We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Property, Good Location in Mammoth Lakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Mission Viejo, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nice Property, Good Location in Mammoth Lakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I booked a night at this hotel through Hotwire and was very happy with the property. Great lobby area with large fireplace and pool table, comfortable rooms, pool and jacuzzi. Plenty of parking around the property. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It's located in an area with shopping and restaurants just off the main highway through town, and just a few miles from the Main Lodge at Mammoth Ski Resort. For families there is a putt-putt golf course right next door. I just made another Hotwire reservation and was booked again at this hotel. Looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms in the main wing adjacent to the lobby have a nice view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    106
    44
    13
    10
See reviews for
110
147
12
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

After staying at many hotels and inns in Mammoth over the past twenty years, we feel that the newly remodeled Sierra Nevada Lodge is the best place in town. Once inside, there is a quaint and cozy feel as though you are staying right on the mountain itself. One feels secluded in the romantic room with the custom brick fireplace. There is even a heated toilet seat for those chilly mornings. We originally thought that the Westin was the best stay in town until we experienced a night away at the Sierra Nevada Inn. The rooms are larger and the kitchenette/dining area is more open. As a getaway night away from our children, it was relaxing and exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel was recently remodeled in a lodge theme. The original character is still there with modern touches and amenities. There are vintage posters and pictures on the walls. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful - marble and slate shower, vessel sinks on a rustic wood countertop. In-room coffee was provided as well as 24 hour coffee/tea/ hot chocolate in the lobby. There is an abundance of nice restaurants within short walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

So my son and daughter'n law came up to Mammoth with their 7 month and 2 year olds and my wife and I decided to give them a night to themselves. We made reservations for them in a Fire Place suite. I went by there one day and asked to take a look at the rooms and when I saw the suite i was very impressed. it was really well appointed, cool furniture, great king bed, a bathroom with both a bath and and a large walk in shower. BTW I found out from the kids after their return that the toilet seat was heated.. always a good thing !! anyway so they checked in and really enjoyed themselves they said that it was the best hotel experience the've had in Mammoth. it was quite and peaceful in the room and the room the was so large and comfortable that they wanted to stay another night ( Maybe on the next trip ). They went to Rafters for breakfast the next morning and had breakfast and then came home to find the little ones well taken care of.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Traveling with two teenagers. This owns great comfortable hotel with nice furnishings. The check-in staff was very friendly and helpful. The area is ok with apartments nearby ans a strip mall next door but they don't detract from the stay. The hot tub was hudge but no air jets. No breakfast but we went to the breakfast club down the street.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I rally enjoyed my stay the room was just remodeled and very cozy. There were three restaurants on the premises. My Favorite was Jimmys Taverna. I will go there every time I go to Mammoth Just for the Octopus appetizer. The fire place in lobby is great and the have complimentary coffee, cider and hot chocolate available in the lobby. The bus runs right in front of the place giving easy access to the slopes. The staff was very friendly. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocowininty
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel has a wonderful mountain feel...with massive pieces of natural wood in furnishings and decor. The hotel great room and reservation center has plenty of space for gathering around a huge fireplace, quaint bar, pool table and more. The staff were most helpful and courteous.

The location is center town with three great restaurants next door and spectacular views of the mountains. Ski slopes only a few miles up the hill.Resort within walking distance of major grocery store, RIte Aid and Sierra Sundance health food store.

Our suite was in perfect condition.. newly furnished...with carved-columned comfortable bed....footed by two ottomans and 2 club chairs facing the fireplace. The bath featured 2 glass bowl sinks, large soaking tub and large shower with double showerheads....PLUS heated tile floor and heated toilet seat!! The kitchenette offered dining for two, small cooktop and refrigerator....wine glasses, too.

This hotel is definitely a top choice for accommodations in Mammoth Lakes, CA.

Room Tip: Suite with view of mountains, king-sized bed, kitchenette and luxurious bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Address: 164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#5 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa is your headquarters for memorable Mammoth vacations. Offering more activities and amenities than any other hotel in Mammoth, the stylish and comfortable lobby exudes rustic elegance and array of romantic and family-style rooms bring the Resort's colorful past firmly into the present. Our beautifully appointed rooms feature romantic suites and family style chalets along with comfortable deluxe king and double queen rooms. Relax at Mammoth's only hotel Spa, specializing in massage, body treatments, facials, couples massage and manicure/pedicures. Kids can have great fun at the Cub Club, where they can play XBoxOne, create and explore, enjoy Mini Golf, movies and games, all in a supervised environment. Try our three outstanding restaurants; Rafters Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast and dinner along with an extensive wine and cocktail selection. Live music and happy hours are favorites of locals and visitors alike. Red Lantern is open and features classic Chinese dishes in a beautiful setting plus evening take- out. Escape to the Mediterranean at Jimmy's Taverna. Food critics and locals call Jimmy's the "best new restaurant in Mammoth." Freshest seafood and meats are grilled over the wood fire, and the traditional Greek dishes are on the menu every day. Impeccable wine pairings, artisan cocktails and delectable desserts round out a meal experience unlike any other in Mammoth. Join us at the Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa and make Mammoth memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Nevada Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.