We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tamarack Lodge and Resort to your Saves list
Tamarack Lodge and Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   163 Twin Lakes Road, Lake Mary Rd. (off Rte. 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lift & Lodging
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Classic setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Tamarack is set in an almost Disneyesque Sierra location. I've stayed in a cabin here and have eaten at the Lakefront many times and it's one of my favorite places, shared with family and friends, of all time.
Stayed here in the Fall in a big 2-bedroom cabin (#14, I believe) that was comfortable and sported a great porch. It's a short drive from the town of Mammoth, but not at all inconvenient - in summer and Fall anyway. Lakefront restaurant and Tamarack Lodge are utterly charming; dinner excellent at the restaurant. Even if you don't stay here - drive up and enjoy the lakes & mountain views from this historic and beautiful place.

Room Tip: As mentioned, cabin 14 is one of the more spacious ( 2 bedroom) cabins, right by the lake and nice p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    46
    18
    11
    13
See reviews for
34
78
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We just returned from a truly wonderful stay at Tamarack Lodge and Resort! The cabin was lovely, the staff so friendly and helpful and the Lakefront Restaurant so awesomely delicious! We ate at the Lakefront Restaurant every night - Chef Bobby is amazing! We are already planning a return trip in the fall and I will be returning for an all-girls hiking adventure early summer - can't wait!

Room Tip: All the cabins have something charming about them. We were snowed in and couldn't leave so we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Rustic, cozy lodge. Don't expect high-end luxury... but rather quality, old-fashioned lodge experience. Excellent staff. Excellent food. Much better than staying at some fancy hotel. The main room in the lodge was a great place to meet other lodge guests. If you want to watch TV and play video games- this place is not for you. If you want a warm, friendly environment set in pristine mountain beauty- then give it a try. Particularly good for cross country skiing. If skiing downhill, then probably best to plan to drive to the slopes because bus service is infrequent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We recently ran to mammoth on a wild hair after a storm dumped and this was one of the only places available within budget. Having never stayed here I hit the reviews and they were good enough that i booked a 1 Bedroom Deluxe cabin. I thought the lodge would be out of the way after getting there until i found out the orange line ran from the lodge to the village the 15th minute of ever hour, and picked up from the village to go back to the lodge on the hour. Overall, it was refreshing. Being out in the woods in a clean, cozy cabin with a nice fireplace and open floorplan was awesome. The room had no TV, forced us to hang out and chat which was also nice.

The staff was accommodating and very friendly, included continental breakfast was good enough for a pre-slope carb up (Various Cereals, Bagels, coffee, etc.). All in all, I will be staying here again and thoroughly enjoyed our experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed there Feb 24th for one night. Although this is not their best winter.. the service at this lodge is great. We ate at the restaurant also. It is pricey but definitely worth going to . the elk medallions were wonderfully tasty and cooked to perfection. the lobby area is rustic with a fire place going at night.

We stayed in the lodge.. the room definitely needs some updating..i.e electrical sockets are tricky and bathroom is very cramped ..but with the gorgeous scenery and tranquility....definitely worth going to .

Paul at the front desk is very pleasant helpful and very informative

Room Tip: worth paying extra for twin plus queen if there are just to of you. Lodge rooms are very small and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This January we stayed at Tamarack Lodge which is surrounded by beautiful lakes and mountains.
Unfortunately, that was the only positive aspect I could come up with.
When we arrived all the appliances in our room were unplugged. No light and power. Consequently, we had to spend the first hour on the floor and under the bed, to first of all take care of the huge cable clutter and second, to arrange it all in a way that we could plug in a phone charger as well, which was quite challenging with only 3 outlets.
Being on the floor for that long, I've noticed how dusty and dirty the room actually was! Unbelievable!
And if that wasn't enough, the window in our room was broken, too. That and the hardly adjustable thermostat made it quite difficult to create a comfortable room temperature.
Room service was rather poor, one day not even provided at all.
The Lodge rooms with their shared bathrooms down the hall are supposed to create a sense of community and convenience since it's close to the restaurant and lobby area. But none of the washrooms were cleaned at all over the period of our stay and the toilet paper has not been stocked unless you asked for it! And again, unbelievable!
In addition to that, either liquor prices are ridiculously high or their complaint management very insufficient.
One afternoon (most places do apres-ski or happy hour during those hours), I ordered 2 drinks for which I finally paid almost $45! Seriously!? Especially after signing a bill that stated 'only' $25 after tip. Refering to the issue at check out, the receptionist assured us to bring it to the restaurant manager's attention since she would not have any insight into the restaurants files and would not be able to do anything at this point.
Writing down our contact information she promised to contact us the same day.
Not responding for days and leaving us with the feeling of being ignored completely, we finally received an apology and refund of the overcharge.
All in all, we left extremely disappointed and will certainly not return to Tamarack Lodge next time we will be in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

On the twin lakes,spectacular views, beautiful fresh air away from california congestion, and close to the lifts. The resort itself was rustic and had an old ambiance some might call it charm of a log cabin. Others may call it a spooky haunted feel. No you did not hear or see any ghosts. You could just sense the building had alot of history from the past.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarack Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Address: 163 Twin Lakes Road, Lake Mary Rd. (off Rte. 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Lodge and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tamarack Lodge and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Resort Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Lodge Mammoth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack Lodge and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.