We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tamarack Lodge and Resort to your Saves list
Tamarack Lodge and Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   163 Twin Lakes Road, Lake Mary Rd. (off Rte. 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lift & Lodging
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Could be so much better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

You can't beat the location for this lodge, right on beautiful Twin Lakes in the Mammoth Lakes area…complete with a gorgeous waterfall as a backdrop. There are great biking and hiking trails right at your doorstep…or cabinstep as it pertains here. The restaurant is first rate…and the prices reflect that. However the breakfast that was included in the $20 "resort" fee was minimal and uninspired. Not sure what else that resort fee provided us, there were no horseshoe or fire pits or ping pong tables…not even little places to sit along the lake. As for the cabins themselves—calling these cabins "historic" is another name for "we haven't paid any attention to these cabins for over a decade". The upholstery is tired, there is very limited storage space, the kitchen space is cramped…the bathroom has hardly any place to put toiletries. They did include a hair dryer, but of course there was no outlet in the bathroom! The patio included 2 uncomfortable chairs and a sappy redwood stump as a table. I had to beg for an umbrella so we could sit outside in the afternoon in some shade after our hike, but they were in short supply and available only on a first come basis. Take some advice from Evergreen Lodge in Groveland Tamarack, and put a little "love" into the details. It would make a world of difference.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    49
    18
    11
    13
See reviews for
35
80
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
S.F. Bay Area
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have just returned from another visit to Tamarack Lodge on Twin Lakes in Mammoth. Our family comes here every year to enjoy the beautiful scenery, the unspoiled views, the courteous and helpful staff, and the comfortable accommodations. We stay in one of the updated cabins. We were here with friends and we all enjoyed our time chatting while fishing down by the shore. We were in Cabin 10 for 4 nights. Everything was nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The kitchen was fully equipped and I loved that there was a dishwasher. It was quiet and so very, very beautiful with large pine trees, the very blue lake, ducks swimming, sea gulls fishing, birds chirping, chipmunks running around, and all the wildflowers in bloom. Staff is very pleasant and will help you with anything you need. Our boat had developed a small hole and one of the Lodge employees was able to do a quick fix so we could use the boat while we were there. We were greeted with a smile whenever we saw a staff member. We felt welcomed.

Room Tip: Two types of cabins are available, historic cabins and "modern cabins". Both types are cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom bigger cabin and found it quite nice. It's rustic but with enough modern conveniences(fridge, dishwasher, coffee maker and utensils). If you're looking for Luxury this is not your destination but it is very cute, clean, comfortable, quiet (no TV's) nice fireplace, and well decorated. They have board games, our family played Risk for 3 days and never missed the TV. You're right on the lake. You'll get some lake visitors passing in front but it's not invasive. We rented Kayaks, fished and mountain biked all from the cabin. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: If possible get the cabins farther from the lake because you'll have more privacy and they are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

What a fantastic spot, next to numerous lakes and in the woods of the High Sierras, we saw cayotees, squirls, chipmonks, not bears but in the area. The lodge and cabins are rustic because of its location, nothing else like it. The staff and management have done an amazing job to make it so comfortable and logistically possible. Our cabin had everything needed, do not expext a 5 star big hotel experience. Dont change a thing, the feeling is fantastic and one of a kind.

Room Tip: Any of the cabins, stay as long as possibe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in studio cabin number 20 for 2 nights. Super cute mini cabin with kitchen, wood-burning fireplace, vaulted ceilings and nice view of Mammoth Lake and a huge rock wall formation. Bed was super comfortable and obviously recently upgraded, bedding too. We chose Tamarack because the prices were lower than the other Mammoth properties and for the money, we would rather be in our own rustic cabin then in a hotel or lodge room. We brought our own food, wine and beer and rarely needed to spend money elsewhere. The front desk area has a continental breakfast which had everything you need that we forgot about, but it is included. The wood-burning fireplace was awesome - we made smores. The studio cabin is perfect for a couple, very romantic, clean and cute and fully equipped. I would highly recommend staying here rather than a room with just a bed. Ask for cabin 20 - I think it is the best one they have in the studio department. Thanks to Paul for helping us get it and for being friendly and very helpful. The other front desk agent was also very helpful.

One drawback with the cabin-style property is no hot tubs - but just drive over to Mammoth Mountain Inn where you can use theirs for free!

PS - daily happy hour 4-530pm at Whiskey Creek - lots of food is half off.

Let me know if you have questions!

Room Tip: studio cabin 20 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stay here for 3 nights for a honeymoon. The beds were comfy, the view was great, the service was perfect, and we could bring our dogs for an additional fee. I loved that there was no TV in our room. The gas burning stove was a nice added touch. When we entered our Studio Cabin we were greeted with a bottle of wine. The Studio its self was small and but fine for me, m husband, and 2 medium to big dogs. We cooked a lot of our own food and enjoyed the bar in the lobby where we received great service from friendly staff.

One tip: if you have a mac book you will need to open up your network preferences and manual ask to join the server to get internet on your computer.

During our trip we hiked around the lakes, snowboarded on the mt 2 miles away, and enjoyed our stay completely. Thank you for a memorable time!!

Room Tip: we stayed in cabin 16 great view easy access to our truck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Cons-nothing in Mammoth Lakes is inexpensive.
1.Word to the budgeters so you won't be surprised.
Room rates at Mammoth Ski Resort Properties-Tamarrack, Main Lodge & Juniper Springs add $20 per day fee for non opt out "extras" so read carefully. then add the city taxes. So a 2 night stay you think will be @127/ night will be an end price of$180/night. Also high city tax for any other rental in town. Better deals in Bishop but not as convenient. Lodge does not have working computer but does have wireless down stairs &above the main room. No hot tub or pool. In summer no swimming in lake
2. this is an old property with updates but I think that is part of the charm.
3. Altitude is higher than town but less than the main lodge so sleeping may be more difficult doe to altitde
Pros-Real old Lodge experience in an area that feels isolated but is 5 min to town
1. Lots of peace & quiet. No blaring TVs and boom boxes.
2.Beautiful location on a lake but just outside town but with easy access to many restaurants. Built around 1924.Still keeps the tongue in groove pine walls, large roaring fireplace. Oversized leather chairs , rockers & game tables.
Cabins or main lodge. This trip in the lodge.
3a. You can get a bargain with the shared bath rooms 4,5,6,,11,12. They are all Q rooms. Bathrooms 1 or 2 rooms away. lady's room with private shower. 1 toilet with Basin & the other with private toilet but basin in the entrance room. I did not ck out the men's area
3b. Rms 1,10 &15 are en suite bathroom & Q bed,
3c. rms 7,10, 2 are en suite bathroom but have 2 rooms with an open doorway-1 with Q and the other with twin daybed in room with 2 leather club chairs and table, dresser and mirror. Rms 7,6,5,4,2 & 1 face the lake. We prefer the ensuite rooms facing the Lake.
Looks like lots of updates since our visit 2 years ago especially the bathroom-new floor and shower tile ( no tubs)& new faucets and shower heads.
Continental Belfast- toast, bagels, cream cheese, jam, cold hard boiled eggs, cereal,milk,apples, orange juice, coffee & tea. Hot choc $3.
4. Lots of free parking
5. Shuttle to the village tram and down town free every 1/2 hr
6. I walk out my door to the cross country center and all the great all level trails and all weather trails (even when very windy on the Mountain). Nap and go out again snow shoeing. My husband drives to the main lodge- closer drive than most other properties.
7. I would suggest those with kids stay in the cabins for easy of food prep/times and able to be noisy.
8. Excellent and commensurate ($$$$ 180/2 3 course dinner not incl alcohol) priced dinning for dinner at the lodge. Best I've had anytime.
9. Lunch on soup and sandwiches available in main room

Room Tip: Cabin for kids, room with bath down the hall for tight budget, room facing the lake for view( but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarack Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Address: 163 Twin Lakes Road, Lake Mary Rd. (off Rte. 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Lodge and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tamarack Lodge and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Resort Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Lodge Mammoth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack Lodge and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.