We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky old lodge and I still love it for isolated feeling,ambiance and convenience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tamarack Lodge and Resort to your Saves list
Tamarack Lodge and Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   163 Twin Lakes Road, Lake Mary Rd. (off Rte. 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lift & Lodging
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Funky old lodge and I still love it for isolated feeling,ambiance and convenience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Cons-nothing in Mammoth Lakes is inexpensive.
1.Word to the budgeters so you won't be surprised.
Room rates at Mammoth Ski Resort Properties-Tamarrack, Main Lodge & Juniper Springs add $20 per day fee for non opt out "extras" so read carefully. then add the city taxes. So a 2 night stay you think will be @127/ night will be an end price of$180/night. Also high city tax for any other rental in town. Better deals in Bishop but not as convenient. Lodge does not have working computer but does have wireless down stairs &above the main room. No hot tub or pool. In summer no swimming in lake
2. this is an old property with updates but I think that is part of the charm.
3. Altitude is higher than town but less than the main lodge so sleeping may be more difficult doe to altitde
Pros-Real old Lodge experience in an area that feels isolated but is 5 min to town
1. Lots of peace & quiet. No blaring TVs and boom boxes.
2.Beautiful location on a lake but just outside town but with easy access to many restaurants. Built around 1924.Still keeps the tongue in groove pine walls, large roaring fireplace. Oversized leather chairs , rockers & game tables.
Cabins or main lodge. This trip in the lodge.
3a. You can get a bargain with the shared bath rooms 4,5,6,,11,12. They are all Q rooms. Bathrooms 1 or 2 rooms away. lady's room with private shower. 1 toilet with Basin & the other with private toilet but basin in the entrance room. I did not ck out the men's area
3b. Rms 1,10 &15 are en suite bathroom & Q bed,
3c. rms 7,10, 2 are en suite bathroom but have 2 rooms with an open doorway-1 with Q and the other with twin daybed in room with 2 leather club chairs and table, dresser and mirror. Rms 7,6,5,4,2 & 1 face the lake. We prefer the ensuite rooms facing the Lake.
Looks like lots of updates since our visit 2 years ago especially the bathroom-new floor and shower tile ( no tubs)& new faucets and shower heads.
Continental Belfast- toast, bagels, cream cheese, jam, cold hard boiled eggs, cereal,milk,apples, orange juice, coffee & tea. Hot choc $3.
4. Lots of free parking
5. Shuttle to the village tram and down town free every 1/2 hr
6. I walk out my door to the cross country center and all the great all level trails and all weather trails (even when very windy on the Mountain). Nap and go out again snow shoeing. My husband drives to the main lodge- closer drive than most other properties.
7. I would suggest those with kids stay in the cabins for easy of food prep/times and able to be noisy.
8. Excellent and commensurate ($$$$ 180/2 3 course dinner not incl alcohol) priced dinning for dinner at the lodge. Best I've had anytime.
9. Lunch on soup and sandwiches available in main room

Room Tip: Cabin for kids, room with bath down the hall for tight budget, room facing the lake for view( but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    46
    18
    11
    13
See reviews for
34
78
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
the wilderness
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just a few miles out of town but light years from the crowds you'll find a Sierra Winter Wonderland. We checked into one of the deluxe 1 bedroom cabins which is hardly deluxe but worth it for the location alone. The historical property sits at the edge of a lake across from sheer cliffs beyond which are the peaks of the ski area. If downhill is your game the Canyon lift is a short drive or you can take the shuttle to the village. We we're there for downhill skiing but quickly revised our plans once we saw the vistas from our cabin. The Nordic Center at Tamarack rents everything you need to explore the surrounding hills and vales. We snow shoed through deep powder in a magical forest one day. The next found us x country skiing on their empty and incredibly groomed trails. Day 3 we lazed in our cabin which included a full kitchen, gas fireplace and overstuffed couches and chairs. The best thing about these cabins was the feeling of being in our own winter lodge. So quiet and relaxing. The views out the windows, especially when it was snowing we're captivating. The restaurant was good, the staff delightful. I've read other reviews about this hotel being overpriced and I somewhat agree but would happily overpay again to fall under the spell of this incredible winter destination.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Many of the reviews here dwell on the breakfast, wifi and resort fee. Enough has been said so I will skip those. We stayed in a deluxe one bedroom cabin for three nights over Christmas. In contrast to other properties in Mammoth, this lodge is deep in the woods next to a pair of lakes and towering cliffs. The scenery is exquisite. There has been heavy snow so far this winter and nearly two feet fell while we were there. Our cabin was up a steep slope and the only access was by hiking through the snow. Thankfully the staff kept paths groomed, but if you have problems with mobility the cabins might not be wise in winter. The cabin itself was nice. Its large deck was covered in snow, but must be very pleasant in summer. The main room was about 250 square feet with a table for four, a sofa bed and an overstuffed chair. A gas fireplace threw out plenty of heat. The main room floor is wood but the entrance area is stone with a bench and a row of hooks for hanging coats. This area was large enough for three of us to stow our winter gear without tracking snow into the rest of the cabin. The bedroom was large with a desk, armoir and end tables. The bedroom has many drawers but somewhat limited space to hang clothing. The bed was king size, with a poor quality mattress. Ditto for the sofabed. The kitchen was large enough for two people, barely. Cookware and crockery were adequate and housekeeping replaced our dish towels each day. You do need to bring your own paper towels and I recommend bringing your own ground coffee because the packets they provide are designed for the tiny coffee maker found in a hotel room, yet the coffee maker is full size (it has a permanent filter so no need to bring paper filters). The main room of the lodge was cozy but cramped when the holiday crowd all showed up at once; otherwise it was very enjoyable. A wood fire was kept burning throughout the day and a wood stove in the corner kept the room toasty. My wife asked them to make up a cheese platter and it was beautifully done and delicious. We ate dinner at the restaurant on Christmas Eve and it too was excellent. Like everything to do with the Lodge, it was quite expensive but at Tamarack you are paying for the location. If you favor peace and beauty over amenities, and if you don't mind paying for it, I doubt you will find a better place to stay in Mammoth.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy M, Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am very happy that you enjoyed one of our 1 bedroom cabins and our beautiful location in Mammoth Lakes. You pick a perfect time to enjoy our spectacular ski conditions. Please join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We arrived in Mammoth after dark as part of a road trip and decided to try Tamarak based on reviews on this site. This is very much the old style "lodge" and our room upstairs was tiny (basically awooded box) with little room for anything other than the bed - with bathroom down the hall. It was fine for an overnight stay but I wouldn't recommend for any longer. The lodge also charges a resort fee (not sure why) for a very basic breakfast and wifi that was not working at all during our stay.
I must say the surroundings though are beautiful, and the person to check out out was great and gave us some good tips for the rest of our road trip.

Room Tip: Stay in a cabin - the rooms in the lodge are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy M, Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you Kristen,

The rooms in lodge that offer a shared bath are a tad less than 120 square feet. The lodge was constructed in 1924 and some of the rooms remind us of a European pension. The room has a clothing chest, closet, small desk, sink and a queen bed. All of the furniture is new. This experience in the lodge is our entry level lodging unit. If there is a need for a larger room please ask for our rooms with a private bath or one of our cabins. Thank you for staying with us.

Best regards,
Roy Moyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had never travelled to Mammoth Lakes before but had a few days before our reservations in Yosemite. We booked Tamarack based on reviews and their website. The historic lodge and our deluxe one bedroom cabin definitely met expectations. It helped that the weather was perfect. We loved the cozy living room with fireplace and all the amenities in the kitchen and bath. Beautiful view of the lake from our front deck.

One gripe though is that we stayed here from Monday to Wednesday. Because it is off season, the restaurant -- which we had planned to enjoy -- was closed! We didn't want to have to drive back and forth to the town on unfamiliar roads after dinner and wine. That is a small complaint but it would have been appropriate to have been advised of this when we made our booking.

Also, the hotel charges a resort fee of $20 a day...for services that we never used. The breakfast was really poor--hard boiled eggs and stale bagels--and the only thing we wanted to use on the property were kayaks, which were an additional $20 per hour. So in addition to our pretty steep room price we were charged for items that frankly should have been part of the room rate.

All in all, though, we really liked the place. Just would make sure next time what is and isn't included in the rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after a long drive from Las Vagas through death valley on our honeymoon and felt very lucky that they had rooms free.
We loved this place - cute and cosy rooms, breathtaking location, helpful staff. We had French onion soup which the restaurant kindly cooked for us in the bar which was delicious.
Would highly recommend, we would love to come back in winter!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

What recommends this place is the stellar and pristine location on Twin Lakes. But if you are up for it, you are better off, value wise, camping in the adjacent Twin Lakes campground.

The biggest problem with the Tamarack is that for the $250 and up they charge - comparable to a business class hotel in any major city, you are not getting anywhere near the service or amenities you should for that price.

We stayed in one of the cabins and it was, well, OK. Despite their upscale marketing pretensions, it is pretty much a rustic cabin with tattered furniture and a nice view. The breakfast, included in your $20 "Resort Fee" (along with internet access) is a joke, worse than a Motel 6 (bring your own). There's a general air of cheapness that pervades this place. A few examples: no napkins or paper towels in the cabins, no extra towels in the bathroom, and old cookware in the kitchen. None of these would be worth mentioning at a $100 a night cabin. They become bigger issues when you realize what you are paying.

Perhaps the biggest feeling we were being had was coming across their asinine marketing ploy that is borderline unethical: if you "like" them on Facebook you can check out late, at noon! Really?! Would a hotel really interested in service stoop to this?

For the money, stay elsewhere, or car camp next door.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarack Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Address: 163 Twin Lakes Road, Lake Mary Rd. (off Rte. 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Lodge and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tamarack Lodge and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Resort Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Lodge Mammoth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack Lodge and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.