We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% off 2 or More Nights
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Devon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here in October 2012 they were doing refurbishments to the rooms when we stayed so we were put in a lodge which was lovely, large lounge with fully equipped kitchen area and a log fire which they lit for you if you wanted them too, large bedroom with very comfortable bed. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was included at the bar/ restaurant on sites which was good. Great location too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    105
    43
    13
    10
See reviews for
106
143
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We used to ski at Mammoth Mountain 20 years ago, but stopped because the hotels and restaurants were so poor compared to Vail and Lake Tahoe. We had the opportunity to celebrate a friend's BD over the summer in Mammoth and we stayed at the Sierra Nevada Resort. They were starting renovations which caught my eye and they had just opened a very elegant Chinese restaurant called Red Lantern. We were very impressed with the decor and food quality as well as the service and wine pairing from their wine expert "Chip" who was really wonderful and informative.

Fast forward to February 2013 and back to Mammoth to ski and stayed again at Sierra Nevada.
The renovations were completed and positively beautiful. We could not believe the level of comfort and elegance to which the owners have taken this property. The rooms were huge, with great fireplaces, stone showers and counter tops and my wife's favorite, a heated toilet seat. There is a "kitchen bar" in the rooms which is convenient if you want to stay in for the evening. There is a big flat screen in the room over the fireplace with really comfy chairs to relax in and watch TV.

The morning breakfast layout is extensive with several cereals in large dispensers and other items as well as the hot breakfast available. The Banana pancakes were my favorite. They have a great lunch menu too. We had dinner in Rafters and heard the Osso Buco was a family recipe…and it was outstanding! We also dined at their new restaurant called Jimmy's and I had the best lobster tail that I ever had-- grilled in their wood burning ovens. It was hard to believe food and service in Mammoth has become be so good. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Mammoth-- and you don't half to be stuck in the crowds of the village. After a long day of skiing, we were thrilled that we didn't need to leave the property to have dinner at a different restaurant every night. I have a re-found love of Mammoth Mountain now.

M.K. Los Angeles, CA

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the second floor because of thier high vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atkinson, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our ski group stayed here for the week. The entrance room is great for gatherings. in the center is a sitting area with couches and a bar for drinks if arranged for apre' ski parties, the left room has a sunken room with fireplace in the center and built -in couch all the way around. The room to the right has a computer to checkout you pictures or videos, reservations stocks etc. There is a pool table with even more chairs, coffee, tea and water. The lodge rooms were long enough with 2 queen beds but too narrow to have a bureau so lived out of the suitcases. The Condos were the smallest I've ever seen. The bed in the lodge was extremely comfortable, not hard. They vacuum and keep the rooms clean but the carpets needed to be cleaned. Kneeling on them made my pants dirty and wiping the carpet with a wash cloth prooved the point. There is a ski rental room actually owned by Mammoth Mountain, affords you the benefit of getting skis, boots and poles and a key to a locker on the mountain so you don't have to carry everything everyday. There is a hot tub and they own Rafters Bar and restaurant next door. Breakfast buffet everyday but the candle warmers are not big enough or too far down, food was usually cold and bacon was not crispy and very greasy. Two of the days there were no pancakes, but I'm sure you could ask and if you had time they would be happy to make more. They have a small shuttle but most everyone used the free bus service that ran about every 20 minutes until 5PM,then town shuttles run every hour..
The mountain was great with lodges at the base, one in the middle (McCoy and one at the top, 25 lifts and no real tree borders where you could go anywhere and get across the mountain with very few chairs if you didn't ski all the way to the bottom.

Room Tip: Lodge may not mention ski rental shop inside, there is no sign anywhere from the street. Rental cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good location for the town but you need to use your own vehicle or the shuttle service to acces the slopes. We styed in a one-bedroomed chalet - very clean and comfortable we were a little concerned about noise as there was a connecting door to another chalet from ours, however we only heard them twice.
Daily cleaning service, constant supply of clean towels etc a bonus.
Nice bar and lounge within the complex.

Suggested improvements - no basic kitchen or food stocks except for 2 dishwasher tablets, half a roll of kitchen paper and a bottle of washing-up liquid. By the time we had bought salt and pepper, a small bottle of olive oil,a small bag of dishwaher tabs and other basics we had spent over 20$. As we were visiting from the UK and ate out 50% of the time these were hardly touched and we had no option but to leave them. Perhaps something they could think about provding, we would quite happily have used items such as these that were already opened.

We checked-in 20 minutes AFTER the stated earliest time. Our chalet wasn't ready and we were asked to leave and come back in an hour. Surely an offer of a complimentary drink would have ben appropriate especially as they were well aware we had just driven for over 6 hours. We left and went to get a drink in town.

These negative comments would not put us off staying again and we would recommend the lodge to friends but are a little things that make a difference and people remember.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

What a joy to find this wonderful treasure in the Mammoth Mountains. The Sierra Nevada Resort has long been a favorite get away of the Hollywood elite. It has now been beautifully renovated by new ownership and deserves 5 stars in my opinion. The main lodge lobby is so lovely you’ll want to gather there around the open fireplace with a glass of wine and share your day’s adventures. The large screen Mac computer allows you to check your e-mail or surf the web as you drink your morning coffee.

The fireplace suites are a home away from home…. heated toilet seats, huge glass showers, deep sunken tubs, beautiful glass bowl sinks, and a timed gas fireplaces so you can go to sleep to the warm romantic glow and not worry! There is a kitchenette to make morning coffee, refrigerator to store left overs from the 3 amazing restaurants on site, a dinning table, as well as large flat screen TV to watch as you rest in the large comfortable bed. It was pure cozy comfort and indulgence. Who would have thought this rustic town would have such a remarkable resort.

Rafters is the go-to restaurant that is just steps away from the main lodge…. every thing is delicious. Jimmy’s Taverna is a true Greek restaurant that is a must try…it is, in itself, worth the trip…amazing! There is also a lovely Asian restaurant, Red Lantern, with great Lychee Martini’s so not to worry that all you get in Mammoth are burgers and fries. Although Rafter’s does have the biggest, juiciest, burger and homemade chips I’ve had in a long time.

For those skiing you can get your ski’s, boots, and passes right at the lodge and the shuttle will take you up to the Mt…..or where ever else you’d like to go. This resort is walking distance to most everything and the Red line, a free bus line, will take you if your feet are tired. The staff is warm, friendly and very helpful.

Am I rambling too much?! Do you think I had a great time at the Serra Nevada Resort? You bet!! Everything was top notch and I can’t wait to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Sierra Nevada Lodge for three days in one of their King Fireplace Suits. It was good value for the money. The room was clean and newly remodeled. The service at the front desk was excellent. We had a challenge with the fireplace not working correctly and they moved us with no hassles. I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Nevada L, General Manager at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Sierra Nevada Resort. I appreciate your feedback on your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future. New features that don't work are inconvenient and annoying; I especially appreciate your flexibility to move to another room where everything did not work as expected.

I look forward to meeting you personally on your next visit to our resort; hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Rhonda Duggan
General Manager
The Sierra Nevada Resort
Mammoth Lakes, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I recently stayed at SNL and abosolutely loved it!! I went on a girls trip during the week for a few days and honestly didn't feel like leaving the hotel inspite the amazing skiing!! Our rooms were extremely clean which is important to me in addition to having all the amenities one could need up in the mountains including fireplaces, heated bathroom floors and toilet seats along with spaceous showers, robes, loved my kitchenentte not to mention their super comfy beds and pilows!!! The complimentary coffee in the lobby is superior to Starbucks! The staff was friendly, efficient and eggar to please. Dont miss eating at all three of their restaurants!! Excellent food and wine lists; best in Mammoth hands down! Jimmy's is my fav!! Their seafood is super fresh!! After my SLN experinece I ended up at the Marriott in Marina Del Rey........wow what a disappointment for such a big chain in their lack of cleanliness, service, amenities,food quality;inedible!! Dont stay at a lesser hotel after your SNL experience b/c you will be disappointed and only want to go straight back up to Mammoth!!! I'm coming back soon!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Address: 164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#5 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa is your headquarters for memorable Mammoth vacations. Offering more activities and amenities than any other hotel in Mammoth, the stylish and comfortable lobby exudes rustic elegance and array of romantic and family-style rooms bring the Resort's colorful past firmly into the present. Our beautifully appointed rooms feature romantic suites and family style chalets along with comfortable deluxe king and double queen rooms. Relax at Mammoth's only hotel Spa, specializing in massage, body treatments, facials, couples massage and manicure/pedicures. Kids can have great fun at the Cub Club, where they can play XBoxOne, create and explore, enjoy Mini Golf, movies and games, all in a supervised environment. Try our three outstanding restaurants; Rafters Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast and dinner along with an extensive wine and cocktail selection. Live music and happy hours are favorites of locals and visitors alike. Red Lantern is open and features classic Chinese dishes in a beautiful setting plus evening take- out. Escape to the Mediterranean at Jimmy's Taverna. Food critics and locals call Jimmy's the "best new restaurant in Mammoth." Freshest seafood and meats are grilled over the wood fire, and the traditional Greek dishes are on the menu every day. Impeccable wine pairings, artisan cocktails and delectable desserts round out a meal experience unlike any other in Mammoth. Join us at the Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa and make Mammoth memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Nevada Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.