, enjoy Mini Golf, movies and games, all in a supervised environment. Try our three outstanding restaurants; Rafters Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast and dinner along with an extensive wine and cocktail selection. Live music and happy hours are favorites of locals and visitors alike. Red Lantern is open and features classic Chinese dishes in a beautiful setting plus evening take- out. Escape to the Mediterranean at Jimmy's Taverna. Food critics and locals call Jimmy's the "best new restaurant in Mammoth." Freshest seafood and meats are grilled over the wood fire, and the traditional Greek dishes are on the menu every day. Impeccable wine pairings, artisan cocktails and delectable desserts round out a meal experience unlike any other in Mammoth. Join us at the Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa and make Mammoth memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Nevada Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.